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Introduction

The People’s Guide gives practical infor-
mation about how to get food, money, 
housing, health care and other help from 
government programs and community 
services if you live in Los Angeles County 
and need help in hard times. You do not 
have to read the entire book, just find the 
topic you need in the table of contents.   
However, people  who  are  eligible for 
one kind of help often qualify for other 
programs as well, so read the entire booklet. 

The People’s Guide also gives advice on 
what to do if you are treated unfairly or do 
not receive what you are entitled to by law. 

Lately,  massive government budget 
cuts have meant less help for low in-
come families, seniors, and homeless 
people:  fewer workers at agencies, clin-
ics and hospitals closing, tighter rules 
for getting help, reduced benefits, as 
well as waiting lists for many programs.

There are other problems with obtaining 
assistance: rumors and false informa-
tion that discourage eligible people 
from even trying to get help their family 
desperately needs, people not knowing 
what the application steps are, language 
barriers, people being made to feel em-
barrassed for asking for needed help.

The People’s Guide is dedicated to help-
ing all people overcome barriers when 
they try to get help. Every person has 
the right to enough food, housing, and 
health care. You help when you share 
this information with other people who 
need help. 

There is another important way to help. In 
Sacramento, Washington DC and in County 
and local governments, the programs and 
services described in the People’s Guide 
are always being debated. There is a huge 
conflict about the money for these services. 

Your voices are needed in those  
debates. Tell politicians how the programs 
help or don’t help and what your prob-
lems are. Government officials need to 
be reminded of the tragic crises and pain 
that happen in people’s lives when they 
can’t get food, housing, or health care. 

To get  names and addresses of your lo-
cal, state and federal lawmakers:
call (800) 481-8683- County Registrar.   
or visit: www.lavote.net

Politicians often want to use money for other 
things than health, welfare and social ser-
vices. But when the rich get too much richer 
and the poor get too much  poorer, the gap 
has very bad effects on the whole society. 

You can help close that gap. You don’t 
have to be an expert. Simply let those in 
authority know how a budget cut affects 
you or your neighbors. 

Hunger Action Los Angeles and our mem-
bers struggle for policies that save and 
improve the safety net.

Hunger Action Los Angeles (HALA)
961 S. Mariposa
Los Angeles, CA 90006
Tel: 213-388 8228
www.hungeractionla.org

For more information on getting 
help:

211 LA County                                                         
On the internet: www.211la.org

211 is a 24 hour per day, 7 day a week 
telephone information and referral ser-
vice. Operators are available in many 
languages.  They can help you find 
emergency food and shelter, legal and 
financial assistance, counseling and 
many other resources. 
Phone: 211 or (800) 339-6996
(800) 660-4026 (TTY)

Healthy City
California's information and action 
resource for service referrals and social 
change.  Visit them at 
http://www.healthycity.org

Public Policy Organizations                   
You can call these groups or attend their 
meetings to learn about policies affecting 
you.

Bus Riders Union
(213) 387-2800  

California Food Policy Advocates 
(213) 482-8200

California Partnership
(213) 385-8010

Coalition for Humane Immigrant  Rights of 
Los Angeles 
(213)353-1333.
 
Community Coalition
 (323) 750-9087

Community Health Councils 
(323) 295-9372

L.A. Alliance for a New Economy
(213) 977-9400

L.A. Community Action Network 
(213) 228-0024

Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles        
(800) 399-4LAW 

Maternal & Child Health Access  
(213) 749-4261 

Neighborhood Legal Services of Los 
Angeles
(800) 433-6251. 
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LA FAMILY SOURCE CENTERS

The City of Los Angeles has Family Source 
Centers (FSC) where you can apply for 
programs such as the ones in this book 
and get other help including child care 
service, job placement and tutoring, 
mentoring and arts instruction for youth:

Boyle Heights:
Lucille Becerra Roybal FSC
(323) 526-3033
TDD/TTY (323) 526-3822
El Centro de Ayuda Corporation
(323) 265-9228
Cypress Park: 
Cypress Park FSC
(323) 226-1682
TDD/TTY (323) 276-3017
Echo Park:
El Centro del Pueblo (213) 483-6335
Hollywood:
Youth Policy Institute (323) 836-0055
Lincoln Heights:
Barrio Action Youth & Family Center
(323) 221-0779
San Fernando Valley:
New Economics for Women
Canoga Park(818) 887-3872
Van Nuys(818) 786-4098
El Nido Family Centers
Pacoima (818) 896-7779
Pacoima FSC Pacoima(818) 896-7776
TDD/TTY (818) 834-2639
South LA:
Tom Bradley FSC (323) 692-0669
The Children’s Collective, Inc.
(213) 747-4046
Coalition of Mental Health Profession-
als, Inc. (323) 777-3120
Southwest LA:
1736 Family Crisis Center
(323) 737-3900
Community Build (323) 789-9950
Watts:Bradley Milken FSC
(213) 473-3607
TDD/TTY (213) 473-3788
Watts Labor Community Action 
Committee (WLCAC)
(323) 249-7552
West LA:
Latino Resource Org., Inc.
(310) 391-3457
Westlake/Pico Union:
Central City Neighborhood Partners
(213) 482-8618
Wilmington/San Pedro:
Toberman Neighborhood Center
San Pedro (310) 832-1145 x106
Wilshire:
Children's Bureau
3910 Oakwood Avenue
(323) 953-7356
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CalWorks

WHO CAN GET CASH AID?

CalWORKs

CalWORKs is California’s welfare program for people who have children 
under 19 years old. It provides monthly financial assistance for low 
income families. Most adults can only get CalWORKs cash assistance for 
48 months in a lifetime, and will be required to work or go to training in 
order to receive the cash assistance.  If you get CalWORKs you are also 
entitled to Medi-Cal for health care and CalFresh to help you buy food.

Children age 18 and under and the adult 
relatives who care for them can get cash aid. 
Both one- parent and two-parent families 
can get cash aid. In two-parent families, 
one of the parents must be disabled or have 
worked  less than 100 hours  in the last 
four weeks before   applying for  cash aid. 

How Do I Apply?
You apply for CalWORKs at the nearest 
DPSS (Department of Public Social Ser-
vices) office. (see page 70 Welfare Offices.) 

You can also apply online through 
YourBenefitsNow! website at:
www.dpss.lacounty.gov

YourBenefitsNow! is a web site for Los 
Angeles County residents to apply for and 
to view their benefits online. If you have 
an emergency, do not apply online.

When you apply, you have a right to be 
treated with courtesy and without dis-
crimination for any reason. The DPSS 
workers must try to get you all the cash 
aid, food aid and other benefits for which 
you are eligible.  

Often, eligible people who urgently need 
the aid don’t get correct information, or 
don’t understand or get discouraged. If that 
is happening to you, be strong. Insist on 
talking to a supervisor, or the supervisor’s  
manager, seek out the help of someone who 
will advocate for you, or insist on speaking 
to someone fluent in your language (DPSS 
must provide a free interpreter) or call a 
Legal Aid office. (see page 66 Hearings 
and Complaints.)

	 What To Bring When 

You Apply
When applying for CalWORKs, bring the 
following documents with you. If you lack 
some of them, go ahead and apply, and 
get a list of documents to be brought in 
later. Ask the worker to help you obtain 
missing documents. 

•	 Identification with your name and cur-
rent address on it .This can be a birth 
certificate, driver’s license, California 
ID card

•	 Social Security Number or Card (or proof 
of application for the cards) 

•	 Proof of income (like check stubs, a 
W2, or copy of your tax return) and 
resources (like a bank statement)

•	 Proof that you live in the county (a 
document that has your name and 
an address on it) for each person on 
the application 

•	 If you lack ID, you can also fill out a 
form called “PA 853” and swear that 
you are who you say you are

•	 Proof of citizenship, alien or immigra-
tion status for each person on the 
application that has it 

•	 Proof of your housing situation  (rent 
receipts, lease agreement, etc.)

•	 Auto payment papers and registration
•	 Letters from a doctor if anyone in the 

household is pregnant, disabled, has 
a special medical need or needs a 
special diet

•	 Any papers having to do with marriage, 
divorce, child support, or other cir-
cumstances that apply to your family.

How Do I Qualify?

To be qualified to get CalWORKs, your 
income must be under the amount shown 
on table for your family size. Once you 
begin getting cash aid, you can make 
more money and still get cash assistance 
from CalWORKs. 

Income Limits 
Effective 7/1/14 through 6/30/2015

# of people	 Gross Income Limit
1			   $604
2			   $989
3			   $1,226
4			   $1,455
5			   $1,661
6			   $1,868
7			   $2,053
8			   $2,234
9			   $2,423
10			   $2,663

Over 10 Add $23 for each extra person.

Money you make from working and unem-
ployment counts as income. SSI payments, 
loans from friends, most student loans, tax 
refunds and Earned Income Credit don’t 
count. If your child is under age 19, your 
child’s income  also doesn’t count.

To be qualified your resources must be less 
than $2,000. But if someone in the family 
on aid is disabled or 60 years or older, the 
limit is  $3,250. Cash on hand, savings, 
some cars, and most other property count 
as resources. A home you live in, personal 
items like furniture and a computer, tools, 
and some retirement accounts don’t count.

While on cash aid, you can have a written 
agreement with DPSS to have a special 
"restricted" savings account for education, 
training, starting a business or buying a 
house, and it will not count .You can have 
as much as you want in this "restricted" 
account but you have to make a written 
agreement with DPSS on a form, and give 
them the bank account information.

“Transfer of Assets.”
 If you give away or sell a property or re-
source for less than its fair market value 
while you are on cash aid, you might lose 
cash aid for one or more months. If you and 
the DPSS disagree about this, you need to 
consult with an attorney or legal services 
office. (pg  68 Good Advice).
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Rules about Cars

If you're applying for CalWORKs or getting 
it, you can own cars that are worth under 
$9,500. That's the "equity value"--the dif-
ference between what the car is worth and 
what you might still owe on it. A car you 
live in, a car used to go to work, a car used 
to make money like a gardener’s truck, or a 
car used to transport a physically disabled 
person in your home doesn’t count. For 
other cars, anything over the $9,500 will 
count toward your $2,000 resource limit.

CalWORKs divides people who get aid into 
“exempt” and “non exempt” recipients. 
You are considered “exempt” if you are 
getting disability payments such as SSDI, 
SSI, State Disabilty or Workers’Comp. 

The chart below shows the “Maximum 
Aid Payment” for these two groups. This 
maximum grant is cut dollar for dollar by 
any “unearned” income you have, such as 
social security survivor’s benefits, interest 
(like on a bank account), or unemploy-
ment money. Earned income, wages from 
work, or income based on a disability is 
not counted dollar for dollar.

Maximum Aid Payments   
(As of 2014)

# of people    "Nonexempt"	     "Exempt"
		                Grant	          Grant

	 1		  $ 333            $ 369
	 2		  $ 542	         $ 606
	 3		  $ 670	         $ 750
	 4		  $ 800	         $ 891
	 5		  $ 909	         $ 1014
	 6		  $1021	         $ 1140
	 7		  $ 1122	         $ 1252
	 8		  $ 1222	         $ 1366 
	 9		  $ 1321	         $ 1586
	 10		  $ 1419	         $ 1586

You will not get more cash aid for children 
born while your family is getting CalWORKs 
unless you weren’t getting cash aid for two 
consecutive months in the ten months 
previous to the birth or the child was born 
as result of failed contraception. 

1. Think About Time Limits 
Before You Take Cash Aid

You may not want to get cash aid if you 
have other income. Any month you get 
cash aid counts against the  48-month 
time limit, even if you are entitled only to 
a few dollars a month. You can get Medi-
Cal, Cal-Fresh and child care money even 
when you do not get cash aid. Is the cash 
aid you will get worth “using up” a month 
of eligibility? Should you “save” the month 
in case you need it more at a later time 
in your life? Call legal services to discuss 
your options.

2. What Else Is Available?

When you get Calworks, you can also get

•	 Medi-Cal to pay for health care    
•	 CalFresh (food stamps) in most cases
•	 Immediate Needs: an advance of up to 

$200 at the time you apply, or your 
whole check within 3 days if you have 
an eviction notice  

•	 Homeless and Housing Assistance in-
cluding eviction prevention, temporary 
shelter, move-in costs, rent subsidy, 
and help with cost of moving 

•	 Non-Recurring Special Needs:  You 
can get up to $600 each time if you 
have to replace clothing, household 
items, and appliances because of 
a fire, disaster, theft or other event 
beyond your control. You can also get 
this money for shelter if your home 
is so damaged or unlivable you can’t 
stay there and you are not eligible for 
the Homeless Assistance program.
You must have less than $100 to get 
this money.

•	  Special Needs: You can get an extra 
$9 to $15 if you have special needs 
such as higher food costs because of 
a necessary special diet, or higher 
transportation or utility costs due to 
a medical condition.  Breast-feeding 
mothers can add $15 to their grant to 
help with their dietary needs. Tell your 
worker if you have these special needs.

•	 Child Support: You can get $50 extra 
each month if the other parent pays 
at least $50 of child support to the 
County’s Department of Child Support 
Services on time. The Department 
should give you a list that shows when  
the other parent paid (an “account-
ing”). Check it to make sure you got 
$50 extra cash aid for every month 
the other parent paid on time. To get 
an accounting call 323-890-9800.

3. Money for Pregnant Women

After 6 months of pregnancy if you have 
no other children on CalWORKs, you may 
get a grant for one person plus an addi
tional $47. You get this money from the 
time your pregnancy is verified until the 
baby is born. Here are some other rules 
for the $47:
•	 Pregnant teens with no other children 

can get cash aid from the date of 
application with proof of pregnancy, 
but must go to Cal Learn. 

