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DEPARTMENTAL VALUES

The Department continues to focus on three priority outcomes: Improved safety for children, improved timelines to permanency with the first permanency option being reunification, and reduced reliance on detention as the only method to assure safety for children.

This policy supports the Department’s efforts to ensure the safety of the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) supervised youth by providing guidelines for Eligibility Workers in meeting Federal and State compliance standards.

WHAT CASES ARE AFFECTED

This Procedural Guide is applicable to all new and existing referrals and cases. 
OPERATIONAL IMPACT

Emergency Assistance (EA) is a federally funded program under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. Under the provisions of the Act, Federal Financial Participation (FFP) is available to provide assistance to children in emergencies. The Act allows individual states significant latitude and administrative standards for EA. The standards and conditions applicable to California are contained in the State Title IV-A Plan. 

The EA program allows the pass-through of federal funds to provide services to a child experiencing an EA emergency as defined in California’s Title IV-A State Plan. Individual components of the EA program provide assistance and services in the areas Child Welfare Services (CWS). The CWS component was implemented on September 1, 1993. 

The following federal eligibility criteria must be met before a child can be determined eligible for Emergency Assistance:

· Does an emergency exist meeting the definition of Emergency Assistance because a child is at risk of abuse, neglect, abandonment, or exploitation?
· Is this application on behalf of a child under age 21 living with, or within the past six months having lived with, a parent/relative?

· Did this emergency arise because an adult family member refused without good cause to accept employment or training?
· Is the total family income equal to or less than 200% of California’s median income for the current state fiscal year?
· Is this application being made by a county worker on behalf of a child whose parents or relatives are unavailable or unwilling to apply for emergency assistance for this child?
Note: In accordance with provisions in the Title IV-A State Plan, and ACL 05-38 dated 12/5/2005, the EA Program provides benefits and services for children up to the age of 21. There is no link with school attendance for the EA Program. 

Social Security Numbers: 

Note: Per ACL 05-38 dated 12/05/05, undocumented minors are not eligible for EA.

It is state policy that each child receiving EA and/or services has a Social Security Number (SSN).  Based on this policy, applications for children who do not have SSN’s must be authorized presumptively. This means that counties are precluded from claiming FFP for these types of cases until an SSN is obtained and a final eligibility determination is made. It is of further importance to note that all pseudo numbers used to enter a child’s information on the ACE tracking system be replaced by the actual SSN once it is obtained. 
Although having an SSN is not an EA eligibility requirement, it is a “condition of eligibility” based on the fact that it is used as the unique number indicating assistance and/or services in the past twelve months. 

Note: EW only has a period of 18 months from the application date for detained minors and 12 months for non-detained minors to locate their social security number.

Note: Per All County Letter No. 05-38 foster care for wards were deemed ineligible for Title IV-E. This component is known as EA Probation. 
Note: To help understand the time frames for application processing and funding we reference ACL No. 05-38, page six, question #9: 

What is the Beginning Date of Aid (BDOA) for EA? When does the Not-to-Exceed (NTE) date end for EA?
Answer: An EA application must be taken immediately or no later than 30 calendar days from the date the child is removed from the home or the date the child is determined to be at risk. (Refer to ACL No. 93-64 and ACL No. 94-90). The BDOA begins on the date the application is signed by the parent or CSW (Children’s Services Worker) (if both have signed then it’s the earlier of the two dates); this is consistent with the EA State Plan. The NTE date is counted 12 months from the date the application is signed. It is in a county’s best interest to process EA applications immediately. If a county SW (Social Worker) takes 30 days to process an application and an EW (Eligibility Worker) takes an additional 30 days to authorize payment, then FFP may be lost if the emergency ends prior to authorization of EA. Cases aided beyond the twelve month period under EA are to be funded with 100 percent county-only funds. See example below:

Date child determined to be at risk

3/29/05

Date parent signed




4/23/05 or 

Date Social Worker signed



4/25/05
Date EW authorized




5/21/05 (ACE will set NTE date, 5/20/06)
EA funding available



4/23/05 thru 4/22/06  (Aid Code 5K) 
The first 30-day time frame is the time from the date of risk to the date of signature by parent or CSW; then there begins a second 30-day time frame. This second period starts from the date the parent or CSW signs the application to the date the EW authorizes the application, it shall not be over 30 days. However, when this is data  entered on ACE the authorization date will set up the Not-to-Exceed date automatically, which will be different than the EA funding timeframe as indicated in the example above. The Intake EW is responsible for determining the EA episode and must follow the logic of the above example. 
Note: An Emergency Assistance Application (EA 1) is required for all children receiving services. However, an EA application is not necessary if the services case is closed prior to the Eligibility Worker’s (EW) completion of the Emergency Assistance (EA) eligibility verification, Statewide Assistance to Children in  Emergency System (ACE) registration and authorization (Presumptive Eligibility or Final). 

