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This Procedural Guide was written to include information about dual agency children who receive AFDC-FC or Adoption Assistance Benefits and are consumers of regional center services. 

Cancels:  None 
DEPARTMENTAL VALUES

This policy supports the Department’s goal of improved safety and timelines to permanency for children by providing staff with procedural guidelines on setting up dual agency care rates for children who are California Regional Center clients and receiving Aid to Families with Dependent Children-Foster Care (AFDC-FC) or Adoption Assistance Program (AAP) Benefits. 

WHAT CASES ARE AFFECTED

This Procedural Guide is applicable to all new and existing cases where a child is receiving Regional Center Services and AFDC-FC or AAP benefits. 

OPERATIONAL IMPACT

California Regional Centers are nonprofit private corporations that contract with the State Department of Development Services to provide or coordinate services and supports for individuals with developmental disabilities. Welfare and Institution Code Section (WIC) 4512(a), defines a developmental disability as a disability that originates before an individual attains age 18 years, continues, or can be expected to continue indefinitely, and constitutes a substantial disability for that individual. This may include mental retardation, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and autism. It also includes disabling conditions found to be closely related to mental retardation or to require treatment similar to that required for individuals with mental retardation, but shall not include other handicapping conditions that are solely physical in nature. 
California Regional Centers also provide services through the Early Start Intervention Program. Infants and toddlers from birth to 36 months may be eligible for these early intervention services, if through documented evaluation and assessment, they meet one of the following criteria: have a developmental delay in either cognitive, communication, social or emotional, adaptive, or physical and motor development including vision and hearing; or have established risk conditions of known etiology, with a high probability of resulting in delayed development; or are at high risk of having a substantial developmental disability due to a combination of risk factors. 

DCFS has children under its supervision who are also receiving Regional Center Services. Under the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the County of Los Angeles and Regional Centers serving Los Angeles County, an Operational Agreement has been established to define and confirm the Departments’/Agencies’ joint and several roles of responsibilities for working together to provide coordinated services that help improve the lives of children and youths in the County of Los Angeles with developmental disabilities. 

Note: A dual agency child is a child in a foster care home (relative, non-related extended family member (NREFM), non-related legal guardian, licensed foster home and non-vendorized licensed foster family home), a child in an adoptive placement, or adopted from the foster care system, who receives Aid to Families with AFDC-FC or AAP benefits and who is concurrently a consumer of California regional center services due to a developmental disability, as defined by the Lanterman Act, and/or a child receiving services under the California Early Start Intervention Services Act. 
These rates are not available to Foster Family Agency (FFA) homes or through Kin-GAP, and does not apply to community care facilities vendorized by a Regional Center. 
The following rates have been established:
$2,006.00/month for the care and supervision of children served by dual agencies three years of age and older, or under three years old but with a developmental disability as defined in WIC 4512(a) and determined by Regional Center.

$898.00/month for children under the age of three years who receive services under California’s Early Start Intervention Services Act, but are not yet determined to have a developmental disability and who receive AFDC-FC or AAP benefits.

If a Regional Center subsequently determines that a child under three years of age is an individual with a developmental disability, the rate to be paid from the date of that determination is $2,006.00/month.

There is a supplemental rate of $250, $500, $750 or $1,000.00/month for children three years and older, served by dual agencies, that are determined to have extraordinary care and supervision needs. These needs cannot be met by the $2006.00 rate.
The request for the supplement rate must be reviewed and authorized by the ARA. 
For Regional Center Vendorized Homes, the AFDC-FC rate paid is based on the facility Alternative Residential Model (ARM) rate established by the Department of Developmental Services. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE SUPPLEMENT TO THE RATE
Dual agency children who are in foster care or adoptive placement or adopted from the foster care system on or after July 1, 2007, through the date of All County Letter (ACL) 08-54, (December 1, 2008) and who have been determined eligible for the supplement to the rate are also eligible for the retroactive supplemental to the rate. The effective date of the supplement for these dual agency children is July 1, 2007, the date of placement or the date of regional center eligibility, whichever date is later. 
For children entering foster care and who are recipients of AFDC-FC or receiving AAP benefits after the date of ACL 08-54, the effective date of the supplement is the date the request for the supplement was made, or the date of regional center referral of the child to the county for a determination for the supplement to the rate, whichever date is earlier, except in the circumstance described in the paragraph below. 

Following issuance of ACL 08-54, counties have up to 60 days to send out an information letter regarding the supplement to the rate. For dual agency children in the foster care system or in adoptive placement or adopted from the foster care system after the date of ACL 08-54, but before the date the information letter is received, the effective date of the supplement is the date of ACL 08-54, the date of placement, or the date of regional center eligibility, whichever date is later. 

Procedures
Note: All Notices of Action are child specific. A Notice of Action is completed when aid is granted or increased, denied, decreased, suspended, cancelled, discontinued or terminated. 