•	 If there are no other children, the father 
cannot get CalWORKs until the child 
is born, but he can get General Relief 
for himself, if eligible. 

•	 If you are undocumented, or receive 
SSI, and have no other children on 
CalWORKs, you must wait until the 
child is born to get benefits for the 
baby. Bring in proof of the baby’s 
birth such as a hospital certificate 
or a wristband.

4. Diversion Payments

Instead of receiving monthly cash aid you 
can apply for a large amount of money 
called a “diversion payment” to help you 
get or keep a job. To get it, you must be 
apparently eligible for CalWORKs, have 
a job or immediate job opportunity, and 
have an unexpected one-time need. For  
example, you could pay for car repairs 
or insurance, work tools or clothing, rent 
or utilities, license fees, or childcare ex-
penses.  If you get a diversion payment 
you may also get Medi-Cal, Cal-Fresh and 
supportive services. (see page 9 "Services 
To Help You.")

The usual  payment is up to the grant 
amount for your size family for three 
months or $2,000, whichever is larger. 
For a “compelling need.” you can get up 
to $4,000.  The diversion payment counts 
as  months of cash against  the  48 month 
life-time limit (amount of payment divided 
by monthly grant=months used up) After 
you get a diversion payment, you can still 
get cash aid if you need it.

Diversion payments must be paid to you  
within 5 days after the application, or 1 
day in an emergency. Starting work the 
next day is an example of an emergency.

 





What Can I Get?


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5. Foster Care 
(Someone Else's Children)

If you are caring for someone else’s chil-
dren, the child or children may qualify for 
Foster Care payments even if you are related 
to the children. Foster Care payments are 
higher than  CalWORKs cash aid. (see page 
22 Foster Care.) If a relative’s children live 
with you but do not get foster care, you 
should be able to get cash aid for them.

6. Domestic Violence

If you are a victim of domestic violence, or 
suffering effects of past domestic violence 
tell the worker right away, because there are 
specially trained workers available to assist 
you with the problems you or your children 
may have. Also, you may be excused from 
GAIN or have other eligibility rules waived 
such as the Maximum Family Grant rule. 

Let DPSS know if you need emergency or 
homeless assistance.  DPSS staff must 
act quickly to help you.

7. Special Help for the Disabled 

If you have a physical or mental disability 
that makes it hard for you to go through 
the regular application process, DPSS must 
give you special help. This might include: 
taking an application at your home, helping 
you fill out forms or reading all forms to 
you. Ask your worker for this help. If they 
won’t give it to you,  call Legal Services 
for help.   

8. Fingerprints

All adults (age 18 and over) and teen 
parents must be fingerprinted in order to 
apply for and get CalWORKs. If you refuse 
to be fingerprinted, your cash aid will be 
cut, but your children can get their cash 
aid. If you are scheduled for fingerprinting 
at a day that will not work for you, ask to 
reschedule.  
There is no longer a fingerprint requirement 
for CalFresh.  If you have a joint applica-
tion for CalWORKs and CalFresh, a refusal 
to comply with the CalWORKs fingerprint 
requirement cannot result in a denial of 
CalFresh benefits. 

9. Next Steps

Keep in touch with your DPSS eligibility 
worker and write down his or her name, 
phone number, and phone hours. If you 
are asked to mail additional papers to the 
welfare office, ask the worker for a stamped 
envelope addressed to him or her. 

If you take in papers, get a receipt. Keep 
your own copy of all the paperwork. If you 
need help and your worker is not available, 
the duty worker or supervisor must help 
you. You can also call the Help Line for 
your DPSS office.(see page 70) 

Within 45 days of when you turn in your 
application, you must either receive your 
first check, or a notice that you have been 
denied aid. If the DPSS denies your aid, 
they must send you a letter explaining the 
reason. Do not sign a “withdrawal” of your 
application unless you understand and 
agree with the written reason you are given.

10. Electronic Benefits Transfer 
“EBT” Card

DPSS will give you an EBT “electronic 
benefits transfer card” (Golden State AD-
VANTAGE) to use at banks, ATM machines 
and stores. If you are also getting CalFresh 
(food stamps), those benefits are accessed 
using the same card.

For CalWORKs, if the last digit of your 
case number is 1 to 3,  the money goes 
on your card the first day of the month; 4 
to 7, the second day of the month; and 8 
to 0, the third day of the month.  There 
is no charge for the first four “swipes” of 
the card each month, after that there is 
a 85¢ charge for each use. Some ATM 
machines will charge a fee of $1 or more 
to use the card. 

MoneyPass locations do not charge a fee. 
Ask your worker for a list of banks and 
ATMs near you that will not charge you a 
fee.  You can also go to www.ebt.ca.gov 
for locations of ATMs. 

GAIN participants may choose to have their 
payments for transportation issued through 
their EBT card or through a mailed check.

Call (877) 328-9677 right away if the card 
is stolen, lost, or destroyed.  You will not 
be charged for stolen aid after reporting 
the loss.

What Are The 

Requirements?

1. Reporting Every Six Months
Every six months you  must  report changes 
in income, property or the number of people 
in your household. You will also report once 
a year on a "SAR 7". Also once a year, you 
will fill out what is called a "redetermina-
tion". DPSS will mail you a SAR 7 report 
form. The form also asks you to report any 
changes you expect in the next six months.

You must turn in the SAR-7 even if there 
is no change to report. If you don’t get 
the SAR-7 in the mail  go to  DPSS to get 
another form and fill it out. 

 The completed, signed form is due back 
to DPSS on the fifth day of the last month 
of the six month period 

Some things need to be reported to the 
county before your next income report is 
due. This is called “mid-period reporting.”  

You must report these things within 10 
days:  
•	 Address changes, 
•	 fleeing felons 
•	 drug convictions, 
•	 parole or probation violations, 
•	 and if your income goes over the “in-

come reporting threshold (“IRT”).”  
The IRT is the amount of income that would 
reduce your aid or make your household 
ineligible for aid. DPSS will give you a 
form telling you your  IRT limit. DPSS 
counts the family’s  earned and unearned 
income to see if you are at this limit. For 
example a family of three  has an IRT of 
$1,861.00 per month. The family doesn’t 
have to report any change in income until 
the next report is due, unless it adds up 
to more than $1,861.00 . 

It is safest to drop your SAR-7 off at the 
DPSS office, and get a dated receipt to 
prove that you turned it in on time. But you 
can mail it in the postage-paid envelope. 
You can safely submit your SAR 7 online 
through YourBenefitsNow!.You can upload 
copies of pay stubs, bills, and receipts, 
and get a receipt right after you submit 
your report online.









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 If you mail in your SAR-7, be sure to at-
tach copies of pay stubs, bills and receipts 
to prove your information. It is wise to 
keep a copy of every piece of paper you 
give to DPSS. If the SAR-7 you turn in is 
incomplete, DPSS treats it as if it was not 
turned in at all.

If you do not turn in a SAR-7 report by the 
eleventh day of the reporting month, you 
will get a notice that your cash aid will 
stop. DPSS must also try to phone you to 
let you know they don’t have the SAR-7. 

If you get a notice that you are being 
terminated (your aid stopped) for not 
filling out a SAR-7, call your worker, go 
to the DPSS immediately, and fill out a 
new SAR-7 (or take in your receipt if you 
already submitted the SAR-7). 

If you submit a SAR-7 within the month 
following the discontinuance, you will not 
have to reapply but your eligibility and 
benefits will be determined by the date 
you turn in a complete SAR-7  unless you 
had a good reason (good cause).  

If you can show “good cause” your cash 
benefits will be restored back to the begin-
ning of the month. Good cause for turning 
the SAR-7 in late includes: 
•	 errors by DPSS, 
•	 a physical or mental condition that 

prevented you from being on time, 
•	 or not being able to provide all the 

necessary information. 

If you haven’t been able to work it out or 
haven’t heard from your worker, be sure to 
file for a fair hearing before the date your 
check is supposed to stop. This way you 
will not lose your cash aid (see pg. 66).

When you first apply, the amount of cash 
aid you get depends on how much your 
other income is at that time. What you 
report on your application will be used 
to determine what you get the next few 
months until your first SAR-7 is turned in.  
If your income goes down,  report it right 
away,  so your cash aid will go up.  You 
can do this by calling your worker. DPSS 
may ask you for proof that it has dropped. 

You won’t get aid if you’re in jail or out of 
the state for 30 days, but you should still 
report it, or they will charge you with an 
overpayment. 

4. Cooperate with Child Support 
Collection

Unless it could put you or your children in 
danger to do so, parents on cash aid must 
help (“cooperate with”) the Child Support 
Agency (”CSA”) to collect child support 
from any absent parent. You must provide 
information you have about the other parent 
such as name, an address or social security 
number, or place of employment.

The County keeps most of the child support 
it collects, up to the amount of the family’s 
cash aid.  You will get your CalWORKs grant 
plus an extra $50 per month for every month 
the other parent pays on time. Every quarter 
the CSA should give you an accounting of 
the child support they collected. Call (323) 
890-9800 to ask for this information. 
Parents will lose their share of cash aid if 
they refuse to sign over the child support 
to the county.

If you sign over your child support, but 
the Child Support Agency says you are not 
cooperating with them, your family’s aid 
can be cut 25%. 

Many people  have good cause for not co-
operating.  Good cause includes:
•	 You don’t know where the absent parent 

is, or have no other information about 
the other parent

•	 You are afraid of the absent parent, you 
or your children may be in danger, or 
you are a victim of domestic violence. 

•	 Rape or incest has occurred
•	 You are planning to place the child for 

adoption.

If your  worker at DPSS agrees that you have 
good cause, you will not have your cash aid 
cut. If you get a notice in writing that you are 
“not cooperating” and you think you have 
a good reason not to, and cannot resolve 
the issue by talking with your worker, ask 
for a fair hearing. (See Page 66 Hearings 
And Complaints.)

2. Rules for Families In Which 
Only Children Get Money

In some CalWORKs families, the children 
are recieving money but the adults are not. 
These are called "child only cases".If this 
is the case, you don't have to complete any 
written mid-period/mid-year reports, such 
as the SAR 7, You will still have to fill a 
written redetermination once a year. You 
may still have to complete reports every 
six months for CalFresh (food stamps.)

The following are CalWORKs cases that 
are considered "child only" cases:

•	 All adults that have reached the Cal-
WORKs 48-month time limit;
•	 The adult(s) is not eligible because of 
a fleeing felon status, or has been found 
by a court to be in violation of probation 
or parole;
•	 The adult(s) is not eligible for CalWORKs 
due to immigration status;
•	 The adult(s) is not eligible because of 
failure to provide a Social Security Number;
•	 The adult(s) is a CalWORKs non-needy 
relative (did not request CalWORKs as-
sistance);
•	 The adult(s) is receiving Supplemental 
Security Income; or
•	 The adult(s) is CalWORKs sanctioned 
due to refusal to assign child/spousal 
support rights.

If there is no adult recieving money be-
cause he/she chooses not to participant 
in welfare-to-work requirements, the case 
is not a "child only" case.

3. Report All Your Income And 
Gifts

You should be careful to report all income 
you get or changes in your family. The wel-
fare department will check bank, employer, 
and tax records to check your income, and 
accepts tips of suspected “welfare fraud” 
from the public.

There are serious penalties for individu-
als who either are convicted of fraud in 
court or found to have committed fraud 
at an administrative hearing. You may 
have to pay penalties and be disqualified 
from CalWORKs for six months or even a 
lifetime, depending on the seriousness of 
the fraud. You can also be arrested and 
face jail time.


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Services Worker (GSW).  If you have been 
in the U.S. less than 5 years and have legal 
immigrant status as a refugee or granted 
asylum, you are assigned to the Refugee 
Employment Program titled “REP”.

The GAIN program is a work-first program 
that provides employment-related ser-
vices to help you find employment, stay 
employed, and move to higher paying 
jobs which lead to self-sufficiency and 
independence.

There is a Welfare To Work 24-Month Time 
Clock (within the CalWORKs 48-month 
time limit). The WTW 24-Month gives 
you more activity options and requires 
fewer participation hours for single-adult 
families. 

During this 24 month period you can 
participate in several activities to keep 
getting cash aid including: 
•	 work 
•	 education 
•	 training 
•	 mental health, substance abuse, and/
or domestic abuse services. 
When your WTW 24-Month Time Clock runs 
out, you will have a shorter list of activi-
ties to choose to participate in to continue 
receiving the same amount of cash aid. 

The shorter list may include employment, 
work experience, and community service. 
Vocational education and training may also 
be allowed for up to one year after your 
WTW 24-Month Time Clock ends. Your 
county office will send you a notice before 
you reach the end of your WTW 24-Month 
Time Clock. They will provide you with the 
shorter list of activities to choose from, 
and instructions on what you will need to 
do next in order to continue receiving the 
same level of cash aid.

The months on your WTW 24 Month Time 
Clock may not be months that come in 
a row, but months added up over all the 
time you are getting aid.  Months in which 
the families meet the federal participation 
requirements do not count towards the 
WTW 24-Month Time Clock.  

Once your WTW 24-Month Time Clock 
ends, if you do not meet your new par-
ticipation requirements, your cash aid 
may be lowered and it may affect your 
supportive services.