The eligibility case file must include the following to be considered eligible for Federal Financial Participation (FFP) under Title IV-A:

1. A completed, signed EA 1, including documentation of eligibility;
2. Authorization of EA by the County Welfare Department (CWD);

3. Emergency Response Referral;

4. Copies of the Voluntary Placement Agreement (SOC 155) or Judicial Order, if the child is ordered detained at the judicial hearing; and,

5. Documentation of the effective date and ending date of EA. 

For purposes of assembling the EA case, EW should also include:
1. If available, copy of the child’s Social Security Card;

2. Medi-Cal Eligibility Data System (MEDS) print out with minor’s SSN if screen is showing a verification of “J” or “A”;
3. MEDS print out with parent/relative’s SSN;
4. WCMIS print out;
5. A copy of the letter sent to the parent to request SSN (if SSN is not found from MEDS or CWS/CMS or WCMIS);
6. VSI print out if SSN of the minor is not found (to support the legal resident of the minor requirement);
7. A MEDS print out of QM and QE screens – attached to the application for undocumented denial reason; and
8. If there is a prior placement episode, obtain a placement history print out from CWS/CMS.
Reasons for EA Denial

1. Child is over age 21;

2. Child was not living with the parent/relative in the past 6 months;

3. The families income exceeds 200% of California’s median family income (Effective December 5, 2005 - $124,200.00);

4. An adult family refuses employment/training without good cause;
5. The application is received for processing more than 30 days after the application date;
6. Children’s Services Worker signed the application over 30 days from the date the child was determined to be at risk (date is in the upper right corner of the EA 1); or
7. The child is undocumented/not a legal resident alien (ACL 05-38, dated 12/05/2005).
Procedures

A. When: A Child is Not Detained

A weekly listing is compiled by the Business and Information Services Division (BIS). This listing is viewed by the Emergency Assistance (EA) staff through LA Kids.  This listing has the referral date for children that are referred for services to the Department of Children and Family Services, but not detained. 

1. If services has been provided for 30 days or more;

a. An EA application will be processed. 

2. If services were terminated and the CWS/CMS services referral was closed prior to 30 days;

a. There will not be an EA application processed.

Emergency Assistance Eligibility Worker Responsibilities
Note: Closed referrals will be reported on the weekly and monthly EA reports. Referrals closed before 30 days will not be processed on the ACE system, they are recorded for statistical purposes only. 

1. Every Monday, EW obtains a copy of the Non-Detained listing from the COGNOS report located on LA Kids.

2. Clear listing to determine the following: 

a. Child has an existing open episode; 

i) EW should annotate on EA 1, under section 13 “Comments,” that this is an ongoing episode.

ii) Complete section # 11 and 11C (see example on page 3 if unclear how to determine this information).
b. Child has a history on the ACE system but it has expired; or

c. Child is unknown to the ACE system.

3. If the EW requires additional information to complete the EA1 not available through the various computer systems, EW will telephone the parent/relative to obtain the answers to questions 2, 3, and 4 in the Certification section.

4. If unable to contact the parent/relative, send a letter to them requesting the missing information. Enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope. 

5. If there is no response from the parent/relative, annotate the attempts made in question number 13, in the comments section.

a. Annotate “parent/relative unavailable” in the signature block.

6. Review the services case record and answer questions 1 through 5.
7. Obtain the CSW or Supervising Children’s Services Worker’s (SCSW’s) signature and date in the certification section. 

8. Complete the Eligibility Worker section (questions 7 – 13). 

a. To complete question 11 requires the EW to register the child on the ACE system. (See Section C for instruction on registering)

9. Review the services case record and answer questions 1 through 5.

a. Obtain the CSW or SCSW’s signature and date in the certification section. 

i) The date the CSW or SCSW signed the application is the EA “application date”;

ii) The CSW’s first face-to-face interview with the parent/relative is the EA “effective date of risk”.
Note: the application date must be within 30 days of the date of risk.

10. Review the application for eligibility, errors and/or omissions. Prepare and sort the applications for registration on the ACE system. 

a. Presumptive Eligible (PE) Applications: missing element such as child’s SSN.

b. Eligible application: all the essential information is available. 

11. ACE Registration Process: Access the ACE system through the MEDS computer system.

12. Data enter to the EA Log. Retain the count for the monthly statistical report. 

ASSISTANCE TO CHILDREN IN EMERGENCY (ACE) 

1. Data enter the identifying information onto the ACE computer system. ACE will automatically search for a match within the 58 counties of California. Print all matches, prior episodes and registrations. The following are the types of ACE registrations:
a. Add

b. Presumptive Eligibility (PE)

c. Episode Match

d. Prior Episode

2. ACE PE registration.

a. The EA application is missing a required eligibility element such as the child’s SSN. Complete the following in the attempt to obtain the child’s SSN:

i) Research Single Index, MEDS, CWS/CMS;

ii) Telephone the parent(s)/relatives(s).

iii) If a SSN cannot be obtained through the parent(s)/relative(s), search on the MEDS system for the purpose of identification of the child under a pseudo SSN number. (If a minor does not have a SSN but minor has a MEDS pseudo number, EW should use the MEDS pseudo number to input on ACE as the minor’s identification number)

3. EA application authorized as Presumptive Eligible (PE);

a. If the EA application is authorized as PE, the EW will not code for an EA claim. The “PE” application must be held until the child’s SSN can be obtained. 

4. EA Authorization Process:

a. ACE Add registration. The child was searched on ACE with “no match” found; received a new registration and obtained a Social Security Number. The application is ready for final authorization. 

5. When the child’s SSN is obtained and the services case remains open, complete the following:

a. Access ACE to change the SSN and remove the “PE”;

b. Complete the final authorization;

c. Complete section 11b on the application. The effective date is the application date indicated on the ACE print out. 

6. When the child’s SSN is obtained and the services case is closed, the EW completes the following:

a. Submit a request to the EA/ES to delete the PE. 

Note: It is not necessary to reopen the services case to code for an EA claim because the non-detained EA claim is achieved by the ACE file tape reconciled to the foster care file. The “PE” must be deleted from ACE in order to achieve the EA claim. 

7. If the services case is closed within the first 30 days, the EW completes the following:

a. Change the EA application to a denial. The reason for the denial is “unable to obtain sufficient information to process a final authorization”;
b. Submit packet to the ES for deletion of the registration on ACE;

c. If the child returns to DCFS, another attempt will be made to obtain the mandatory eligibility information. 