Note:  On all actions requested on the DCFS 280 form, the assigned EW (TA/EW, Intake, Redetermination/Recertification) must notify the CSW via e-mail that the DCFS 280 was assigned to them for completion of a task.  They must also notify the CSW once the requested action has been completed.
A. WHEN: RATE CHANGE TO A REGIONAL CENTER ARM (ALTERNATIVE RESIDENTIAL MODEL) RATE OR A  DUAL AGENCY RATE FOR FOSTER CARE CASES
1. Child is already placed in one of the following and in receipt of foster care: 
a) Relative
b) NREFM
c) Non-Related Legal Guardian or Former Non-Related Legal Guardian when guardianship has been dismissed due to the child turning 18 years of age
d) Licensed Family Home of a Non-Relative
e) Non-Vendored Licensed Foster Family Home
Technical Assistant Eligibility Supervisor Responsibility

1. Receive the DCFS 280, and any necessary attachments, (e.g. SOC 835, SOC 836, SOC 837 or ARM letter (referral request must have been prior to July 1, 2007) ) from the CSW for a change to a dual agency rate (may also include supplemental). 
2. Review the DCFS 280 packet to determine if all required documents are attached and the CSW, Supervising Children’s Services Worker’s (SCSW), and ARA (when appropriate) signatures are in place, authorizing the rate change. 
a) If there is missing documentation or signatures, the ES will return the packet to the requesting CSW for correction. When it is returned with appropriate documentation/signatures, assign to the TA/EW to complete the requested task. 

b) If all documentation and signatures are in the DCFS 280 packet, give to the Unit Clerk. 
c) E-mail an advanced notice to Underpayment/Payment Resolution ES, to advise her/him that a packet will be faxed to her/him for the rate increase change.
i) Within 1 hour of giving the DCFS 280 and attachments to the Unit Clerk, if you have not been advised by the Unit Clerk that the packet has already been faxed to the Underpayment/Payment Resolution ES, follow up to ensure the packet is immediately faxed for processing. 
Note: Rate change request to Dual Agency Care rates and ARM Rates for children in Foster Care will be centralized with the Underpayment/Payment Resolution Unit in Glendora. Currently this unit is under the supervision of Ms. Kay Santangelo. 
Unit Clerk Responsibilities

1. Upon receiving the DCFS 280 and attachments to be faxed to the Hotline, create a cover fax sheet and fax it along with the packet to (626) 691-1136. 
2. Forward the original DCFS 280 and attached documentation to the Hotline, c/o Underpayment/Payment Resolution ES at the Glendora Office. 
3. Annotate on the Workload Management Log that the assignment has been forwarded to the Underpayment/Payment Resolution Unit for processing. 
Underpayment/Payment Resolution Eligibility Supervisor Responsibilities
1. Receive the alert E-mail indicating that a request for rate change of a Dual Agency Care Rate is being faxed to the unit for completion. 
2. Within 2 hours of receipt of the E-mail alert, if you have not received the faxed packet (DCFS 280 and accompanying documentation):
a) Check with the Hotline to determine if the fax has been received, if not then send an e-mail to the TA/ES indicating non-receipt of the Fax. Begin escalation if you do not receive the packet within 24 hours of receipt of the alert e-mail from the Regional Office.
3. Once you receive the Faxed DCFS 280 packet, review the documentation to ensure correctness of information and that you have the appropriate authorizing signatures. If there is missing information or missing signatures, communicate with the TA/ES regarding the need for immediate correction. 
4. Assign to a EW to complete the requested task. 
5. Access the CWS/CMS application.  Review the Case Information Notebook assignment page to assign a TA/EW as a secondary assignment. 

6. Save the assignment to the database.

7. Forward the DCFS 280 packet to the assigned EW for review and completion of assignment. 

Underpayment/Payment Resolution Eligibility Worker Responsibilities

1. Access the CWS/CMS application.  
a) If minor is placed in the home of a relative, payment may not start unless all federal eligibility criteria has been met (i.e. all federal requirements including home assessment). Home will remain in non-paid status until the Federal Determination has been completed and all requirements are met. Once all requirements have been met the home may be budgeted.

b) if minor is placed in a licensed foster home, non-related legal guardian home,  or NREFM placement, upon review of all documentation to ensure accuracy and completeness (including appropriate signatures), complete budgeting actions. 
2. Review case notes (if any), CWS/CMS Client Services ID (under red button) and ID Num Page to determine prior placement situation, responsible agency, and aid code. 
3. Go to the Ongoing Request tab;
4. Go to the APPS Schedule/Level drop down for the Basic rate row and select one of the following:
a) RG - for Group Homes; or

b) RF - for Non-Group Homes (select this for continued placements currently receiving a higher non-standard rate);

c) P1-CBPP – Specialized Care and Shelter Allowance;

d) P2-CBPP Specialized Care Ongoing;

5. If requested, create a new row for the supplement to the rate;
a) Select the “SCI rate” radio button, enter the start date and amount;
b) Select “County Authorized Allowance” from the “Payment Type” dropdown menu;
c) Write in the “Reason Description” box – Dual Agency Minor with Supplement.