5 Get Immunizations (“Shots”) 
For Your Children

When you apply for CalWORKs or at your 
annual redetermination, you must show 
proof that your children under age 6 have 
had their shots. You have 30 days from 
the approval of your Medi-Cal application 
(done at the same time as your CalWORKs 
application) or 45 days from your rede-
termination to submit the immunization 
record or doctor’s statement.
If you do not prove your children are im-
munized and do not have good cause (either 
lack of access or a sworn statement that 
immunization is against your religious or 
other beliefs), all cash aid to adults will 
be cut off until you provide the proof. 
The DPSS will extend the time period by 
30 days if you have not been able to find 
shots for free. You can call the County 
Health Department at (800) 427-8700 
to find free shots.

6.Keep School-Age Children in 
School

If your child is under 16 and not attend-
ing school regularly without good cause, 
the adult’s cash aid will be cut off. If your 
child is over 16 and not attending school, 
or welfare to work activities, without good 
cause, only that child’s aid will be cut. In 
either case, the cash grant will be restored 
when you prove to DPSS that the child is 
in school or has good cause. 

Work Requirements

As a CalWORKs recipient, you are required 
to participate in “Welfare-to-Work” (WTW) 
activities in order to stay on cash aid.  
Participation in WTW is mandatory for all 
CalWORKs participants unless you are 
exempt or have a “good cause” for non-
participation.
•	 Exemptions and “good cause” require 

documentation, verification, and ap-
proval of the Welfare-to-Work case 
manager.

•	 Exempt participants may volunteer to 
participate in WTW program services.

The welfare-to-work programs in Los An-
geles County are called GAIN and REP.  
“GAIN” (“Greater Avenues to Indepen-
dence”) is the main program for English 
and Spanish speaking participants.  If your 
primary language is not English or Spanish 
your welfare to work case will be handled 
by a program case manager, or a GAIN 

Your WTW 24-Month Time Clock Stops When:
•	 You are in appraisal, job search, as-
sessment, or in the process of developing 
a new WTW plan.
•	 You are meeting the required number 
of participation hours in certain activities. 
•	 You are in Cal-Learn.
•	 You are exempt from participating.
•	 The county determines that you have a 
good reason for not participating (called 
good cause).
•	 You are sanctioned.

1. Weekly Participation Hours

As of July 2014, the hours of participation 
are as follows:

#of Adults	 Average Weekly Hours
in Family 	 of Participation

Single-adult 
with a child 
under 6 years old............	20
Single-adult 
with no children 
under 6 years old............	30
Two-parent families 
(hours may be 
combined between 
both parents)..................	35

2. Getting Excused from GAIN 
(“Exempt” or “Good Cause”) 

You may be eligible to be exempt from 
GAIN or REP if you are: 
•	 A youth under 16 years old
•	 A youth from 16 to 18 in school full time
•	 Caring for a first child under 12 months 

old, or any later child under 6 months 
old

•	 Pregnant, and have medical verification 
that being pregnant harms your ability 
to participate or work

•	 Pregnant, and DPSS decides that work 
or training is not the right thing to 
do based on the medical verification

•	 A full time volunteer in the Volun-
teer in Service to America (VISTA) 
program.

Any months exempted for the following 
reasons do not count against the 48 month 
CalWORKs time clock:
•	 Disabled due to a physical or mental 

reason for 30 days or more
•	 60 years or older
•	 Taking care of an ill or disabled house-

hold member, only if DPSS agrees that 
this prevents you from participating 
in the program or working.









9 The People's Guide  2015

CalWORKs
think you have a mental health barrier 
to finding or keeping a job. You can 
also ask for a mental health evalua-
tion anytime by calling your eligibility 
worker or GAIN worker. 

After the evaluation, you can be referred 
to a mental health provider for treatment.  
The GAIN worker must  develop your 
welfare-to-work plan based on what your 
treatment provider recommends. 

You have the right to refuse any mental 
health treatment, but if you do, you can’t 
use mental health problems as a reason to 
not work or not participate in GAIN or REP.

Substance Use Disorder Services: You can 
ask for help with substance use disorder 
treatment at anytime by calling your eligi-
bility worker or GAIN worker. If you find it 
difficult to obtain or keep a job because of 
problems with alcohol or drugs, the DPSS 
worker can refer you to a substance use 
disorder clinical assessment. You may 
receive help through residential or day 
treatment: individual, group or family 
counseling; rehabilitation services: and 
health care information and referrals. You 
can continue getting these services as part 
of your Welfare-to-Work requirements while 
receiving cash aid.

You can go to a substance use disorder 
treatment program as the welfare to work 
activity. You have the right to refuse any 
substance use disorder treatment program 
as the welfare-to-work activity; however, 
if you do not go to a treatment program, 
you cannot use substance use disorder as 
a reason to not work or not participate in 
GAIN or REP.

Up to $1500 for Housing Relocation: If 
you are working or have a job offer for 20 
hours or more a week you can apply for 
Housing Relocation assistance to move 
closer to your job, your child care, or your 
transportation. This benefit is available 
only once in a lifetime. 

You must show that you either have a com-
mute of one hour or more each way to work 
or to child-care or a  combination of the 
two; or that there is no public transporta-
tion available at the time your work shift 
starts and ends. You must also show that 
you have located a place to live. Your new 
rent must be less than 60% of your Total 
Monthly Household Income.

You can also get up to $405 for a refrigera-
tor or stove if you need one because of the 
move, so the total can be $1,905. 

•	 Non-parent relative, or caretaker of a 
child who is a dependent, or a ward 
of the court, or at risk of being placed 
in foster care. DPSS must agree that 
this harms your ability to participate 
or work.

•	 One time only, you can use the exemp-
tion of caring for a child from newborn 
to 23 months old.

If you do not qualify for an exemption, you 
may have good cause that excuses you from 
doing something GAIN asks you to do. The 
48-month time limit is not stopped by 
good cause (see section below on domestic 
violence for exceptions). 

Good cause includes:
•	 Not getting supportive services you need 

(such as child care and transportation) 
to work or go to a GAIN or REP activity

•	 Child sick at home from school
•	 No transportation (for example your car 

broke down)
•	 You are homeless 

Domestic Violence Waiver:
DPSS can waive some of the CalWORKs 
rules for victims of domestic violence. For 
example they can stop the 48 month time 
clock, excuse you from going to GAIN, stop 
child support collections, or waive the 
maximum family grant rule. The violence 
can be something that happened in the 
past or in the present.
 
Exempt people can volunteer and get help.
You do not have to participate in GAIN or 
REP if you are excused or exempt. But you 
may volunteer to participate. As an exempt 
volunteer, you do not have to do the full 20 
hours each week, but you are subject to 
other requirements of GAIN participants. 
You can do as many or as few hours as 
you are able. DPSS must also pay you for 
services, like child care and money for 
transportation, tools, and books.

3. Learning Disabilities

All GAIN participants must be offered a 
learning disability (LD) screening. You can 
say you do not want the LD screening, 
but if you change your mind, you can ask 
for LD screening and evaluation anytime.  
If the evaluation shows you have a learning 
disability, your welfare-to-work plan must 
have activities that help you deal with 
your learning disability, such as tutoring 
or extra study time. DPSS must decide 
whether job search will be useful for you, 
or if your time limits should be extended.

If you have already been to assessment, 
went through GAIN or REP and failed to 
make satisfactory progress, you may have 
the clock stopped on your time limits  and 
changes must be made in your plan with 
special help offered to you.

Service To Help You

Separate from cash aid (CalWORKs 
checks), CalWORKs can help you pay for 
work-related and training-related costs 
both before and after the 48-month limit. 
It is sometimes wise to volunteer to partici-
pate in GAIN or REP after being excused 
in order to receive this money. 

At present the services include:
•	 Child care (see pg. 20)
•	 Transportation Money: bus fare, mileage 

payment,taxi or train money, or funds 
to fix a car to allow you to get to work 
or welfare to work activity. Usually 
GAIN and REP will give you money 
to buy a monthly bus pass. But, if it 
takes you more than one hour each 
way by bus, including walking time, 
to get to work (or other welfare to work 
activity). DPSS must  pay you mileage. 
The current rate is .525¢ a mile for 
the first 500 miles/month, and 15¢ 
for additional miles. You can also get 
paid for parking. 

•	 Money for tools, books, supplies,clothing, 
uniforms, and other necessary costs 
specifically required to partcipate in 
an approved Welfare to Work activity or 
to accept a job or keep a job. Tuition 
is not paid for. 

•	 Domestic Violence Counseling and Pro-
tection: Survivors of domestic violence 
can get special help through programs 
including emergency housing and 
safety planning, counseling, parent-
ing classes, and legal services that 
provide help with restraining orders 
and divorces. You do not need a police 
report or other documents. Your sworn 
statement is enough proof. Everything 
you tell the DPSS eligibility worker or 
GAIN worker will be kept secret to the 
extent of the law.

•	 Taxi Vouchers:  anyone in a domestic 
violence situation receiving Cal-
WORKs should be able to get taxi 
vouchers from the program assisting 
them if it will help keep them or their 
children safe.

•	 Mental Health Services: You should 
receive a mental health screening 
during orientation. Also, a DPSS 
worker can suggest to you that you go 
to a  mental health evaluation if they 


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GAIN and REP
Activities

1.	Appraisal

Soon after you apply for CalWORKs, you 
will receive an appointment letter to go 
to an Appraisal appointment.  This will 
most likely take one hour or longer. You 
will meet with your GAIN or REP worker 
in a one-on-one meeting where you will 
talk to your worker about your work and 
educational history and what kind of 
services you need to get back to work. If 
you have problems due to mental health, 
substance abuse, or domestic violence, 
tell your worker at this time so that you 
can get services immediately.  

Tell your worker if you are already enrolled 
in an education or training program. It 
might qualify as what they call a Self-
Initiated Program.  This will let you do the 
education and training as your welfare-to-
work activity instead of going through Job 
Club and the rest of the GAIN process.

2.	Job Club & Search

The first day of Job Club is called Orienta-
tion, during this day you will learn about the 
rules and regulations of the GAIN Program 
and they will try to give you motivation to 
find employment.

The first four weeks of GAIN are spent in 
Job Club and Job Search. You don’t have 
to do job search if:
•	 It would interfere with a full time job or 

approved training you already have, or
•	 You are in the Cal-Learn program or
•	 Doing a job search would not help you 

(example-you need basic English or 
literacy training first)

•	 You need other help with domestic 
violence, mental health, or substance 
abuse.

3.	Assessment

When unsubsidized employment is not 
found within the first three weeks of Job-
Club you will attend Vocational Assessment 
at mid-week of the fourth week.  A Voca-
tional Assessment will help identify your 
interests and strengths as well as determine 
if you have any barriers to finding and/or 
keeping employment. This information 
will help the Vocational Assessor develop 
a personalized Employment Plan.

  
Your personalized Employment Plan will 
identify the training, subsidized employ-
ment, on-the-job training, and other 
welfare-to-work activities needed to reach 
your employment goal.  

Stand Alone Assessment: Stand Alone 
Assessment is for participants who, dur-
ing their appraisal interview or after Job 
Club are:

•	 Employed full or part time
•	 In a Self Initiated Program (SIP)
•	 In need of a clinical assessment: or
•	 Post Employment Career Assessment 
for participants who find a full-time job of 
32/35 hours or more per week and request 
Post-Employment Services.

4. Your Welfare to Work Plan 
and Activities

After the assessment you will meet with 
your Worker, to sign a “welfare to work” 
plan in which you agree to go to welfare to 
work activities. The plan must be based on 
the assessment of your needs and skills. 
Your plan can include:
•	 Counseling
•	 education and training at adult schools 
or community colleges, 
•	 ESL,math or GED classes, 
•	 or other work activities that will help 
you reach your employment goal.  
All WTW participants are required to sign 
a Welfare-to-Work Plan, including those 
who are employed full-time.

5. Make Job Training Part of 
Your Welfare to Work Plan 

You can request that your Employment 
Plan includes any job skills training of-
fered by DPSS or other private or public 
agencies. You can request the Transitional 
Subsidized Employment program, in which 
you are paid to work at a non-profit agency 
(called Paid Work Experience) or you 
recieve On-the-Job Training at a for-profit 
business.DPSS, the community colleges, 
and adult schools may offer special job 
training programs for people with limited 
English-speaking skills. 

6. If You Don’t Agree On The 
Welfare to Work Plan

If you and the assessor can’t agree on 
the employment plan, you can request 
an independent “third party assessment” 
by another agency. DPSS must let you 
know about the third party assessor when 

you disagree and must help you with the 
request. You and DPSS will be bound by 
what this independent assessor decides.  
If you disagree with the result of the third 
party assessment, you may request a fair 
hearing (see pg.66).

If you still think your welfare to work plan 
will not work for you, you have these op-
tions: 
•	 Ask for a change within the first three 

days from the date you signed the plan.
•	 If you have already begun an activity, 

you have 30 days to request a change 
to another activity. Your worker must 
grant your request if the other activ-
ity is consistent with your plan and 
likely to lead to employment. You can 
request for this grace period only once.

7. Self-Initiated Programs (SIP) 
For Students

Self-Initiated Programs (SIP) is a college 
or vocational program you chose and 
began on your own before your first GAIN 
appointment (appraisal).  If on the date 
of your GAIN appraisal you have already 
enrolled in either an undergraduate degree 
or certificate program for school or train-
ing, your education or training may count 
as your GAIN activity.  If you already have 
a 4-year college degree, you cannot do a 
SIP unless it is for a teaching credential.

To continue in a SIP you must be making 
satisfactory progress toward a degree or 
certificate that leads to employment.