8. ACE Episode Match Registration.

a. Review the ACE printout to determine the following:

i) Is the current emergency a continuation of a registered episode?

(1) If yes, process the authorization using the registered episode expiration date.

ii) If the registered episode has expired, and the current episode is a new emergency (with a new petition filed), the EW will process the authorization using the new episode expiration date.

iii) If there is a prior episode registered in another county, the EW must make a telephone call to the ACE coordinator in the other county. An agreement is made between counties regarding:

(1) Abate the registered episode for a new episode; or

(2) Continuation of the same episode. Request a copy of the services plan to be sent to the CSW;

(3) The other county MUST go on-line to MEDS; ACE and indicate in the “other program field” the following: “ICT – 19”. 

9. ACE Prior Episode Match Registration.

a. The child’s identifying information is data entered into ACE. A match is found with the Not to Exceed (NTE) date expired.

b. If the current application is for a new emergency the EW will process the following:

Note: The message at the bottom of the screen will state “episode expiration,” okay to add, hit enter to add the new emergency registration.

i) ACE “add episode match” and “prior episode” registrations are ready for the final authorization. 

(1) The EW will review the identification and certification section;
(2) Complete the eligibility section and authorize within 30 days of the application date. 

10. EA Denial Process. 

a. If the EA eligibility is determined to be a denial, the EW will annotate the denial reason on the application:
i) Child over 21 years; or
ii) Not removed from a relative; or
iii) Exceed the income limit; or
iv) Refused employment/training without good cause; or
v) Application received too late for processing; or
vi) CSW signed the application too late for processing; or
vii) Child received EA within the last 12 months; or
viii)  Unable to authorize within 30 days of the application date; or
ix) A non-qualified alien or undocumented alien is not eligible to receive EA-GA (ACL 05-38, Question number 10).

b. EA/EW gives the EA 1 to the Eligibility Supervisor (ES) for review and signature.

11. EA budget coding process. At the time an EA application is processed to a final authorization (not PE), the Case Carrying EW completes the budget action as follows:

a. Open the document notebook in the case management section of CWS/CMS. Select the Case Notes. Record the EA registration and EA episode period (see Note on page 3);
b. Open the create/new reminder notebook in the case management section. Record the EA episode expiration date as the “Due Date”;

c. Record in the description text box, “at the EA expiration date, conversion to foster care is required”; and 

d. Initiate a Notice of Action (NOA) to the parent with a copy to the case carrying CSW. One copy will be attached to the EA 1 packet. 

Note: Notice of Action – The application for emergency assistance is a four-part form that provides a copy for the parent/relative applying for services. The NOA is printed on the reverse of the application copy that the parent/relative receives. The Child Welfare Department is not required to notify families when their assistance has terminated, but must mail the NOA page of the application to the family even if assistance has been requested by a county worker on behalf of a child. The head of household must be provided a copy of the final EA eligibility determination regardless whether there is an approval or denial of the application. 

The notice must provide a reason for denial (if applicable) and notice of appeal rights shall be provided. In situations where a county worker is applying on behalf of a child a notice of the final EA eligibility determination must be mailed to the address provided on the application. 

The returned NOA must be filed in the eligibility file, including CWS/CMS case note documentation of the Postal Services inability to deliver the NOA. 

12. Count the EA application for the monthly statistical report as follows:

a) Number of application received;

b) Number of application authorized (final);

c) Number of application authorized (PE);

d) Number of applications denied. 

13. Folder containing EA documents will be retained for a period of 5 years. 
a) Record actions in CWS/CMS case notes. 

B. When:
A Child is Detained

Note: Process the Detention Hearing Minute Order within 30 days of the application signed date. This is also the effective date for participating in the EA program per ACL 05-38 dated 12/05/2005. 
Children’s Court EW Responsibilities 
Note: EW’s  are physically housed at the Corporate Office not Court
1. Receive the Intake and Detention Control (IDC) Court Calendar and the Emergency Response (ER) IDC Intake Referral or Emergency Response Referral Document.

2. Obtain a WCMIS or LEADER print-out to obtain the family/household status/identifying information. Research on the CWS/CMS computer application to retrieve identifying data on the detained child. 

3. Complete the identification information on the EA 1.

4. Data enter the identification information into the EA unit’s Excel spreadsheet. 
5. Deliver the EA 1 and system printouts to the IDC Clerk. 
When: Upon the return of the EA 1 from Court

1. Receive the EA 1 from the court.

a. Review the documents to ensure that there are no errors or omissions;
b. Sort the EA packets according to the services region that they will be sent to.

2. Update the EA unit Excel Spreadsheet. 

3. Indicate the Services Regional Office the EA 1 packet is being sent to.  

4. Print the region transmittal and attach it to each batch of EA packets.

5. Send the batched EA 1 packets to the services regional designated EA/EW.

6. Reconcile the EA Excel spreadsheet.

a. Prepare a list of the children that did not have an EA 1 packet returned from Court;
b. Consult with the Service Desk Worker regarding any missing EA 1 packets. 

7. Complete a duplicate EA 1 for the unfound or unavailable EA 1 indicated on the reconciliation list.

a. Obtain the Service Desk Children’s Services Worker (CSW) certificating signature.

