Procedural Guide

E050-0565
EXTENDED ADOPTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (AAP) 

BEYOND THE AGE OF 18
Date Issue:
10/18/12
 FORMCHECKBOX 

New Policy Release

 FORMCHECKBOX 

Revision of Existing Procedural Guide 

Revision Made:
 
Cancels:
None - new Procedural Guide
DEPARTMENTAL VISION AND MISSION

This procedural guide supports the Department’s Vision and Mission of children thriving in safe families and in supportive communities while ensuring improved child safety, permanency and access to effective and caring services.
. 

WHAT CASES ARE AFFECTED

The procedural guide is applicable to all new and existing cases.

OPERATIONAL IMPACT

This Procedural Guide provides staff with instructions regarding the extension of Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) benefits to age 21 due to passage of AB 12. (For further information regarding AAP please see Procedural Guides E050-0560, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Freed Child and Intake and E050-0562, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Post Adoption). 

Note: This policy will be revised as further information or clarification is available through releases from the California Department of Social Services’ (CDSS) ACLs, ACINs, County Fiscal Letters, or other guidance issued by CDSS as the communication of program or fiscal policy. 

BACKGROUND

On September 30, 2010, AB 12 was signed into law. This bill allows California to implement provisions of P.L. 110-351, the federal Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008. A major provision of AB 12, to be phased in over three years, allows California to extend AAP benefits beyond the age of 18 for eligible youth when the youth entered these arrangements at age 16 or older. 

Note: Extended Foster Care and non-related legal guardianship are not included in this procedural guide (please see ACLs 11-61, 11-69, 11-77, 11-85; and ACIN 1-40-11 for further information regarding AB 12) http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/PG931.htm.

ELIGIBILITY FOR EXTENDED BENEFITS

There are two distinct ways AAP benefits may be extended beyond age 18:

· Effective January 1, 2011, children/youth receiving AAP benefits who have a documented mental or physical disability that warrants the continuation of assistance are eligible to receive benefits to age 21 regardless of the age of the child/youth when the initial adoption assistance agreement was signed (See Procedural Guide E050-0562, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Post Adoption, pertaining to this population of youth. This population remains eligible for ongoing AAP and are subject to the same instruction as written in Procedural Guide E050-0562) or; 

· Effective January 1, 2012 children/youth that do not have a documented mental or physical disability that warrants continuation of benefits may be eligible for AAP benefits after the age of 18-years old if they meet one of the five participation criteria stated in W&IC section 11403(b). 

1. Attending/completing high school or an equivalency program. 

2. Enrolling in post-secondary or vocational school.

3. Participating in a program or activity that promotes or removes barriers to employment.

4. Employed at least 80 hours per month.

5. The child/youth is incapable of participating in one through four above; due to a documented physical or mental condition (this includes a temporary condition that would keep the child/youth from meeting one of the four criteria above. The child/youth, once the temporary condition no longer exists, will need to meet at least one of the above criteria to remain eligible for extended benefits). 

Note: The case management and every six-month plan update requirements described in ACL 11-61, 11-69, 11-77, 11-85; and ACIN 1-40-11 are not required for extended AAP. 

Adoptive parents who receive AAP are responsible for reporting to the responsible public agency if the non-minor former dependent is not satisfying at least one of the participation criteria. 

Along with the five eligibility criteria, children/youth must also meet one of the following for benefits to be extended beyond age 18:

· For AAP, the initial AAP agreement must have been signed when the child/youth was at least 16-years old and the child/youth will turn 18 on or after January 1, 2012.
PHASE-IN OF AGE EXTENSIONS

The extension of AAP benefits is effective:

· January 1, 2012, up to age 19 (this means between 18 and 19- years old);

· January 1, 2013, up to age 20 (this means between 18 and 20-years old);
· Extension of AAP benefits up to age 21, for youth who do not have a documented mental or physical disability, is effective January 1, 2014, contingent upon legislative appropriation
EXCLUSIONS

The provision in AB 12 exclude the following youth from receiving extended AAP benefits:

· Child/youth whose initial AAP agreement was signed prior to the age of 16.