If your approved SIP is interrupted because 
of a good reason, such as illness, you can 
go back to that program later, so long 
as you were in good standing when you 
left.  If your self initiated program takes 
less than the required number of hours a 
week, you must also participate in other 
welfare to work activities to get to the total 
required number of weekly participation 
hours.(See pg. 8 )

8. Help To Keep The Job—Post 
Employment Services 

Once you have found a job, GAIN can still 
help you with money for  transportation , 
training,  tools, uniforms, and similar costs. 
Also you may be able to get  two years of 
child care payments. You must ask for  this 
money to get it. 
Transitional CalFresh and Medi-Cal: You 
can continue to get Medi-Cal and CalFresh 
(food stamps) when you leave CalWORKs. 
DPSS should send you a notice explaining 
how this works.



















11 The People's Guide  2015

CalWORKs
Time Limit Rules 

After 48 Months
Most adults can only receive 48   months 
(4  years) of cash aid from  CalWORKs for 
their whole life. This does not have to be 
48  months in a row. After the adult has 
been aided 48  months, their part of the 
grant is cut, but their children can still get 
aid. There is no 48 -month limit if all adult 
parents or caretaker relatives in the home 
of the aided child meet any of these tests:
•	 60 years or older
•	 Disabled, receiving State Disability  
Insurance, Temporary Workers’ Compensa-
tion, In-Home Supportive Services or SSI, 
and unable to work or go to GAIN
•	 Not able to go to GAIN or employment 
because of an “impairment,” for example 
a learning disability or chronic mental ill-
ness. You cannot have broken any GAIN 
rules to qualify for this, or you must show 
that you were in GAIN for either six months 
straight or a total of six months over two 
years.
•	 There are no local jobs that accom-
modate your disabilities
•	 You are a non-parent relative taking care 
of a child “at risk of foster care placement” 
and that responsibility restricts your ability 
to go to GAIN or employment. Example, if 
you are a grandparent under age 60 who 
cannot both be regularly employed and 
care for the child,  DPSS can continue 
your CalWORKs aid rather than having the 
child enter foster care.
•	 You are a domestic abuse survivor who 
cannot participate in CalWORKs because 
of the abuse. You do not have to currently 
be in a domestic abuse  situation.  You 
will also qualify if you are suffering from 
the effects of past abuse and the effects 
limit your ability to go to GAIN or work.

You only need to tell your worker (“self-
declare”) to qualify; no other proof, not 
even  a police report, is required. Your 
time will be extended for as long as you 
continue to suffer from the effects of the 
abuse or are in danger of more violence.

Clock Stoppers or Exemptions

Apply for an exemption to “stop the clock” 
for any months which should not have 
been counted in your 48 -month limit. 
Your request should be in writing, but 
can be verbal.   

DPSS has to send you a written  decision 
within 15 days of the request (unless 
something happens that is beyond the 
DPSS’s control). If you disagree with the 
decision you may request a state fair hear-
ing.  DPSS is required to research your 
available case records before asking you 
to provide  information or documentation 
which they already have in the files. 

Clock stoppers include:
•	 Sanctioned or No Check—Any month 
you do not get a CalWORKs cash aid 
payment for yourself including  if you are 
sanctioned that month, or you are caring 
for an aided child but not aided yourself
. 
•	 Disabled—Any month you are sick, dis-
abled, or injured for 30 days or more and 
it interferes with going to work or GAIN. 
You may be required to provide a doctor’s 
report.  This includes mental and physical 
illness. 

•	 Caring For a Sick Family Member—Any 
month you are caring for an ill or disabled 
person living in the home and that caretak-
ing interfered with regular employment or 
participation in GAIN activities.

•	 Foster Child Placement or Risk of Place-
ment—Any month you are a non-parent 
relative taking care of a child who is a 
dependent ward of the court or “at risk of 
foster care placement” and that responsi-
bility interfered with regular employment or 
participation in GAIN activities. This can 
exempt, for example, a grandparent under 
age 60 who could not both be regularly 
employed and care for the child.

•	 Domestic Violence—Any month you 
cannot participate in CalWORKs as a result 
of domestic abuse. You do not have to cur-
rently be in a domestic abuse situation. 
You also qualify if you are suffering from 
the effects of past abuse. You only need to 
tell your worker [“self-declare”] to qualify; 
no other proof, not even a police report, is 
required.

•	 Age 60 or over— Any month  the  parent 
or caretaker relative is 60 years or older.

•	 Child Support Repaid—All child support 
paid to the County by an absent parent 
takes time off your clock.  Ask the County 
Child Support Division (800) 615-8858 
to provide you with an accounting of the 
amount of child support they have col-
lected on your behalf during the 48 -month 
period. Then ask your GAIN worker or fill 
out and submit an exemption form to find 
out how many months of credit you get for 
the child support that was paid.

•	 Teen Parent—Any month you are a teen 
parent or pregnant, under age 19, do not 
yet have a GED or high school diploma, 
and either participate in or are excused 
from Cal Learn or another teen parent 
program approved by the DPSS. You can 
be excused from Cal Learn in any month in 
which you can show the DPSS you do not 
have necessary childcare or transportation, 
you are sick, disabled, or expelled and an 
alternative school program is not available.  
You can’t use Cal Learn as a clock-stopper 
after you get the GED or diploma. 

•	 Native American—You are a Native 
American who lives in “Indian Country,” 
or on a reservation if 50% or more of the 
adults there are unemployed.

In a family with two aided parents, both 
adults must meet one of the above clock 
stoppers for the month not to count. 


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What Are The Penalties if I 

Don't Follow the Rules?

If you don’t follow the GAIN or REP re-
quirements and don’t have a good reason 
(“good cause,”) DPSS will cut your cash 
aid. Your children’s cash aid will not be 
cut. In some cases both parents can have 
their cash aid cut. 
DPSS can cut your part of the CalWORKs 
grant if they can show that you have:
•	 Failed or refused to participate in your 
assigned activity
•	 Failed to make good progress in your 
assigned activity
•	 Failed or refused to accept a job
•	 Failed or refused to keep a job
•	 Failed to keep the same amount of 
earnings

DPSS must try to contact you and give you 
a chance to comply. If you fail to comply, 
DPSS will send you a “Notice of Action” 
no sooner than 30 days before the cut in 
aid will take place. They will give you an 
appointment within 20 days to discuss the 
problem with your worker. 
It is very important for you to go to this 
meeting or call your worker to explain. You 
also have the right to ask for a fair hearing 
if you can’t work it out with your worker.

Your part of the grant will be cut until 
DPSS agrees that you are complying with 
the rules.
Your cash aid cannot be cut if you have 
good cause for refusing to comply.

“Good cause”  includes: 
•	 You are homeless 
•	 You are a victim of domestic violence 
•	 You were ill, or caring for a sick member 
of the family
•	 Your mental illness prevented you from 
doing what was asked of you
•	 You need child care for a child 12 years 
or younger and none is available
•	 Transportation is not available to your 
job or GAIN activity
•	 There was discrimination at the job 
or training offered in terms of age, sex, 
race, religion, national origin, or physical 
or mental disability
•	 The job or job offer exceeded the daily 
or weekly hours of work customary for that 
job
•	 You can only get to the activity by walk-
ing and you have to walk more than two 
miles round trip, not counting the distance 
needed to take children to school or child 
care

•	 The job or activity violates health and 
safety standards or does not provide 
worker’s compensation
•	 Accepting the job or work activity would 
interrupt an approved job or training pro-
gram that you have in progress
•	 The job or community service would 
result in regular employees being fired, 
laid off, or having their hours or pay cut.
•	 Any other good reason.
During a sanction you continue to get 
childcare for the hours that you work. Your 
Medi-Cal must also continue.

Teen Parents

If you are a teenager under 18 who is 
pregnant or who already has a child, has 
never been married, and you apply for 
CalWORKs, you must live with your own 
parent or parents, a guardian, another 
adult relative, or in an adult-supervised 
arrangement in order to qualify.

There are exceptions, if:
•	 You have no living parent or guardian, 
or their whereabouts are unknown
•	 Your parents will not allow you to live 
with them,
•	 You lived apart from your parents for 
at least 12 months before your child was 
born, or before you applied for 
•	 CalWORKs
•	 You believe your child’s or your physi-
cal or emotional health or safety would be 
in danger if you lived with these adults. 
In this situation DPSS should refer your 
case to the Minor Parent Program of the 
Department of Children and Family Ser-
vices (DCFS). A DCFS social worker will 
visit your current home and decide if it is 
appropriate for you and your child.

If you live at home, your parents’ income 
will be counted against you and your child 
when you apply.

Is There Help for Homeless 

Families?

If your family is homeless, or has received 
a notice to pay or quit, the DPSS can give 
you money for temporary shelter and to 
help with move-in costs to a permanent 
home or to avoid being evicted. The money 
is in addition to your CalWORKs cash aid 
and does not have to be paid back. To 
apply you must be 
•	 homeless or have received a notice to 
pay rent or quit
•	 eligible for CalWORKs
•	 and not have more than $100. 

You are “homeless” if you have no regular, 
permanent place to live for any reason. You 
do not have to stay in a shelter to prove 
that you are homeless. You may be asked 
to prove that you are homeless, but money 
cannot be denied or delayed if you do not 
have proof. It is against the law for any 
government agency to take children away 
from parents for being homeless unless 
there is evidence of abuse or neglect. 
Homelessness by itself is not child abuse 
or neglect.

Usually you can get this homeless assis-
tance aid only once in a lifetime. However, 
a family can get help more than once if 
the cause is:
•	 Domestic violence by a spouse, partner, 
or roommate
•	 A physical or mental illness (but not 
including drug addiction or alcoholism) 
and you have a written doctor’s note. 
•	 A fire or natural disaster or your home 
was condemned, or some other unusual 
circumstance beyond your control.

1. Temporary Shelter Money

You can get money for up to 16 consecu-
tive days to stay in a hotel or shelter. You 
cannot use this money to pay to stay with 
a friend. You will get $65 to $125 per 
day to pay for shelter, depending on your 
family size. If you find some place for less 
money than they give you, you can keep 
the extra money. 

You must show receipts to prove that you 
have paid something for shelter. (If you 
cannot show receipts, you can still get 
homeless aid money but it will be paid 
directly to the hotel or shelter). You will 
also have to fill out a form showing that you 
have looked for a permanent place to live 
for each day that you received the shelter.  
If eligible, DPSS should help you the 


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same day you apply, either by giving you a 
referral to a specific shelter with room for 
you or by giving you cash that day. If they 
refer you to a shelter, they must give you 
temporary shelter money by the next day.

Even if you decide not to go to the shelter, 
you should ask for  money for as many 
nights as you need, but it has to be during 
a single 16-day period. (For example, you 
cannot get a week now and another week 
two months from now.) If you needed but 
did not receive all 16 days of temporary 
homeless assistance, request a hearing to 
collect it retroactively. After the 16 days are 
over, make sure to provide your worker with 
a mailing address (even if only temporary) 
within 10 days. 

2. Money to Get and Keep     
Permanent Housing

You can also get money to cover the actual 
cost of security and utility deposits includ-
ing the “last month’s rent” deposit, and 
gas, electricity, and water deposits. The 
DPSS will not pay for the first month’s 
rent, though, or old overdue utility bills 
because you must pay that from your 
CalWORKs cash aid.  

The DPSS will not pay unless you find a 
place where your share of the monthly rent 
is not more than 80% of your total monthly 
household income.

If you plan to share your housing, the 
landlord must agree to the rent-share plan. 
DPSS will question the housing unless your 
name is on the lease.
 
If you are a CalWORKs participant now 
you must be given this permanent hous-
ing assistance within one working day of 
showing that you have found a place and 
provided all the necessary documents to get 
the assistance. If you are not yet receiving 
CalWORKs benefits, you must first bring in 
the documents you need to prove you are 
eligible for CalWORKs, and proof that you 
have found a place (like a note from the 
landlord or a proposed rental agreement).
When you pay your landlord, get a receipt 
to give to your worker within 30 days. If 
you later move, the landlord and/or the 
utility companies should return the security 
deposits to you, not to the County, to use 
at your next residence. 

You can also get Permanent Housing As-
sistance to receive up to 2 months of back 
rent to prevent eviction. Each month of 
this back rent cannot be more than 80% 
of the total monthly household income. 
Call Legal Aid  for details (pg. 68)

3. Emergency Assistance to Pre-
vent Eviction (EAPE) Program

If you are at risk of losing your home 
because you didn't pay the rent due to a 
financial hardship (not for any other lease 
or contract violation), EAPE can give you 
money to pay back rent and/or utilities 
up to two months behind so that you can 
continue living there. To be eligible for 
EAPE you must be approved for CalWORKs 
and working full-time or enrolled and 
actively participating in GAIN, or "timed 
off" CalWORKs and participating in GAIN 
Post-Time Limit Services, AND show that 
you are going through a financial hardship 
that could result in homelessness if help 
is not given. Once the worker verifies you 
are eligible you can get up to $2,000 to 
pay past due rent and/or utilities for up 
to two months. You must agree to pay  a 
portion of the past due rent and/or utilities. 
EAPE money does not pay for the present 
month rent and utilities---unless you have 
received a pay or quit notice for the current 
month's rent.

4. Moving Assistance (MA) 
Program

MA can give you money to help you secure 
a permanent place to live. To qualify you 
must be approved for CalWORKs, work-
ing full-time, or enrolled and actively 
participating in GAIN, or timed out from 
CalWORKs and participating in  GAIN 
Post-Time Limit Services, AND:    
be homeless or be at risk of being home-
less (you already got an eviction notice or 
3-day notice), or you can show that you 
have a financial hardship that will result in 
your being homeless if you don't get help.  