6. Set up approval action for ES review;
7. Annotate in case notes all actions taken;
8. Advise CSW and case carrying EW that the assignment has been completed;
9. Send a Notice of Action of Rate Change and the information on filing an appeal to the Caregiver, a copy to the CSW and include a copy with the packet that is being sent to the case carrying EW. 

10. Send a copy of all documentation to the case carrying EW to be placed in the Income Maintenance folder. 

11. Forward completed assignment to ES for review and approval.
Eligibility Supervisor Responsibilities

1. Review completed assignment. 

a) If there are omissions or information is incorrect, return to EW for correction. 

b) Upon return of corrected assignment, complete approval actions and stop file number, indicating completion of assignment. Save to the database. 
B. WHEN:
RATE CHANGE TO A REGIONAL CENTER ARM (ALTERNATIVE RESIDENTIAL MODEL) RATE OR A DUAL AGENCY RATE FOR AAP CASES
1. Child is in receipt of AAP

Note: If Regional Center rate is for an AAP case, Adoptions CSW’s must fax the DCFS 280 and attachments to the AAP Intake Unit . Non-Finalized AAP cases will remain with the Intake AAP Unit for processing, however, for cases that have been finalized the assignment will be referred to the AAP Recertification Unit for completion of assignment.
AAP (Intake or Recertification) Eligibility Supervisor Responsibilities

1. Receive the AAP2 and/or AD 4320, and any necessary attachments, (e.g. SOC 835, SOC 836, SOC 837, or ARM letter (referral request must have been prior to July 1, 2007)) from the Adoptions CSW for a change in the dual agency rate (including supplemental rate). 
2. Review the AAP 2 packet to determine if all required documents are attached and the CSW and Supervising Children’s Services Worker’s (SCSW), ARA (when appropriate) signatures are in place, authorizing the rate change. 
a) If there is missing documentation or signatures, the ES will return the packet to the requesting CSW for correction. When it is returned with appropriate documentation/signatures, assign to an AAP Eligibility Worker for completion of the assignment. 

3. Forward the packet to the assigned EW for completion of assignment. 
AAP Intake or Recertification Eligibility Worker Responsibilities

1. Review case notes (if any), CWS/CMS Client Services ID (under red button) and ID Num Page to determine prior placement situation, responsible agency, and aid code. 
2. Go to the Ongoing Request tab;
3. Go to the APPS Schedule/Level drop down for the Basic rate row and select one of the following:

a) RG - for Group Homes; or

b) RF - for Non-Group Homes (select this for continued placements currently receiving a higher non-standard rate);

c) P1-CBPP – Specialized Care and Shelter Allowance;

d) P2-CBPP Specialized Care Ongoing;

4. If requested, create a new row for the supplement to the rate;

a) Select the “SCI rate” radio button, enter the start date and amount;

b) Select “County Authorized Allowance” from the “Payment Type” dropdown menu;

5. Set up approval action for ES review;
6.  If there is an existing assigned AAP Recertification Worker, a copy of all documentation and forms will be sent to them for storage in the child’s eligibility folder.
7. Advise Recertification EW that the assignment has been completed;

8. Send a Notice of Action of Rate Change and the information on filing an appeal to the Caregiver. 

9. Send a copy of all documentation to the case carrying EW to be placed in the Income Maintenance folder. 

10. Forward completed assignment to ES for review and approval.

APPROVAL LEVELS

	Section
	Level
	Approval

	A
	CSW, SCSW
	· DCFS 280 for Dual Agency Rate or Early Start Intervention rate.
· ARM Rate

	A
	ARA
	· When requesting the supplemental rate

	B
	CSW,SCSW
	· AAP 2 for Dual Agency Rate or Early Start Intervention rate.
· ARM Rate

	B
	ARA
	· When requesting the supplemental rate


OVERVIEW OF STATUES/REGULATIONS

All County Letter No. 08-54, Dated December 1, 2008

All County Letter No. 08-17, Dated March 28, 2008

Senate Bill 84, Chapter 177, Statutes of 2007
All County Letter No. 03-60, Dated November 13, 2003

All County Letter No. 98-28, Dated May 4, 1998

All County Information Notice No. 1-74-04, Dated May 4, 1998

Links

California Code

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html
Division 31 Regulations
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/ord/PG309.htm
Title 22 Regulations

http://www.dss.cahwnet.gov/ord/PG295.htm
Instructions Regarding the Supplement to the Rate Pain on Behalf of a Dual Agency Child: http://dss.cahwnet.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl08/08-54.pdf>

Instructions Regarding the Dual Agency Rate: http://www.cdss.ca.gov/lettersnotices/entres/getinfo/acl08/08-17.pdf
Related Policies

E030-0530

Relative (Youakim) Foster Care
E100-0510.11  
CWS/CMS Budget Actions

E100-0510.13
CWS/CMS Search Actions

FORMS

AAP 2


Payment Instruction Adoptions Assistance Program

AD 4320

Adoption Assistance Agreement

DCFS 280

Technical Assistant Action Request

SOC 835 

Supplement to the Dual Agency Request

SOC 836

Supplement to the Rate Eligibility Form

SOC 837

Supplement to the Rate Questionnaire

NOA 290

Rate Change
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