8. Follow steps 1 – 5 above. 

Regional EA/EW Responsibilities
1. Receive the batched EA 1 packets.
a. Count the number of EA 1 packets received and annotate the information in the EA statistical report;
b. Regional EA/EW should sign and return the transmittal to the Court EW’s;
c. Review the EA 1 for errors and/or omissions;
d. EA/EW should research on MEDS and CSW/CMS for any missing information;
e. Prepare and sort the applications for registration on the ACE system; 
i) Presumptive Eligible (PE) Applications; missing element such as: child’s SSN.
ii) Eligible applications: all the essential information is available. 
Note: The EA application must be completed within 30 days of the date the child is determined to be at risk. The date is located in the upper right corner of the EA 1. 

f. Access the MEDS/ACE computer registration system;
i) Inquire and receive the ACE registration and/or the current/prior episode match;
ii) Print and attach the ACE registration or prior episode printout to the EA application.

g. Complete the EA application authorization. Review instructions in the section titled, “ASSISTANCE TO CHILDREN IN EMERGENCY (ACE) REGISTRATION PROCESS,” SECTION “C”;
h. EW should document on CWS/CMS case notes, the authorization date, SSN update, DOB and name and file of the intake or case carrying EW; 
i. Count the EA applications for the monthly statistical report as follows:
i) Number of applications received;
ii) Number of applications authorized (final);
iii) Number of applications registered (PE);

iv) Number of applications denied. 
j. Refer the EA packet to the Intake/Case Carrying EW. 
Intake EW Responsibilities

Note: EA Application when there is a Voluntary Placement Agreement – Intake EW needs to send a request for correction to the EA Supervisor who attached the Voluntary Placement Agreement (SOC 155) to the EA Application, if the date and signatures of the parents and CSW are not on the SOC 155. The EA Application will be denied if the date of the agreement was signed over 30 days from the date of the EA application. 

1. Receive the EA packet and process the foster care eligibility determination per the existing procedures. Refer to the Eligibility Determination for Financial Participation and Foster Care Eligibility Determination policies. 
2. If the foster care eligibility determination is federal financial participation, do not change the aid code from “42” to “5K” for the paid placement. 

3. If the foster care eligibility determination is State or County financial participation and the EA application is processed to a final authorization (not PE), record the EA episode on the CWS/CMS application (see BDOA Note on page 3);
4. Review the Case Notes and the reminder notebook in the Case Management Section for the EA registration and EA episode timeframe and expiration dates;
a) Ensure there is a DCFS 26.1 set up as a reminder of the NTE date.

5. Record the Aid code as “5K” for the duration of the EA episode on the ID NUM page of the client notebook.

6. The Non-Related Extended Family Member (NREFM) placement must be approved (SOC 815) before the Intake or Redetermination (Case Carrying) EW can code “5K”. 

EA FINAL AUTHORIZATION OR THE EA EPISODE EXPIRATION/CONVERSION TO FOSTER CARE AT TIME OF REDETERMINATION

Case Carrying Eligibility Worker (Redetermination) Responsibilities

1. Open MEDS to retrieve and review the ACE print out. 

2. Search, retrieve and open the CWS/CMS application. 
a. Review the Case Notes and reminder notebook to determine the EA episode status and time frame (see BDOA Note on page 3).
3. Determine if the EA episode has expired (NTE) or the EA status is presumptive eligible.

a. If presumptive eligible, it means there is an eligibility element missing such as the Social Security Number, which prevents a final authorization. 

i) The case carrying EW shall attempt to obtain the required missing information and process the final authorization, ensuring that the EA financial participation is claimed for the entire episode. 
ii) Once the missing information is obtained refer to the Regional EA Staff Person to complete the final authorization.  Set a control using a DCFS 26-1 to control 12 months, minus 1 day, from the BDOA.
iii) Record the aid code of “5K” for the entire EA episode. (see note and example on page 3 for clarification)
iv) If the missing information is the child’s Social Security Number and EW is unable to process a final authorization, take the following steps:

(1) If the case does not have a birth certificate or a DCFS 230 has not been initiated requesting a birth certificate, follow instructions from policy # E020-0500 under section A, “Age/Identity” to request and obtain a birth certificate.
(2) Once the Birth Certificate is obtained follow instructions from policy # E020-0500 under section I – “Social Security Number” to apply for a Social Security Number for the child. 
(3) If the child’s Social Security Number cannot be obtained within 18 months of the “Date at Risk” (upper right corner of the EA1), the pending application will not be authorized and must be deleted from the ACE system. 
(4) Refer the application to the EA/ES over the Regional Office to complete the necessary actions to delete the application.

b. Review the ID NUM page in the client notebook to determine the aid code, ensuring that all placements within the EA episode timeframe have been correctly coded, “5K.” 
5. At the Not-to-Exceed (NTE) date, the EW shall convert the financial participation to the accurate funding source. 
a. If the EA episode is expired and the aid code indicates “5K” refer to the Initial Determination for Financial Participation procedure guide. The effective date for the aid code change and the SAWS1 application is one day following the EA expiration date. 

6. If the minor has returned to Home of Parent (HOP) and EA has expired, terminate the Library file on the CWS/CMS assignment page. 

7. Process the redetermination per existing procedures 

a. If the EA episode is expired and the aid code indicates a “40”, State financial participation or;
b. If annual redetermination is within the EA episode timeframe, a redetermination is not required until the EA episode expires.