If you are already homeless, you must 
have used up all other assistance such 
as Homeless Assistance to get MA. Once 
the worker verifies you are eligible you can 
get up to $2,000 as a once in a lifetime 
payment for move-in costs like deposits, 
last month's rent, truck rental, and a stove 
and/or refrigerator if the new place doesn't 
have one. Like Homeless Assistance, you 
must find a place where your family's share 
of the rent is not more than 80% of the 
total monthly household income. Timed-
out families can also get two months of 
the adult portion of the reduced grant 
(included within the $2,000).

5. 4-Month Rental Assistance 
(RA) Program

If you just found a permanent place to live 
with the help of Homeless Assistance or 
Moving Assistance, RA can help you get up 
to $300 per month (based on family size) 
for four consecutive months to help pay 
your rent. RA is for families who cannot 
get subsidized housing (e.g., a Section 8 
voucher). The payments are made out to 
the landlord. 

To qualify you must be eligible for Per-
manent Move-In Money from Homeless 
Assistance and/or Moving Assistance and 
have a signed rental agreement securing 
non-subsidized permanent housing within 
the past 30 days of the time you request RA: 
or you found non-subsidized permanent 
housing and have requested Permanent 
Housing/Moving Assistance. 

To be eligible, you must be one of the 
following:
•	 Be CalWORKs approved and working 

full-time or enrolled and actively 
participating in GAIN; or

•	 Be timed out from CalWORKs and 
enrolled and actively participating in 
GAIN Post-Time Limit Services 




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 Job and Career Training
Hundreds of organizations in LA County 

offer help in job training. Beware of pri-
vate employment agencies that charge 
you fees for finding a job. Many encour-
age you to pay the tuition with expensive 
student loans that can ruin your credit. 
Use free or low cost services instead.

1. Workforce Investment Boards

Workforce Investment Board (WIB) of-
fices use government money to help you 
with job training and placement. Local 
WIB offices, also called One-Stop Work-
Source Centers, are located at different 
places across the city and provide com-
puters, faxes, copiers, and job listings to 
help you look for work. The law requires 
that they also provide you with career 
counseling, money for transportation 
and childcare, as well as possibly paying 
for quality job training that leads to a 
job. Call Legal Aid (see "Good Advice", 
pg. 68) if you have any troubles getting 
these services.

City-wide: (213) 744-7164
TTY 213 744-9395
lacitywlb@lacity.org
County-wide: (213) 738-2598
www.worksourcecalifornia.com

2. Community Colleges
Community colleges offer an opportunity 
to anyone who wants to obtain a career 
or transfer to a 4 year university. 
Cerritos 11110 Alondra Blvd., 90650
562-860-2451  www.cerritos.edu
Compton- 1111 E. Artesia Blvd,90221
310-900-1600  district.compton.edu
El Camino- 16007 Crenshaw Blvd
310-532-3670	 www.elcamino.edu
Glendale- 1500 N. Verdugo Rd, 91208
818-240-1000	 www.glendale.edu
Long Beach- 4901 E. Carson St.
562-938-4111	 www.lbcc.edu
Los Angeles (9 districts) 
770 Wilshire Blvd
213-891-2000	 www.laccd.edu
Mt. San Antonio-1100 N. Grand Ave, 
909-274-7500	 www.mtsac.edu
Pasadena- 1570 E. Colorado Blvd.
626-585-7123	 www.pasadena.edu
Rio Hondo- 3600 Workman Mill Rd.
562-692-0921	 www.riohondo.edu
Santa Clarita-26455 Rockwell Cyn Rd.
661-259-7800	 www.canyons.edu
Santa Monica- 1900 Pico Blvd., 90405
310-434-4000	 www.smc.edu


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3. Occupational Programs

Offers education and job training in 
technical and occupational programs.  
Contact Los Angeles County Regional 
Occupational Program, (562) 922-6850 
or visit www.lacorop.org

4. Adult Schools

Adult schools can help you get your high 
school diploma or GED, learn English 
as a second language (ESL), provide 
you with computer training and job        
readiness classes, and many other     
certificate courses. For information:
•	  L.A. Unified School District
	 (213) 62-LEARN (213-625-3276),
•	  L.A. County Office of Education
	 (562) 922-6111

5. Other Job Training

•	  AmeriCorps (800) 942-2677
	 www.americorps.org
•	  Job Corps (ages16-24) 
	 (800) 733-5627
•	 Homeboy Industries 
	 (323) 526-1254

Chrysalis can help low income individuals 
including those who are homeless or have 
just come out of prison find temporary and 
permanent work opportunities 
For more information: 
•	 Los Angeles (213) 806-6300
•	 Santa Monica (310) 401-9400
•	 Pacoima (818) 794-4200
www.changelives.org

6. Department of Rehabilitation

The state Department of Rehabilitation 
provides a wide range of services for 
people with physical, mental, or emo-
tional disabilities (including substance 
abuse problems) who want to become 
more independent and/or self-support-
ing. Many services are free for those who 
qualify. 

Services available include vocational 
counseling and training; job placement; 
medical treatment; money for tuition 
and books; necessary tools; car modifi-
cations; money for transportation; reader 
and interpreter services: and services for 
family members (such as driving lessons 
or counseling.)

If you experience problems with Depart-
ment of Rehabilitation contact the 
Disability Rights California Client Assis-
tance Program at (800) 776-5746/ TTY 
line (800) 719-5798. You can also visit:
www.disabilityrightsca.org/pubs/Publica-
tionsClientAssistanceProgram.htm

Antelope Valley: (661) 945-3502
(661) 942-6694 (TTY)
Van Nuys / Foothill: (818) 901-5024
(818) 901-5086 (TTY)
Glendale: (818) 551-2141
Santa Clarita: (661) 799-1020
(661) 799-1024 (TTY)
West Valley: (818) 596-4302
(818) 596-0196 (TTY)
El Monte: (626) 572-2336
(626) 572-2481 (TTY)
Pasadena: (626) 304-8300
(626) 304-8324 (TTY)
West Covina: (626) 813-7662
(626) 939-9122 (TTY)
Greater Los Angeles: (213) 736-3904
(213) 736-3960 (TTY)
Bell: (323) 771-0866
Mid Cities Branch
(323) 565-1860
(323) 565-1874 (TTY)
Culver City: (310) 559-6140
Westchester: (323) 298-2500
(323) 298-2521 (TTY)
South Bay: (562) 422-8325
(562) 422-9276 (TTY)
Bay Cities: (310) 793-1157
(310) 793-8610 (TTY)
Compton Branch: (310) 637-1151
(310) 637-6526 (TTY)
Long Beach Branch: (562) 422-8325
(562) 422-9276 (TTY)
Pacific Gateway: (310) 217-6955
City of Commerce: (323) 720-4073
(323) 721-5142 (TTY)
East Los Angeles: (323) 223-2315
(323) 224-6068 (TTY)
Norwalk: (562) 864-8521


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During bad economic times or when 
there are high unemployment rates, 
the maximum benefit period is usually 
extended. Check the EDD website www.
edd.ca.gov for updated information.
Employers report wages to the state 
for each employee. The state uses this 
information to decide if you earned 
enough wages in a “base period” to 
establish a UI claim, and how much will 
be paid.  

Always tell the truth to the EDD about 
why you are no longer working for your 
last employer.  When in doubt as to 
whether you were fired or laid off, tell 
EDD you think you were fired. Even if 
you were fired, you may still be eligible 
for benefits.  

After you apply and are approved, EDD 
will give you a debit card and give you 
payments through it.
You are required to file a Continued 
Claim Certification form, DE 4581, 
every two weeks. You file this form by 
mailing it to EDD every two weeks, or 
you can complete it online through EDD 
Web-Cert (that's recommended as the 
better way), on the EDD website www.
edd.ca.gov. You can also call (866) 
433-4606.

If you are denied benefits and decide to 
appeal,  you must keep filing your forms 
with EDD so that if you win the appeal, 
EDD can give you back benefits.

If the state thinks you did not meet eli-
gibility requirements, they will schedule 
a telephone interview. After the phone 
interview, EDD will mail you a notice 
indicating whether or not you qualify for 
benefits.

2. Appeal Your  Denial 

If you disagree with the EDD decision, 
you should appeal and ask for a hearing 
in writing before the appeal deadline. 
Your past employer also has a right to 
appeal a decision by EDD to grant you 
benefits.

At the hearing, an administrative law 
judge will consider the evidence, includ-
ing your testimony, and decide whether 
you should get benefits.

Even if you are fired or if you quit, you 
may be eligible for benefits.  If EDD says 
that you were fired for misconduct or 
that you quit without a good reason, you 
can appeal it. To show that your  actions 
were not misconduct, you can argue 
that you made a mistake,  simply could 
not do the job, or that the action was 
an isolated occurrence. Also if you can 
show you had a good reason to quit a 
job you can get UIB.  Call legal services 
for help. If you appeal keep filing your 
forms with EDD!  If you win the appeal, 
you can get back benefits.
 
Besides unemployment benefits and 
State Disability Insurance (SDI), the 
EDD offers California Training Benefits 
(CTB)  which allows qualified persons to 
receive unemployment benefits while in 
approved training. 

1. Dealing with Problems

If you have a problem at work and are a 
member of a union, contact your union 
representative. He or she can advise 
you about dealing with your employer or 
about contacting the right government 
office. To find out about unions, or to get 
in touch with an organizer, call the L.A. 
County Federation of Labor (AFL-CIO) 
(213) 381-5611.  www.launionaflcio.org

1. How to Apply

You may be eligible to receive unem-
ployment insurance (UI) benefits from 
the Employment Development Depart-
ment (EDD) if you are unemployed, or 
working less than full time, and are 
actively looking for work. If you are 
attending an approved training course 
you are not required to look for work, or 
accept work while in training.  
•	 Apply online at: 
	 www.eapply4ui.edd.ca.gov
•	 Or call: (800) 300-5616  

A recorded message about general un-
employment insurance benefit informa-
tion is available 24 hours a day, 7 days 
a week, including holidays.  You can 
file claims at the same number Monday 
through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  
On the EDD website www.edd.ca.gov you 
can also manage extensions, certify for 
benefits online, and get useful informa-
tion.  

An individual who files for unemploy-
ment insurance benefits must meet 
specific eligibility requirements before 
benefits can be paid. Individuals must: 

•	 Have received enough wages during 	
	 the “base period” to establish a claim
•	 Be totally or partially unemployed
•	 Be unemployed through no fault of 	
	 their own (Laid off, not fired for “mis	
	 conduct” or having quit for a good 
reason)
•	 Be physically able to work
•	 Be available for work which means to 	
	 be ready and willing to immediately 	
	 accept suitable work
•	 Be actively looking for work
•	 Meet eligibility requirements each 	
	 week benefits are claimed
•	 If you are seeking training 
benefits,you must be approved for train-
ing before training benefits can be paid

The minimum weekly benefit amount is 
$50 and the maximum weekly ben-
efit amount is $450.00. The normal 
maximum benefit period is 26 weeks.  

This chapter tells you where to get assistance if you lose your job:how to get help if you have
 problems on the job: and where to get aid if you are temporarily disabled and cannot work.

Worker's Rights  and Unemployment
Worker's Rights





Unemployment Benefits

If You Are Employed
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Worker's Rights
2. Wage Claims

You can file a wage claim with the Labor 
Commissioner for any amount owed to 
you (or in Small Claims Court for up to 
$10,000) if your employer does any of 
the following: 

•   Pays less than the minimum wage, 
which is $9.00 per hour. (It will in-
crease to $10 per hour on January 1, 
2016). Some workers do not have to be 
paid minimum wage, including minors
•   Does not pay overtime. Overtime 
means time-and-a-half of your hourly 
rate if you work more than 40 hours in 
a week OR more than 8 hours a day. 
Overtime means double-your hourly rate 
if you work more than 12 hours in a day 
OR more than 8 hours on the 7th day of 
a work in a row.
•   Takes improper deductions from your 
pay
•   Does not pay you all wages owed im-
mediately upon discharge or within 72 
hours if you quit and don’t give 3 days 
notice.
•   After you lose your job, does not pay  
vacation time that you were promised 
and  have earned.
•   Does not pay wages owed or pays you 
with a check that bounces
•   Does not give you at least 10 min-
utes rest break for every 4 hours work or 
a meal break of at least a half hour with-
out interruptions, which can be unpaid, 
if you work at least a 5 hour shift. You 
may be entitled to “one additional hour 
of pay” for each meal and rest period 
violation per day. 

You may also claim waiting time penal-
ties. These penalties consist of your 
daily pay for each day after separa-
tion from work that you have to wait to 
receive all wages owed to you, up to 
30 days. Wages include regular pay, 
overtime, vacation pay, and pay for not 
getting rest or meal  breaks.  

Free Wage Claim Clinics (for assistance 
with your case):
Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles 
(800) 399-4529 
Neighborhood Legal Services 
(800) 433-6251  

To reach the Labor Commissioner’s office 
about wage claims:
State Industrial Relations Department, 
Labor Standards Enforcement,
320 W. 4th Street, Suite 450. 
LA,90012. (213) 620-6330. 
Van Nuys:6150 Van Nuys Blvd. # 206
Van Nuys, 91401  (818) 901-5315. 
www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE

The federal Department of Labor has an 
office that also helps people with similar 
problems. Its services are more limited. 
However, you can file an anonymous 
complaint with them to avoid retaliation 
by your employer. 
Department of Labor, 
915 Wilshire Blvd., Ste 960, LA, 90017  
(866) 487-9243.

3. Discrimination
Itis illegal to discriminate against work-
ers because of their race/color, sex, 
religion, national origin, citizenship, 
age, disability, political affiliation, or 
sexual orientation. It is also illegal to 
require sexual favors from an employee 
(sexual harassment). If you believe you 
have been discriminated against, you 
should first try to talk with an attorney 
who specializes in these cases.  