Note: For further information regarding any of the Welfare and Institution Code (W&IC) sections in this procedural guide; at the end of the policy there is a web link where specific information regarding the W&IC sections may be viewed.
COUNTY RESPONSIBILITY TO NOTIFY AAP RECIPIENTS
The responsible public agency must notify all affected AAP recipients of a child/youth’s potential eligibility for extended benefits prior to the child/youth’s 18th birthday. The agency must document in the AAP case file that the child/youth meets one of the five participation criteria for extended benefits and include supporting documentation. The responsible public agency is encouraged to broadly define the five participation criteria, so that the child/youth and the adoptive family may benefit from the extension of AAP. For more detailed information and examples regarding participation criteria, please refer to ACLs 11-61 and 11-69. 
RECIPIENT RESPONSBILITIES FOR AAP BENEFITS

For eligible children/youth receiving extended AAP benefits, the AAP agreement creates a contractual obligation for the adoptive parent(s) to continue to financially support the child as a condition of continuing receipt of the benefit. The adoptive parent(s) are responsible for requesting the benefit extension prior to the child/youth’s 18th birthday, and providing documentation to the responsible public agency supporting that the child/youth meets one of the five participation criteria. The responsible public agency will determine the child/youth’s eligibility for the extension of AAP benefits beyond the age of 18. All AAP rate negotiations and AAP agreements are to be conducted and signed by the responsible public agency and the adoptive parent(s). It is important to note that the regulations and statutes specific to AAP, including the Fair Hearing procedures, continue to apply to this AAP population. 
Procedures

Note: The AAP Reassessment EW sends out a Notice of Action (NOA) 60 to 70 days prior to the child/youth turning age 18, advising them that the child/youth may qualify for Extended AAP. They are advised that if they believe the child/youth qualifies they must contact the Post Adoptive Services Unit (PAS) to begin the process of reassessment for the extended benefits. 

When the AAP Reassessment EW receives the AAP 2, a determination that the youth is eligible for Extended AAP has already been made through the PAS unit. The AAP 2 simply notifies the EW of the need to restart (if necessary) the ongoing AAP and to make the appropriate aid code change. 

Youth who are over the age of 18 and meet the continuation of AAP due to a documented mental or physical disability remain eligible for ongoing AAP up to age 21. Their cases will continue to be reviewed per instruction in Procedural Guide E050-0562, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Post Adoption. 

AAP Reassessment EW Responsibilities
1. Receive an AAP 2 - Payment Instruction, notifying the EW of continued payment as the adoptive parent(s) have indicated that they want Extended AAP per Assembly Bill (AB) 12.  
2. EW will review the AAP 2 and confirm that one of the 5 participation criteria for AAP extension has been met. (See page 4 for a listing of the 5 participation criteria and ACL 11-86, Extension of Kinship Guardianship Assistance Payment (Kin-GAP) Program Benefits and Adoption Assistance Payments (AAP) to Age 21 for further information regarding specifics of the 5 criteria.)
3. Annotate on the Activity Page the primary condition that has been met by the youth that qualifies them for Extended AAP.
4. If AAP has stopped (due to youth having turned age 18), restart AAP effective the first day of the following month that the youth turned age 18. 

5. Aid code will be changed on the AAP Web to “07” (This includes the youth who have ongoing AAP, past the age of 18, due to a documented mental or physical condition). 

6. Send a referral to the Centralized Medi-CAL unit for the aid code change and re-activation of the Medi-CAL card.
7. Send a Notice of Action (NOA) to the Adoptive Parent(s) advising them of the approval of Extended AAP. 

8. File documentation in the eligibility folder.

All other processes will be the same as in Procedural Guide E050-0562, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Post Adoption. 

LINKS:

California Code


http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
Division 31 Regulations

http://www.cdss.ca.gov.ord/PG309.htm
Title 22 Regulations

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG295.htm
OVERVIEW OF STATUTES/REGULATIONS:

Assembly Bill 12

Assembly Bill 212

Public Law (PL) 110- 351 (Foster Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008)

Welfare and Institutions Code (W&IC)

Manual of Policies and Procedures (MPP)

All County Letter (ACL) 11-69, 11-15, 08-31, and 08-24

All County Information Notice (ACIN) 1-40-11
RELATED POLICIES - FOSTER CARE
E050-0560, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) – Freed Child and AAP Intake
E050-0562, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Post Adoption

E050-0564, Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Payment Resolution 

FORMS:

AAP 2 - Payment Instructions - Adoption Assistance Program
AD 4320 - Adoption Assistance Agreement
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