Note: File Retention – The eligibility case file shall be accessible to State and federal staff for a period of five (5) years following the date of termination of EA benefits. In addition, counties should retain all denied EA applications for a period of five (5) years from the date of denial. It is the responsibility of each county to develop their own record retention process. Reference ACL 63-64 (ACIN 1-41-93, dated 11/4/93, page 8-9, QA number 46)
C. ASSISTANCE TO CHILDREN IN EMERGENCY (ACE) REGISTRATION PROCESS

EXAMPLES OF ACE SCREENS
After logging into the MEDS system, the ACE program can be accessed by entering ACEM at the prompt. The ACE “Main Menu” screen will be displayed as follows: 

ACEM
ASSISTANCE TO CHILDREN IN EMERGENCY (ACE)   CUB 04/17/09
MAIN MENU

ENTER OPTION: A 
A = ADD RECORD (ENTER CHILD SSN OR NAME AND DOB)




B = ABATE RECORD (ENTER ANY FIELD)





C = CHANGE RECORD (ENTER ANY FIELD)





D = DELETE RECORD (ENTER ANY FIELD)





I =   INQUIRY (ENTER ANY FIELD)





Q = QUIT

CHILD SSN:

000 00 0000

CHILD NAME:

XXXXXXXXXX

XXXXXXXX

X





LAST


FIRST


MI

CHILD DOB:

19

(MM DD YYYY)

HOH SSN:


000 00 0000

CASE NBR:


19 00 0000000 0 00

OTHER ID:


000000000

Add Child Screen

ACEA
ASSISTANCE TO CHILDREN IN EMERGENCY (ACE)
CUB 04/17/09

ADD RECORD


08:58:48

CHILD

LAST NAME
FIRST
     MI
CHILD SSN

CHILD DOB
REM DATE

XXXXXXXX

XXXXXX   X
000 00 0000

00 00 0000
00 00 00

HOH

LAST NAME
FIRST
     MI
CHILD SSN

CHILD DOB
REM DATE

XXXXXXXX

XXXXXX   X
000 00 0000

00 00 0000
00 00 00

HOH ADDRESS

STREET NBR
PRE
STREET NAME

TYPE
POST UNIT
UNIT NBR

00000

X
XXXXXXXXXX

XXX
        X

     XX


CITY

ST

ZIP CODE

XXXXXXXXX
XX

XXXXX

CASE NAME

CASE NBR

OTHER ID

XXXXXXXX, XXXXX
19XX XXXXXXX X XX


APPL DT

PGM TYPE

03 23 09

     CWS

AUTH DT

OTHER PROGRAMS

NTE DT

03 23 09
EW Responsibilities

1. Open the MEDS program;

2. Clear the screen and type in “ACEM” at the upper left of the screen, then press <enter>;

a. There are four (4) options presented, to add, abate, change, delete or inquiry database records or to quit the program. 

Note: Adds, abatements, changes and deletions will only be allowed if the user is authorized for that type of transaction. Also, abatements, changes, and deletions will only be allowed by the county that originally added the record to the database. 

b. Before a new record can be added to the database, three file clearance matches will be accomplished to see if a record for the child already exists on the system. 

i) Enter the child’s Social Security Number (SSN);

ii) Enter the child’s name and DOB; or data enter the 14 digit state number (e.g. 1940-xxxxxxx-x-xx) (County code, aid code, 7 digit state number, separate family number and ID number). The 14 digits prevent a duplication of registration for the same child. 

3. If there is a match found, review the information to determine if this is the child in the current referral. 

a. The status of the found record(s) can be:

i) Not expired. The record has a not-to-exceed date that has not expired. The child is currently receiving assistance, so a new period of assistance cannot be added unless the first period is abated. 

ii) Expired. The not-to-exceed date has expired. The 12-month eligibility period is over, so a new period can be added if a new petition is filed.
iii) Abated. The not-to-exceed date has not expired, but an abatement date has been entered. When an EA episode has been abated, another episode can be authorized. Abatement occurs when a child is currently authorized to receive EA and the episode is removed early in order to start a new 12-month eligibility period. To abate the first EA episode, the record is updated with an abatement date. 

iv) Pending. An application has been entered into the system, but it has not been authorized (the authorization date and not-to-exceed dates are blank). Only the county that originally entered the record will be allowed to update it with an authorization date to establish the EA episode. The record must be expired, abated, or deleted before another county can add a new record. 

Note: Once a record has been added to the database, the system will allow the record to be abated, certain fields to be changed, the entire record to be deleted, or an inquiry to be made based on several different data fields. An existing record can be found by entering the child’s SSN, case number, other identifier, child’s name and DOB, or the Head of Household’s (HOH) SSN.

4. If it is determined that the records do not belong to the child and the child is eligible for EA, the system will allow a new record to be added to the database. 

5. If option “A” is selected, only the child’s social security number (SSN) or the child’s DOB must be entered. Up to three comparisons will be done to see if the child already has an existing record on the database. The first comparison will be by the child’s SSN, the second comparison will be by the child’s name and DOB, and the third comparison will be by part of the child’s name and DOB. 
6. If options “B”, “C”, “D”, or “I” are selected, any field can be used to find a record, except the child’s DOB. The child’s DOB must be used in conjunction with the child’s name. Several comparisons will be made to locate an existing record depending on what data is entered. 

7. After choosing an option on any of the ACE screens, press the <enter> key to process your selection. On the Add, Abate, and Change screens, press the <Tab> key to advance from field to field to enter data or correct entered data. 

Note: Unauthorized personnel attempting to perform an Add, Abate, Change or Delete will receive the following message at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field:

      “ATTEMPTED TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION”

Anyone with a MEDS logon can perform an inquiry on a record. 

8. To Add a new record, select option “A” and press <Enter>. If the child’s SSN is not known, <Tab> to the CHILD NAME field and enter the child’s name and DOB.

a) The child’s SSN will be compared to the ACE database and if an exact match is found, the information from the matching record will be displayed on the “MATCH FOUND” screen. 
b) There are times that the next screen coming into view will have information that is incorrect. It is necessary to correct the information before moving forward to create the next episode. Incorrect information may include:

i) Minor’s last and first name;

ii) Minor’s date of birth; and

iii) Minor’s Social Security Number.