You can file a complaint, even if you do 
not have an attorney, with either: 
The California Department of Fair Em-
ployment Housing, 320 W 4th St. 10th 
Floor, Los Angeles CA 90013, (800) 
884-1684, www.dfeh.ca.gov:
Or:
Federal Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission 255 E. Temple, Fourth 
Floor, LA, CA 90012. (213) 894-1000 
www.eeoc.gov

They will investigate your complaint and 
may be able to help solve your problem. 
If your case requires court action, you 
will be given a letter authorizing you to 
file a lawsuit. 




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4. Work Safety

Employers are required to provide safe, 
healthy work areas. If you are asked to 
work under unsafe or unhealthy condi-
tions, a state agency can investigate 
your complaint, and your employer may 
be fined for violating the law. Contact 
the California Occupational Health and 
Safety Administration (Cal/OSHA) office 
nearest your work. Visit www.dir.ca.gov/
dosh/DistrictOffices.htm. 

5. Sick Leave

A new California law provides that em-
ployees can accrue one hour of paid sick 
leave for every 30 hours they work. The 
law begins July 1, 2015 and applies to 
employees who have worked for at least 
30 days within a year from the time they 
began their employment.

You can begin using sick leave on the 
90th day of employment, and any paid 
sick leave not used within the year car-
ries over to the next year . An employer 
can limit you to 24 hours (three full 
days) of sick leave in any one year 
period.

Sick leave can be used to care for your-
self, but also family members, and can 
be used for reasons other than illness, 
including preventative care, and issues 
related to domestic violence, sexual as-
sault and stalking. An employer cannot 
require you to find a replacement worker 
as a condition of using paid sick leave. 

In cases where you can foresee that 
you will need to use sick leave, you are 
required to provide reasonable advance 
notice. Otherwise you can just provide 
notice as soon as it is practical.

6. Groups That Can Help

These organizations and websites can 
help you learn more about your rights in 
the workplace

9 to 5 Los Angeles Working Women
provides free counseling and resources
(213) 201-7029
National Helpline (800) 522-0925

www.martindale.com--Research at-
torneys who can help with work related 
issues
www.canmybossdothat.org


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If You Are Disabled
You may not be eligible for SDI benefits 
if you:
•    Are not suffering a loss of wages:
•    Are claiming or receiving Unemploy-
ment Insurance.
•   Became disabled while committing a 
crime resulting in a felony conviction.
•   Are receiving workers’compensation 
benefits at a weekly rate equal to or 
greater than the SDI rate.
•   Are in jail or prison because you were 
convicted of a crime.
•   Are a resident in an alcoholic recov-
ery home or drug-free home, unless it is 
licensed and certified by the state
•   Fail to submit to an independent 
medical examination when requested to 
do so.
If you do not have sufficient base period 
wages and you remain disabled, you 
may be able to establish a valid claim by 
using a later beginning date. 

If you do not have enough base period 
wages and you were actively seeking 
work for 60 days or more in any quarter 
of the base period, you may be able to 
substitute wages paid in prior quarters.

Additionally, you may be entitled to 
substitute wages paid in prior quarters 
either to make your claim valid or to 
increase your benefit amount if during 
your base period you were in the military 
service, received workers’ compensation 
benefits, or did not work because of a 
labor dispute.

You have the right to appeal, and should 
appeal any disqualification, overpay-
ment, or penalty that you do not agree 
with. Specific instructions on how to ap-
peal will be provided on the state forms 
you receive. If you file an appeal and 
you remain disabled, you must continue 
to complete and return continued claim 
certifications. 

For residents in a state-approved alco-
holic recovery home or drug-free resi-
dential facility, the maximum payable 
period is 90 days. (However, disabilities 
related to or caused by acute or chronic 
alcoholism or drug abuse which are 
being medically treated do not have this 
limitation). 

1. State Disability Insurance

If you cannot work for a temporary 
period  because of an illness, injury, 
or pregnancy, you may be able to get 
state disability insurance benefits 
(SDI). These benefits range from $50 to 
$1075.00 per week depending on your 
earnings in a prior quarter, and can last 
up to one year (39 weeks for employers 
and self-employed people who elected 
SDI coverage). 

You must be unable to do your regular 
or customary work for at least eight 
consecutive days. You must have lost 
wages because of your disability or, if 
unemployed, have been actively looking 
for work. You must have earned at least 
$300 from which SDI deductions were 
withheld during a previous period. You 
must be under the care and treatment 
of a doctor during the first eight days 
of your disability. (The beginning date 
of a claim can be adjusted to meet this 
requirement.) You must remain under 
care and treatment to continue receiving 
benefits. 

You must apply within 49 days of the 
date you became disabled or you may 
lose benefits. You do not need to apply 
in person to receive benefits. 
If your disability prevents you from 
completing the claim form, or you are 
filing for benefits on behalf of a disabled 
claimant, call (800) 480-3287 for 
required forms and instructions. 

You must also ask your doctor to com-
plete and sign the “Physician Practi-
tioner's Certificate.” If your doctor will 
mail your completed certificate to EDD 
provide him/her with an envelope ad-
dressed to the SDI office listed below. 
Mail your claim no earlier than 9 days 
- but no later than 49 days -after the 
first day you became disabled. Mail the 
completed, signed “Claim Statement of 
Employee” together with the completed, 
signed “Physician Practiioner's Certifi-
cate” to: 

•	 State Disability Insurance
P.O. Box 10402
Van Nuys, CA 91410-0402
OR

•	 State Disability Insurance
P. O. Box 513096
Los Angeles, CA 90051-1096

•	 File online: www.edd.ca.gov

Worker's Rights
When your claim is received, the SDI  
office will notify you of your weekly 
benefit amount and request any ad-
ditional information needed to deter-
mine your eligibility. If you meet all 
requirements,EDD will provide you 
with a debit card for your disability 
payments. The first seven days of your 
claim is a waiting period for which no 
benefits are paid. 

If you are eligible for further benefits, 
either additional payments will be sent 
automatically or a continued claim certi-
fication form for the next two weeks will 
be sent.  You must report income you 
receive, even though sometimes it does 
not reduce your SDI payments. 

Coordination with Worker's Comp
If you also have a worker comp. claim 
and the insurance carrier delays or 
refuses payments, SDI may pay you 
benefits while your case is pending. 
However, SDI will pay benefits only for 
the period you are disabled and will file 
a lien to recover benefits paid. 
SDI and Workers’ Compensation are two 
separate programs. You cannot legally 
be paid full benefits from both programs 
for the same period. 

However, if your workers’ comp benefit 
rate is less than your SDI rate, SDI may 
pay you the difference between the two 
rates.

Long-term or Permanent Disability: If 
you expect your disability to be long-
term or permanent, apply for SSDI 
from Social Security well before your 
year of SDI is over. (see page 23 Social 
Security).


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Worker's Rights
2. Workers’ Compensation 
Benefits 

Workers' compensation benefits are de-
signed to provide you with the medical 
treatment you need to recover from your 
work related injury or illness, to partially 
replace the wages you lose while you are 
recovering, to provide compensation for 
injuries sustained at work, and to help 
you return to work.

If you are disabled because of a work 
injury or as a result of unhealthy, un-
safe, or stressful conditions at work, you 
should apply for Workers’ Compensation 
benefits.  If the injury occurred on the 
job or as a result of the job, you have a 
right to file a claim.  You are entitled to 
most types of Workers’ Compensation 
benefits regardless of your immigration 
status or the length of time you worked 
for your employer.  

There are six basic types of Workers’ 
Compensation benefits: 

A.  Medical Benefits: The employer 
pays for the medical care resulting from 
the work-related injury up to $10,000 
while your claim is still being considered 
by the insurance company. This can 
include physician services, hospitaliza-
tion, prescriptions, and other necessary 
and reasonable care. You may be treated 
by the employer's physician or company 
clinic, or by your own doctor if you have 
previously notified your employer in 
writing of your request to select, or “pre-
designate”  your own doctor.

B.  Temporary Disability Benefits: These 
benefits are paid every two weeks if you 
are unable to return to work within three 
days, or are hospitalized overnight. The 
benefits are intended to partially replace 
two-thirds of the wages lost as a result 
of the injury, up to a maximum weekly 
amount that is determined based upon 
the date your injury occurred and based 
on your average weekly wage at the 
time of injury.  These benefits are paid 
until you are able to return to work, or 
until the disability becomes permanent 
and stationary.  You will be considered 
“Permanent and Stationary” if a doctor 
determines that your medical condition 
has stabilized and you are not expected 
to have a significant change in condition 
for a period of one year, with or without 
medical treatment.  

C.  Permanent Total Disability: If you 
have a permanent total disability you 
may receive up to payments every week 
for life.  The rate of payment depends 
on the date you were injured.  

D. Permanent Partial Disability:  This 
benefit is far more common than Perma-
nent Total Disability, discussed above.  
For Permanent Partial Disability, the 
percentage of disability is based on a 
medical evaluation or multiple medical 
evaluations by a neutral doctor or doc-
tors selected either by agreement of the 
parties or by a random list of names pro-
vided by the state.  You receive weekly 
benefits for a period that increases with 
the percentage of disability and will vary 
depending upon your average weekly 
wage at the time of your injury.  These 
benefits are paid every two weeks.  

E. Supplemental Job Displacement 
Vouchers:  Employees injured on or after 
Jan. 1, 2004, who are permanently 
unable to do their usual job, and whose 
employer does not offer other work, 
may qualify for the supplemental job 
displacement benefits (SJDB).  SJDB 
comes in the form of a non-transferable 
voucher that can be used to pay for 
educational retraining or skill enhance-
ment, or both, at state-approved or 
state-accredited schools.  

F. Death Benefits: If a worker is fatally 
injured, the worker’s family may receive 
burial expenses up to $10,000.  Death 
Benefits may also be paid as sup-
port payments for dependents of the 
deceased worker.  The amount of death 
benefits varies based on when the injury 
occurred and varies depending on the 
extent to which an eligible beneficiary 
was “dependent” on the deceased 
worker.

Filing a Workers’ Comp Claim:    http://
www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/iwguides/IW-
Guide01.pdf

For help filing a claim or if your em-
ployer does not provide you with a Claim 
Form, contact the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Appeals Board District Office clos-
est to you:

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board 
Los Angeles District Office:
320 W. 4th St., 9th floor
Los Angeles, CA 90013 
(213) 576-7335. 

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board 
Pomona District Office:  
732 Corporate Center Drive
Pomona, CA 91768
(909) 623-4301
Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board 
Van Nuys District Office:
6150 Van Nuys Boulevard, Suite 105 
Van Nuys, CA 91401 
(818) 901-5367

Visit these web pages for more informa-
tion:

http://www.dir.ca.gov/InjuredWorker-
Guidebook/InjuredWorkerGuidebook.
html

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/FactSheets/
Employee_FactSheet.pdf

You can obtain free information from an 
“Information and Assistance Officer” of 
the State Division of Workers' Compen-
sation at your closest District Office, or 
you can hear recorded information and a 
list of local offices by calling (800) 736-
7401.  These Officers cannot represent 
you or act as your attorney, but they can 
provide basic guidance as your navigate 
the Workers’ Compensation system.

You may also want to hire a private 
attorney to help you with your claim.  
Many Workers’ Compensation attorneys 
offer a free consultation, which allows 
you to discuss your case with a profes-
sional free of charge. Workers’ Com-
pensation attorneys handle this type of 
case even if you cannot afford to pay in 
advance because their fees for Workers’ 
compensation cases are set by law and 
are paid when your case is resolved.  If 
you receive nothing, your attorney will 
not charge you for any work done on 
your behalf.  

It is illegal for your employer to        
punish or fire you for having a job injury 
or illness, for filing a claim, or testifying 
in another person's Workers' Compensa-
tion case (Labor Code 132a). If proven, 
you may receive lost wages, job rein-
statement, increased benefits, and costs 
and expenses up to limits set by the 
state.


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Tax Credits
Tax Credits

What Are Tax Credits?

Tax credits are benefits you can get only 
by filling out state and federal income tax 
forms. They can be received in a check, or 
can be used to reduce the amount of tax 
you owe. You should file federal and state 
taxes even if your income is so low that 
you do not owe taxes, or if you get paid 
in cash, because that is the only way you 
can get these credits.

The federal tax credits require that you file 
the "long form." You can get help by call-
ing (800) TAX-1040 or (800) 829-1040.
 

1. Earned Income Credit (EITC)

“The Earned Income Tax Credit” (EITC) is a 
check that low-income working people can 
get from the government by filing a federal 
income tax return or filling out a W-5 form 
during the year, even if your income is so 
low that you do not owe federal taxes. You 
need a valid social security number to get 
this money.

You qualify for earned income credit if your 
yearly income in 2014 is below the level 
in the chart below.  

Family 	            Income   	 Max. Amount  	
Size                  Limit        You Can Get
				  
Married with      $52,427    $6,143
3 +children 

Unmarried with  $46,997    $6,143
3 + children 

Married	            $49,186    $5,460	
with 2 children        	   
             
Unmarried with   $43,756	  $5,460	
2 children 

Married with
one child           $43,941    $3,305	

Unmarried         $38,511	   $3,305  	
with 1 child
	
Married couple  $20,020	   $496
no children

Single workers   $14,590     $496
(aged 25 - 64)
with no children

If you are receiving CalWORKs, or CalFresh 
(Food Stamps), the DPSS cannot count the 
EITC  payment as part of your income if 
you spend the money in the month received 
or the month after. For the General Relief 
program, this money is counted as income.

You can also file for “retroactive” payments 
from the past three years. If you do not 
owe taxes, there is no penalty for filing for 
the credit late (after April 15th). 

You can claim EIC on the tax form (1040 
or 1040A) or you can fill out just the first 
side of “Schedule EIC” instead and the 
IRS will figure it out for you. However, you 
may not use the 1040EZ form (the shortest 
form) to claim your EIC. 

For help getting the credit you can call the 
EIC hotline at 1-800-601-5552. 
To get a 1040 or 1040A form for this 
year and past years, and to receive free 
tax assistance call the IRS at (800) 829-
3676 and ask for VITA-Volunteer Income 
Tax Assistance. Forms are also available 
in libraries, post offices and other public 
places.

If you choose, you can receive this payment 
spread out during the year in lower payroll 
tax deductions instead of getting it all at 
once at the end of the year. To do this, 
ask your employer to fill out a W-5 form.

2. Child and Dependent Care Tax 
Credit

Families who pay for child or dependent 
care in order to work or look for work may 
be eligible for money or reduced taxes from 
both the federal and state governments. 
The dependent can be a child under the 
age of 13 or a dependent of any age who is 
unable to care for him or herself, including 
a disabled spouse. 

The benefits are up to $1,050 from the 
state and $2,100 from the federal govern-
ment for families with two or more children 
or dependents. Families with one child 
or dependent may qualify for up to $525 
from the state and up to $1,050 from the 
federal government. The amount you get is 
generally higher if your expenses are higher.

For both the federal and state credits, you 
must have a social security number or an 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Num-
ber (ITIN). You must have income from 
work and must provide the social security 
number of the child or dependent that is 
receiving care, and the name, address, 
taxpayer identification or social security 
number for the person or agency provid-
ing the care. 

The state credit is limited to families with 
under $100,000 income per year. There 
is no income limit for the federal credit.

3. Renter's Tax Credit

The Renter’s Tax Credit is not a payment 
that you can receive, but a deduction 
that renters can make on their California 
state income tax forms. Renters who owe 
no tax will get no benefit. Single renters 
with incomes up to $36,955 are eligible 
for $60 renters’ tax credit and families 
with incomes up to $73,910 are eligible 
for $120 renters’ tax credit. 

Other rules apply:
•	 You had to be a California resident for 
the entire year
•	 You had to pay rent for at least half the 
year on a California property that was your 
main residence
•	 The property you rented was not exempt 
from California property tax
•	 You didn't live with another person for 
more than half the year (such as a parent) 
who claimed you as a dependent
•	 You were not a minor living with and 
under the care of a parent, foster parent 
or guardian
•	 You or your spouse were not granted 
a homeowner's property tax exemption 
during the year
•	

4. Health Care Tax Credit

The new health care law requires that ev-
eryone be covered by health insurance or 
they may have to pay a fine. If you are low 
income and apply for health care through 
Covered California, ask if you can qualify 
for tax credits that will help make up for 
some of the money you have to pay for 
health insurance.








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Child Care and Education
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Child Care/Ed.

Children between the ages of 6 and 18 
are required by California law to attend 
school. The L.A. County Office of Education 
offers numerous programs for all family 
members, including:
• 	 Literacy programs to help students and 
parents learn to read, and to train parents 
to help their children learn
• 	Computer training and job readiness 
for parents
• 	Early Advantage programs for children 
under age 3
• 	Head Start and State Preschool pro-
grams for children

Call your local school district or call 
(562)922-6111 County-wide to find out 
about preschool programs and family 
literacy programs.

1. After School Enrichment

Especially if you are in CalWORKs, call your 
local elementary school to see if it has an 
after-school enrichment program. This pro-
gram provides supervised afterschool fun, 
growth, snacks, and learning for children 
from first through sixth grade. Children 
must be attending the school where the 
program is offered. If your children attend 
school in the Los Angeles Unified School 
District (LAUSD), call (213) 745-1900 for 
information on enrollment in afterschool 
programs. If your children attend school 
in a different school district, call the lo-
cal district.

2. Homeless Children's Rights

Homeless children:
• 	Do not need a permanent address to 
enroll in school
• 	May remain at the same school they 
attended before becoming homeless, or 
enroll at the school serving the place they 
are living temporarily
• 	Cannot be denied enrollment just be-
cause any documents are not immediately 
available

• 	Provide information to parents on how 
to choose good child care;
• 	Make child care payments

You can get information about how to 
request CalWORKs child care over the 
phone (877) 244-5399 or in person. You 
can request child care at  DPSS, or at 
the R&R or APP agency. Your child care 
request will be approved or denied in 
within 4 business days of receiving and 
verifying required documents, including 
a completed Stage 1 Child Care Services 
Application which provides the agency with 
all the necessary information about you, 
your child care needs, and your provider 

Call the child care hotline (877) 244-
5399 or Legal Aid (800) 399-4529 for 
help if it takes a long time to get your 
child care approved. You will get written 
notice telling you whether you and your 
provider have been approved or denied. 
If you disagree with the decision you can 
ask for a fair hearing.

2. How Payment is Made

A Provider Payment Request will be mailed 
each month to you and to your child care 
provider. Both you and the child care pro-
vider must sign the request and mail it to 
the child care agency at the address on the 
form. Payments are then made directly to 
your child care provider. If the payment is 
missing or incorrect, you or your provider 
may contact the agency for assistance.

3. Choosing Quality Child Care

It is your right as a parent to choose the 
child care you think is best for your child. 
The agency will give you referrals and   in-
formation on what to look for when choosing 
a provider. If you decide the referrals are 
not good choices, ask for more referrals. 
Choose the child care that’s best for you: 
•	 Licensed child care centers, Preschools, 
or Family child care homes.
• 	 License-exempt child care can be pro-
vided by family, friends, or neighbors. If you 
use license-exempt care, you will need to 
sign a statement that your provider meets 
minimal health and safety requirements. 
The child care agency will not pay for child 
care provided to you by someone on your 
CalWORKs case.
•	 If the provider is caring for children 
from more than one family (besides their 
own) they may need a license.

Most providers will have to be fingerprinted 
and go through a criminal background 
check. Your relatives may not have to go 
through this process.

• 	Have the right to participate in school 
meals, special education, Title I and any 
other federal, state or local programs for 
which they are eligible
• 	Must be provided transportation if other 
children get transportation 
• 	Cannot be isolated or separated from 
the main school environment just because 
they are homeless.

These special rights under federal McK-
inney-Vento law apply to all children and 
teens without a fixed, regular adequate 
residence including if you are staying 
with friends or relatives because you lost 
your housing, you are waiting for foster 
placement, or you are living in any kind 
of shelter, car, motel, campground, aban-
doned building, garage, or similar place.

=

CalWORKs may pay for child care for chil-
dren who are 10 years old or younger, up 
to age 12 if the county has funds available 
or if other exceptions are met, and up to 
age 18 if the child is disabled and needs 
special care. You may be eligible for child 
care even if you are under a CalWORKs 
sanction, and after you leave CalWORKs 
for up to two years. 

If you are low income, working, but do 
not get CalWORKs cash aid, you may 
still qualify for subsidized child care: for 
information call (800) 543-7793. 

If you or someone you know would like to 
provide child care, call Community Care 
Licensing Division (323) 981-3350 or a 
Child Care Agency for licensing, training 
and other information.

1. How Do I Get Child Care?

To get money for child care, you will have 
to talk to a child care “agency.” These 
agencies are called Resource and Referral 
(R&R) or Alternative Payment Programs 
(APP). They will
• 	Help any family find child care;

Every child in California has the right to a free public education, whether 
they are citizens, legal residents, have no documents, or are home-
less. There is government money available to pay for child care when 
kids are not at school, for families who are in CalWORKs or working.




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1. Lack of Child Care

You can be temporarily excused from 
participating in work requirements of 
CalWORKs if child care is not reasonably 
available. Your case manager will evaluate 
each case individually and periodically. 
Child care is not reasonably available if:
•	 You are not satisfied with the child care
•	 There is no child care close enough
•	 You have no transportation to the child 
care
•	 There are no providers operating during 
the hours you need child care
• 	 The provider’s license is under investiga-
tion
• 	 The provider cannot commit to providing 
care for your child
• 	 The child care is not appropriate for 
your child’s needs.

2. Complaints about Providers

You should complain about your child care 
if there are bad conditions, or you suspect 
abuse or mistreatment. You can complain 
at the following places:
• 	 The DPSS child care coordinator
• 	 The R&R or APP Agency
• 	Child Care Hotline (877) 244-5399, 
Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm
•	 Community Care Licensing (310) 337-
4333 or (323) 981-3350 
• 	 Legal Aid (see p. 68 for list).

3. Brokers

If you are requesting child care, you do 
not need to pay anyone to help you with 
your request (these people are often called 
“brokers”). The child care agency must 
provide you with a worker who speaks your 
language to help you with this process. 
You can also get help from community 
organizations who will not charge to help 
you request child care.

If you use a broker, be very careful about 
signing a “representative payee” form, 
which gives the broker direct control of 
your child care payments. If you have 
any problems with brokers, complain to 
the agencies listed in the section above.

4. Hearings

You have a right to a fair hearing if you 
disagree with decisions made by DPSS or 
the child care agency. You can ask for a 
hearing by following the instructions on the 
back of any child care “Notice of Action”. 
You should file for a hearing within 14 days 
or before the action/termination happens.

Help Finding Child Care

If you need help locating a licensed child 
care provider, you may contact the local 
Resource and Referral Agency in your area, 
shown below:

Child Care Resource Center (818) 717-1000
San Fernando Valley & Antelope Valley

Pomona USD Development Program 
(800) 822-5777 or  (909) 397-4740
Pomona Area

Pathways (213) 427-2700
Hollywood, Downtown, Silver Lake
Connections for Children (310) 452-3325
Santa Monica, Beach Cities, Culver City

Mexican-American Opportunity Foundation 
(323) 890-9600
East L.A., Monterey Park, Bell, Santa Fe 
Springs, Montebello, Boyle Heights

Options (626) 856-5900
South San Gabriel Valley (Baldwin Park, 
El Monte, Whittier), Pasadena, Monrovia, 
La Cañada 

Crystal Stairs, Inc. (323) 299-8998
South Los Angeles, Inglewood, Hawthorne, 
Gardena, Watts, Long Beach, San Pedro, 
Bellflower, Cerritos, Norwalk

The below Alternative Payment Program 
Agencies do not offer Resource and Refer-
ral Services:
International Institute of Los Angeles 
(323) 224-3800- Boyle Heights 
Drew Child Development Corporation 
CalWORKs (310) 638-8108- Gardena 
City of Norwalk (562) 462-1713

Child Care Information & Resources Direc-
tory for L.A. County listing hundreds of 
licensed providers is available at DPSS 
website:
www.lacounty.gov/dpss/childcare

4. CalWORKs Child Care Stages

There are three “Stages” of child care. 
You should not have any problems as you 
move from one “Stage” to another. You 
may be eligible for child care while you 
are participating in an approved welfare 
to work activity (work, school, training, 
appointments with GAIN, or certain sup-
portive services like domestic violence 
counseling, mental health or substance 
use disorder treatment appointments).

Stage One
The child care agency may pay for any 
qualified child care that you choose for 
up to six months or until your welfare to 
work activity and child care are both stable. 
Teen parents may also get Stage One Child 
Care, as long as they are in Cal-Learn. You 
may be eligible to receive child care pay-
ments for up to 30 days prior to the date 
of your child care request: call the Child 
Care hotline at (877) 244-5399 for more 
information.

Stage Two
After both your welfare to work activity and 
child care are stable, the child care agency 
will move you to Stage Two. You may stay 
in Stage Two while you are receiving Cal-
WORKs and are in an approved welfare to 
work activity. You may be eligible for Stage 
Two Child Care paid for up to 24 months 
after you are earning too much money to 
be eligible for CalWORKs.

Stage Three
“Stage Three” Child Care is subject to 
budget cuts in Sacramento and applicants 
are currently placed on waiting lists. Stage 
Three Child Care is available for low in-
come working parents who do not receive 
CalWORKs. You may qualify for Stage 
Three Child Care if your income is below 
the levels in the following chart: 

Family Size 	 Monthly Income Limit
1 or 2 			   $3,283
3 			   $3,518
4 			   $3,908
5 			   $4,534
6 			   $5,169
7 			   $5,276
8 			   $5,394
9 			   $5,511
10 			   $5,628

You may still qualify for low cost child care 
if you're over the income limit. Call one 
of the agencies listed on the right side of 
the page for details.

Child Care/Ed.



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Foster Care
Foster Care

Children who are abused or neglected, or 
whose families are unable or unwilling to 
care for them, may become the responsi-
bility of the Department of Children and 
Family Services (DCFS) in Los Angeles 
County. Report child abuse at (800) 540-
4000 /TDD (800) 272-6699.

How Are Children Placed 

in Foster Care?
DCFS may file a petition with the Depen-
dency Court to have the child removed from 
the parent(s)' custody and placed with a 
relative or in a licensed foster home. If the 
child was already taken from the parents, 
the petition must be filed within 48 hours. 
The court will usually approve or deny the 
petition the same day it is filed. If approved, 
the DCFS worker must immediately prepare 
an application for foster care benefits. Ask 
the worker if this was done. 

In some situations, DCFS and the child's 
parents may agree that the child should be 
taken from the home for a limited amount 
of time while the parent complies with a 
case plan to reunify with the child. In these 
cases, the parent and DCFS will complete 
a document called a Voluntary Placement 
Agreement which is good for only 180 
days. After that, DCFS must either return 
the child to the parent or file a petition in 
dependency court.