Note: Failure to data enter the corrected information at this point will result in the inability to correct information once you begin to input data on the “A” (Add) screen.
c) Information to be reviewed includes:

i) Child’s information:
· Determine if there is a “A” or “J” verifier, which indicates a valid Social Security Number is on file;

· Social Security Number;

· Date of birth;

· Confirm the name spelling of the child; and

· Current address on the MEDS record.

ii) Parent’s Information:

· Check to determine if there is a “A” or “J” verifier, which indicates a valid Social Security Number is on file;

· Social Security Number;

· Date of birth;

· Confirm the name spelling of the parent(s); and

· Current address on the MEDS record.

d) If no match is found by using the child’s SSN, the cursor will be placed at the CHILD NAME field and the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen to prompt you to enter the child’s name and DOB. The head of household’s (HOH) SSN is optional: 

“PLEASE ENTER CHILD SSN”

9. If no match is found by using the child’s SSN or the child’s SSN is not known, then the child’s name and DOB will be compared to the database. If an exact match is found, the information from the matching record will be displayed on the “MATCH FOUND” screen. 

10. If no match is found by any of the above comparisons, then the following message will be displayed:

“NO MATCHING DATA FOUND – PRESS ENTER TO CONTINUE”

a. When <ENTER> is pressed, the “ADD RECORD” screen will be displayed so you can add a new record.

11. To Abate, Change, Delete, or perform in Inquiry, select option “B”, “C”, “D” or “I” and press <ENTER> The cursor will move to the CHILD SSN field. 

a. Any field on the “MAIN MENU” screen can be used to locate a child’s record except the child’s DOB. The child’s DOB must be used in conjunction with the child’s name. The following message will appear at the bottom of the screen to prompt you for more information: 

“PLEASE ENTER CHILD SSN, CHILD NAME, HOH SSN, CASE NBR, OR OTHER ID”

b. If an exact match is found by using the data entered, the appropriate screen will appear according to the option selected. 

c. If more than one match is found all the possible matches will be displayed on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen. 
d. If no matches are found, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen prompting you to press <ENTER>:

“NO MATCHING DATA FOUND – PRESS ENTER TO CONTINUE”

e. To quit the ACE system, choose option “Q” and press <ENTER>. 

MATCH FOUND

If option “A” was selected on the “MAIN MENU” screen and an exact match was found from the data entered, that record will be displayed on the “MATCH FOUND” screen. You will then have the option to return to the Main Menu, Add a new record (depending on the status of the found record), or Abate, Change, or Delete the found record. 

The “MATCH FOUND” screen can only be accessed from the “MAIN MENU” screen add option. All of the information from the matching record will be displayed and all of the displayed information will be protected. No edits will be allowed. The cursor will be positioned at the OPTION field at the bottom of the screen. 

1. Choose option “M” and press <Enter> to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen without taking any action. 

2. Choose option “A” and press <ENTER> to Add a new EA episode for the child. The system will check the Not-to-Exceed Date on the displayed record to determine if the child is eligible for another period of assistance. 

a. If the Not-to-Exceed Date has expired (is less than the current date), the system will allow you to add a new record. Only specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen, where you will enter additional information about the child from the EA application. 

b. If the Not-to-Exceed Date has not expired (is equal to or greater than the current date) and the Abatement Date is blank, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field:

“MUST ABATE OR DELETE BEFORE ADDING NEW EPISODE”

c. If the Not-to-Exceed Date has not expired (is equal to or greater than the current date) but the Abatement date contains a date, specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen and you will be allowed to add a new record. For documentation purposes, do a screen print of the record showing the abatement date before adding the new record. The abated record will be written to the history file and will not be visible to the user once the new record has been added. 

d. If the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank and the record was originally entered by another county, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field.

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION”

Otherwise, specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen and you will be allowed to add a new record. 

3. Choose option “B”, “C”, or “D” and press <ENTER> to Abate, Change, or Delete the matching record displayed on the screen. 

a. If you are not authorized for those types of transactions or if the record originated in another county, then the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field:

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORZED TRANSACTION”

b. If you select option “B” to Abate and the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field. 

“CANNOT ABATE RECORD WITHOUT NTE DATE”

c. After you choose your option, and if you do not receive one of the above messages, the system will take you to the appropriate screen. 

POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND

When only possible matches are found from the information entered on the “MAIN MENU”, then all of the possible matches will be listed on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen.

The possible matches are listed in alphabetical order by the child’s name. All of the information displayed is protected. No edits will be allowed. 

1. If more than four possible matches are found, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen indicating how many pages of records were found:

“PRESS ENTER TO DISPLAY MORE MATCHING RECORDS – PAGE # OF #” 
Continue to press <Enter> until the last record of the list of possible matches is displayed, then the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“LAST RECORD – PRESS ENTER TO DISPLAY AGAIN – PAGE # OF #” 

Press <Enter> to see the list again or enter an option.

2. If you selected option “A” for Add on the “MAIN MENU”, then your options on this screen will be either “M” for Main Menu, “A” for Add, or “I” for Inquiry (as shown above). The cursor will be located at the first record next to the HOH’s name. Press <Tab> to move the cursor to the desired record. Enter your option on the line next to the record or in the OPTION field at the bottom of the screen (except option “I”). 
a. Option “M” will return you to the “MAIN MENU” screen without taking any action. 

b. Enter option “A” on the line next to the record that you have determined matches the child. You should perform an inquiry to see the entire record before attempting to add a new record. 

i) If the Not-to-Exceed Date has expired (is less than the current date), the system will allow you to add a new record. Only specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen, where you will enter additional information about the child from the EA application.

ii) If the Not-to-Exceed Date has not expired (is equal to or greater than the current date) and the Abatement Date is blank, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will remain in place:

“MUST ABATE OR DELETE BEFORE ADDING NEW EPISODE”

iii) If the Not-to-Exceed Date has not expired (is less than the current date) but, the Abatement Date contains a date, specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen and you will be allowed to add a new record. For documentation purposes, do an inquiry and print the screen showing the abatement date before adding the new record. The abated record will be written to the history file and will not be visible to the user once the new record has been added. 

iv) If the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank and the record was originally entered by another county, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will remain in place: 

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION” 

Otherwise, specific information will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen and you will be allowed to add a new record. 

c. If you have determined that none of the possible matches match the child, enter option “A” at the bottom of the screen. The information you entered on the “MAIN MENU” screen will be carried forth to the “ADD RECORD” screen and you will be allowed to add a new record. 

d. To perform an inquiry on one of the possible matches <Tab> to the desired record and enter option “I” on the line next to the HOH’s name. 

i) All the information for that record will be displayed on the “INQUIRY” SCREEN. You will then have the option of returning to the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen, so you can select another record for inquiry. 

ii) If an “I” is entered at the bottom of the screen, the cursor will be positioned on the line next to the first record and the following message will appear: 

“SELECT RECORD FOR INQUIRY”

Press the <Tab> key to move to the desired record. 

3. If you chose option “B” for Abate, “C” for Change, “D” for Delete, or “I” for Inquiry on the “MAIN MENU” screen, then your options on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen will be either “M”, “B”, “C”, “D”, or “I”. Press <Tab> to move the cursor to the desired record. Enter your option on the line next to the record or in the OPTION field at the bottom of the screen (except options “B”, “C” and “D”). 

a. Option “M” returns you to the “MAIN MENU” screen without taking any action. 

b. For options “B”, “C”, or “D”:

i) If you enter the option at the bottom of the screen, the cursor will be positioned on the line next to the first record and the following message will appear: 

“SELECT RECORD FOR ###### (SPECIFIC RECORD)”

Press the <Tab> key to move to the desired record. 

ii) If you are not authorized for the transaction type that you entered or if the record belongs to another county, then the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will remain in place: 

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION” 

iii) If you choose option “B”: and the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will remain in place: 

“CANNOT ABATE RECORD WITHOUT NTE DATE” 

iv) After you choose your option, and if you do not receive one of the above messages, the system will take you to the appropriate screen. 

c. To perform an inquiry on one of the possible matches <Tab> to the desired record and enter option “I” on the line next to the HOH’s name. 

i) All the information for that record will be displayed on the “INQUIRY” screen. You will then have the option of returning to the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen, so you can select another record for inquiry. 

ii) If an “I” is entered at the bottom of the screen, the cursor will be positioned on the line next to the first record and the following message will appear: 

“SELECT RECORD FOR INQUIRY”

Press the <Tab> key to move to the desired record. 

ADD RECORD

The “ADD RECORD” screen is used to create a new record for a child after the system has searched for any matching records. Information from the previous period of EA will be stored in a history file that will not be accessible to the user at this time. 

The cursor will be positioned at the REM DATE (removal date) field, in the upper right hand corner of your screen. To return to the “MAIN MENU” screen without adding a record, <Tab> to the bottom of the screen and enter option “M”. 

5. Entering Information in Data Fields:

a. The Head of Household (HOH) address is broken into seven elements.

b. If a field is completely filled, the cursor will automatically advance to the next field. If the field is not filled, press <Tab> to advance to the next position. 

c. The format for all the date fields is “MM/DD/YY” – The child’s date of birth (DOB) and HOH’s DOB fields also include the century, “MM/DD/YYYY”

d. If no match was found from the data entered on the “MAIN MENU” screen, the entered information will be carried forward to the “ADD RECORD” screen and displayed. This data consists of the following:

Child’s Name

Child’s SSN

Child’s DOB

Case Name

e. If a match was found, information from the “MATCH FOUND” or the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen will be carried forward to the “ADD RECORD” screen and displayed. This data consists of the following: 

Child’s Name

Child’s SSN

Child’s DOB

Case Name

f. The child’s name, SSN, and DOB are protected fields on the “ADD RECORD” screen and cannot be edited. 

g. If there is an alpha character in the last position of the child’s SSN, a Child Welfare Services (CWS) case number is required. Enter the number in the CASE NBR field. 

6. After you have completed entering all the information in the fields, choose option “A” to Add the new record. 

a. If the child’s SSN is blank but the HOH’s SSN was entered, a MEDS pseudo number will be generated for the child to prevent duplicate records from being entered in the future. 

b. If neither the child’s or a HOH’s SSN have been entered, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen:

“IS CHILD AN UNDOCUMENTED ALIEN (Y/N)?”

i) Enter “Y” for YES and a MEDS pseudo number will be generated for the child and displayed on the screen after the record has been added to the database. 

ii) Enter “N” for NO and the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen:

“CANNOT ADD RECORD WITHOUT EITHER CHILD SSN OR HOH SSN”
a. If the Authorization Date is entered and it is less than or equal to the previous Not-to-Exceed Date, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“AUTHORIZATION DATE OVERLAPS PREVIOUS 12-MONTH PERIOD”

If the Authorization Date is greater than the previous Not-to-Exceed Date, a new Not-to-Exceed Date will be calculated and displayed after the record has been added. 

b. If all the fields have been entered correctly, the new record will be added to the database and the following message, conforming the add, will appear at the bottom of the screen:

“RECORD ADDED – PRESS ENTER TO RETURN TO MAIN MENU”

For documentation purposes, print the screen showing the MEDS pseudo (if generated) and the Not-to-Exceed Date (if calculated). To return to the “MAIN MENU” screen, press <Enter>.

ABATE RECORD

If an exact match was found from the data provided on the “MAIN MENU” screen or a record was selected on the ”POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen, the information will be displayed on the “ABATE RECORD” screen and you will have the option to return to the Main Menu or Abate the record. 

An Abatement occurs when a child is currently receiving EA and the episode is terminated early in order to start a new 12-month eligibility period. To abate the first episode, the existing record is updated with an abatement date. The abatement date must be equal to or greater than the Authorization Date, but it must be less than the Not-to-Exceed Date. 

1. All of the information found in the match will be displayed and all of the displayed information will be protected. No edits will be allowed, except for the abatement date. The cursor will be positioned at the ABATE DT field. 

2. If the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank, the record cannot be abated since the pending application has not been authorized yet. The following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“CANNOT ABATE RECORD WITHOUT NTE DATE”

Press <Enter> to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen. 

3. If you are not authorized for this type of transaction or if the record originated in another county, then the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field: 

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION”

4. Choose option ”M” to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen without updating the record. 

5. To abate the record: 

a. Enter the month/day/year (MM/DD/YY) of the abatement action.  The date must be equal to or greater than the Authorization Date, but less than the Not-to-Exceed Date;
b. After entering the correct date, enter option “B” to update the record;
c. If the transaction was successful, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the cursor will return to the OPTION field:

“RECORD ABATED – PRESS ENTER TO RETURN TO MAIN MENU”
For documentation purposes, do a screen print of the record showing the abatement date and the message that the record was abated.
When a new record is added, the abated record will be written to the history file and will not be visible to the user. Press <Enter> to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen. 

CHANGE RECORD

If an exact match was found from the data provided on the “MAIN MENU” screen or a record was selected on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen, the information will be displayed on the “CHANGE RECORD” screen and you will have the option to return to the Main Menu or Change the record. 

1. All of the information found in the matching record will be displayed, but edits will not be allowed on the following fields: 

FIELD


INFORMATION
ABATE DT

Abatement Date

PRI CNTRY

County ID

AUTH DT

Authorization Date (can enter date if blank)

NTE DT

Not to Exceed Date

LAST CHG

Date Record Last Changed

2. The cursor will be positioned at the CHILD NAME FIELD, UNLESS THE Authorization Date is blank. If the Authorization Date is blank, the cursor will be positioned at the AUTH DT field and you will be allowed to enter a date. 

3. Choose option ”M” to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen without changing the record. 

4. Enter the changes in the data fields:

a. If a new SSN is entered for the child, a check will be performed to identify if the new SSN already exists on the ACE system. 
b. If the new SSN does exist on the system, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen and the new SSN will be rejected:

“NEW CHILD SSN ALREADY EXISTS ON DATABASE” 

c. If the Authorization Date entered is less than or equal to the previous Not-to-Exceed Date, the following message will appear:

“AUTHORIZATION DATE OVERLAPS PREVIOUS 12-MONTH PERIOD”

If the Authorization Date entered is after the previous Not-to-Exceed Date, then a new Not-to-Exceed Date will be calculated and displayed after the change to the record has been completed. 

d. After all of the changes have been completed, choose “C” at the OPTION prompt. If the changes are successful, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“RECORD CHANGED – PRESS ENTER TO RETURN TO MAIN MENU”

Press <Enter> to return to the “MAIN MENU” Screen. 

DELETE RECORD

If an exact match was found from the data provided on the “MAIN MENU” screen or a record was selected on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen, the information will be displayed on the “DELETE RECORD” screen and you will have the option to return to the Main Menu or Delete the record. The delete option can be used to delete records with erroneous information, pending applications that will not be authorized, or records that were added in error. Deleted records will no longer be accessible to the user. Records with erroneous information can also be corrected on the “CHANGE RECORD” screen. 

1. All of the information found in the matching record will be displayed and all of the displayed information will be protected. No edits will be allowed. The cursor will be positioned at the OPTION field. 

2. Choose option “M” to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen without deleting the record. 

3. Choose option “D” and press <Enter> to actually delete the displayed recorded. If you enter option “D”, you will not be able to undelete the record afterwards. When the deletion has been completed, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“RECORD DELETED – PRESS ENTER TO RETURN TO MAIN MENU”

Press <Enter> to go to the Main Menu. 

a. If you choose option “B” and the Not-to-Exceed Date is blank, the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen:

“CANNOT ABATE RECORD WITHOUT NTE DATE” 

b. After you choose your option, and if you do not receive one of the above messages, the system will take you to the appropriate screen. 

INQUIRY SCREEN

The record located from the information entered on the “MAIN MENU” or selected on the “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND” screen will be displayed. All of the fields will be protected and no edits will be allowed. You will have the option to return to the previous screen, go to the Main Menu, or to Abate, Change, or Delete the displayed record. 

1. The following message will appear at the bottom of the screen:

“PRESS ENTER TO RETURN TO PREVIOUS SCREEN”

Pressing <Enter> will return you to the previous screen, either “MAIN MENU’ OR “POSSIBLE MATCHES FOUND”. 

2. Choose option “M” to return to the “MAIN MENU” screen. 

3. Choose option ”B” for Abate, “C” for Change, or “D” for Delete:

a. If you are not authorized for the transaction type selected or if the record belongs to another county, then the following message will appear at the bottom of the screen: 

“ATTEMPT TO USE UNAUTHORIZED TRANSACTION”

OVERVIEW OF STATUTES/REGULATIONS

Social Security Act, Title IV-A

All County Letter 05-38 issued 12/5/2005
All County Information Notice 01-04-95 issued 01/19/95

ACL 63-64 (ACIN 1-41-93, dated 11/4/93, page 8-9, QA number 46)
ACL 05-38 dated 12/5/05
LINKS

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title04/0400.htm
http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/default.htm
http://dcfs.co.la.ca.us/Policy/Hndbook%20FCE/TableofContents.htm
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