Is There Help for 

Caregivers?
If you are caring for a child in your home 
who is not related to you, and was placed 
with you by DCFS, the child may be eligible 
for foster care benefits. You must either 
1) Be the child’s legal guardian or 
2) Have a state licensed foster home. 
(There are different rules for children 
placed through a Foster Family Agency 
[FFA].)

If you are caring for a related child (grand-
child, cousin, niece, etc.) it can be difficult 
to get foster care benefits. These are often 
called “Youakim” cases. Your home does 
not have to be licensed by the state, but 
it must meet the same standards as for 
licensing. The child may be eligible if: 
•	 	 The child was removed from the 

parent(s) and placed with you by an 

order of the Dependency Court or 
Voluntary Placement Agreement. 

•	 	 DCFS is responsible for the child’s 
placement and care; and

•	 	 The child received or was eligible 
to receive CalWORKs while with the 
parent(s) in the month that DCFS filed 
the petition to have the court remove 
the child from the parent(s) or within 
the six months prior to that. Not all 
children who received CalWORKs will 
be eligible for foster care.

1. What are the Benefits?

Foster care benefits are only for the child 
(not the adults).The child also gets one 
clothing allowance when placed and one 
yearly while in school.

Age of child	 Basic Monthly Cash 

0-4			   $671
5-8			   $726
9-11			   $764
12-14			  $800
15 & older		  $838
   Aid in L.A. County as of 07/01/14

In Los Angeles County, there is a higher 
“specialized rate” for children with severe 
medical and/or psychological needs.  If you 
think your foster child qualifies for this, 
ask the social worker to arrange an evalu-
ation. If the child uses services from the 
Regional Center, they should recieve the 
"Dual Agency Rate" automatically.

All children in foster care are eligible 
for Medi-Cal. If the child is living with a 
relative, but is not eligible for foster care 
benefits, the child should be eligible 
for CalWORKs without considering your 
income.

If you are related to the foster child, and 
low-income, you may be able to get Cal-
WORKs and Medi-Cal for yourself. You may 
also be eligible for CalFresh/food stamps, 
depending on your income. If you apply 
for CalFresh, you get to choose whether 
or not you want to include the foster child 
in your household. The foster child cannot 
receive CalFresh/food stamps unless they 
are included in your household. Ask your 
worker to explain other services available 
to foster children and their caregivers.

2. What Are My Rights?

Call DCFS’s Foster Care and Adoptions As-
sistance Hotline at (800) 697-4444 if you 
have questions or problems with foster care 
eligibility or payment, to report a change 
of address, or for general questions.

If you think you should be getting any of 
these benefits and are not, you can ask 
for a state hearing, even if you did not 
get a notice denying benefits. Call Legal 
Aid Foundation of Los Angeles, at (800) 
399-4529, or The Alliance for Children’s 
Rights at (213) 368-6010 for help.  
As a foster parent, you can go to all court 
hearings involving your foster child, but 
you cannot speak unless the judge says 
you can. Every child in dependency has 
an attorney. You can call the attorney 
with any questions or concerns about the 
child’s needs. You can ask the worker or 
the attorney to let you know when a court 
hearing is scheduled. 

If you have reason to believe a child related 
to you is in the Foster Care system, and 
you are willing to provide a home for that 
child, call the Child Abuse Hotline and 
give your name and information.  You may 
or may not be contacted.

Is There Help for Foster 

Youth Turning 18?

If you are a foster youth who is turning 18, 
or recently turned 18, you may be eligible 
for extended foster care. Extended foster 
care is optional. If you choose to stay in 
extended foster care, you will have to agree 
to live in an approved home and meet with 
a social worker every month. If you are 
eligible for extended foster care when you 
turn 18, but choose to close your case, you 
may re-enter foster care any time before 
you turn 21. For more information about 
extended foster care: 
visit:	 www.after18ca.org 
or call: 	 (877) 846-1602
If you are going out of care you can check 
out Housing options on page 60.

What Are Other Options?

1. Legal Guardianship

If you are an unrelated legal guardian, you 
may get State Foster Care benefits. The 
child does not have to be a dependent of 
the court. As soon as you get your tem-
porary guardianship papers, call DCFS’s 






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Social Security, SSI & CAPI

Social Security

What is Social Security?

Social Security is a federal insurance 
program which provides benefits for 
eligible workers and their families 
regardless of income.  SSI and CAPI are 
programs for disabled or seniors.

Social Security covers both employees 
and the self-employed, if the worker 
has earned enough quarters of credit. A 
quarter is credited to your account for 
each $1200 earned in 2014 or $1220 
earned in 2015. This amount changes 
every year. You cannot earn more than 4 
quarters in a year.  

Social Security provides four main kinds 
of benefits: retirement, disability, survi-
vor, and health (called Medicare).  (see 
page 54 Medicare for description of who 
qualifies for Medicare). There are no 
resource limits to these programs. 
 

1. Retirement Benefits

Monthly retirement payments are made 
to workers and their eligible dependents. 
The amount you get depends on how 
much money you have earned and how 
many years you worked in a job covered 
by Social Security. Covered workers pay 

for Social Security (FICA) by being taxed 
on the money they earn, and employers 
must match this amount. 

Present law prevents Social Security 
benefits going to any non-citizen who is 
not “lawfully present” in the U.S. (see 
page 62 Guide for Non-Citizens). 
The age at which you can get full retire-
ment benefits depends on what year you 
were born. For those born between 1938 
through 1959, the full retirement age 
increases to 67. You must be at least 62 
to even get reduced retirement benefits. 

You can earn money and still get retire-
ment benefits without restrictions if you 
have reached full retirement age, (de-
pending on your year of birth) before you 
start receiving benefits. Your retirement 
benefit is reduced for each month before 
the full retirement age up to 36 months. 
You can find out how much your benefits 
will be reduced on the social security 
website  www.ssa.gov under “early or 
late retirement". Ask your Social Secu-
rity office for more details.  

2. Disability Benefits

Monthly Social Security Disability Insur-
ance (SSDI) payments are made to you 
and to eligible family members, such as 
a spouse, unmarried ex-spouse ( if they 
meet marriage duration requirement), 

child, or adult disabled child, if you 
are a covered employee who is unable 
to work (engage in substantial gainful 
employment) because of severe physi-
cal or mental medically determinable 
illness or impairment that has lasted or 
is expected to last at least 12 months or 
to end in death. Benefits are available to 
family members on the same terms as 
for Retirement benefits.

You may also want to apply for SSI if 
you are disabled or over 65 years of age 
and are poor.  SSDI does not require low 
family income, but SSI does. Also, SSDI 
provides Medicare benefits after 24 
months, while SSI qualifies the person 
for  Medi-Cal. SSDI generally requires 
that the applicant must have worked 
40 quarters with at least 20 of them (5 
years of quarters or work credits) earned 
in the 10 years immediately before the 
date the disability began. Different rules 
apply for the blind. Those under age 
31 and those under 24 have reduced 
earning requirements in  order to obtain 
benefits and those over 43 have in-
creased earning requirements in order to 
qualify for disability benefits. See social 
security website under the “Number of 
Credits Needed For Disability Benefits” 
for the various rules depending on age. 

hotline at (800) 540-4000 and ask for a 
“Permanency Planning Worker.” Note the 
date and time you called and the name of 
the person you spoke to.  A worker should 
visit your home within 5 days. Have a 
copy of your guardianship papers to give 
the worker. Benefits begin as of the date 
of your call - at the same rate as federal 
foster care. 

2. Kin-GAP

To get Kin-GAP, the relative must become 
the child’s legal guardian through the De-
pendency Court. The Dependency Court 
case is then closed and DCFS is no longer 
involved. The child must have lived with a 
relative for at least 6 consecutive months 
to be eligible for Kin-Gap.  The relative can 
choose to go into Kin-GAP or not. Kin-GAP 
pays the same rate the child received in 
foster care, including specialized care 
rates and clothing allowances. The child 
did not have to receive any benefits to be 
eligible to receive Kin-GAP benefits. If 

DCFS recommends that you become the 
legal guardian, ask how this will affect the 
child’s benefits.  

3. Adoption Assistance

The Adoption Assistance Program provides 
benefits to help families adopt children who 
are less likely to be adopted without this as-
sistance, like sibling groups, children with 
disabilities, mixed ethnic backgrounds, or 
older children. 

The benefits can be up to the foster care 
amount, including higher “specialized 
rates”. Benefits must be renegotiated at 
least every two years. You may also get 
help with the costs of the adoption pro-
cess. The adoptive family becomes legally 
responsible for the child’s support.

If you have problems with the Adoption 
Assistance Program, you can contact 
Public Counsel's Children's Rights Project 
at (213) 385-2977 ext. 500.

4. Long Term Foster Care

If you are a relative and do not wish to 
adopt the child, or become the child’s 
legal guardian, you cannot be required to 
do so, and DCFS should not threaten to 
remove the child from you if you choose 
not to adopt. The child’s permanent plan 
can be long-term foster care with you, but 
you will need to pursue this with DCFS 
and the Dependency Court.

5. County Foster Care

L.A. County also has its own foster care 
program, primarily for undocumented 
children who are dependents of the court. 
They may be placed with relatives.








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SSI has no work history requirement.
Because both SSI and SSDI can take 
several months from application to 
approval, while waiting you can also 
apply for “Medical Assistance Only” 
and "MAGI" Medi-Cal at the welfare 
office. MAGI Medi-Cal does not require 
that you be found disabled to receive 
benefits.

If you are currently receiving state disabil-
ity benefits  do not wait until your state 
disability benefits have run out before 
applying for federal disability benefits and 
Medi-Cal. Applying for SSI and/or SSDI 
can take many months before a decision 
is made whether you are disabled. If you 
have not yet received your SSI or SSDI by 
the time your state disability benefits have 
run out, you should apply for General Relief 
(see pg. 27) but General Relief benefits 
are very low and you have to be down to 
your last $50 to be eligible.  

3. Survivor Benefits

When a covered worker dies, monthly 
payments are made to eligible family 
members including: 
•	 A spouse over age 60 or disabled  

and over age 50 or caring for the 
worker’s child who is under 16 or  
16 years or older and disabled.

•	 The spouse above can be divorced 
from the worker but can get ben-
efits  only if the marriage lasted 
at least  10 years, the ex-spouse 
is unmarried and s/he is entitled 
to more benefits on his/her dead  
ex-spouses account than on his/her 
own account.

•	 A disabled adult unmarried child who 
became disabled before age 22 
and has never  worked at a job that 
was considered substantial gainful 
employment.

•	 A parent of the worker over age 62 if 
s/he was at least 50% dependent 
on the worker’s support when the 
worker was alive.

•	 If members of any of the above 
groups  were receiving benefits 
when the wage earner/worker start-
ed receiving retirement benefits, 
those benefits will increase when 
the worker dies.

What Is SSI?

SSI (“Supplemental Security Income”) 
is a cash benefit program for low-income 
persons 65 and over and for blind and 
disabled persons of any age, includ-
ing infants and children. You must be 
a U.S. citizen or a qualified immigrant 
living in the country legally to get SSI. 
(See page 26 for "What is CAPI", a pro-
gram for immigrants ineligible for SSI.)

The Social Security Administration 
provides a good description of the SSI 
program at  www.ssa.gov/notices/supple-
mental-security-income/index.htm

SSI may be your entire income, or it may 
add to other income you already get. But 
to qualify for SSI your total income cannot  
more than $20 over the SSI maximum ben-
efit. SSI grant amounts differ depending 
on several factors including whether the 
recipient is blind, a child, or is homeless.

Can I Get SSI?

To get SSI, at least one of the following 
must apply: 
•	 You are age 65 or older; 
•	 You are blind; the vision in your best 
eye is no better than 20/200 with glasses 
or your tunnel vision is 20% or less;
•	 You are unable to work because of a 
severe mental or physical illness or im-
pairment  that has lasted for 12 months 
or is expected to last 12 months or is  
expected to result in death; 
•	 You are a child under 18 who has a 
medically proven “marked and severe” 
physical or mental disability that would 
keep you from working if you were an 
adult or significantly interfere with your 
daily activities. 

You can’t get SSI if the disability is based 
on alcohol or drug dependency, but you may 
qualify based on another disability such 
as mental illness or kidney or liver disease

You can't get SSI any month in which you're 
in prison or jail, have an outstanding war-
rant for a violation of a parole or probation 
order, or are a fleeing felon. Only certain 
types of outstanding felony warrants can 
cause you to be denied benefits. Seek help 
from legal aid if you are denied benefits.



1. Income

Your “countable income” may not 
be above the maximum benefit level. 
Subtract the following from your “gross” 
income to get your countable income:
•	 $20 per month of your total income; 
•	 $65 per month of any earned income 

and half of your remaining earned 
income; 

•	 All work expenses if you are blind; 
•	 Any impairment-related work ex-

penses if you are disabled
•	 All tax refunds; 
•	 Any portion of scholarships or grants 

that is for tuition, fees, and school 
expenses; 

•	 Federal undergraduate grants and 
loans (totally exempt) 

•	 Foster care payments
•	 A third of all child support payments 

from an absentee parent if you are 
caring for a child

•	 Any income, if you are blind or 
disabled, that has been set aside as 
part of a “PASS” (Plan to Achieve 
Self-Support) approved by the 
Social Security office 

•	 Federal housing and relocation as-
sistance payments;

•	 Earnings of a blind or disabled stu-
dent under age 22 up to $1,620 a 
month, maximum $5,200 a year; 

•	 Payments from FEMA, Red Cross and 
others for disaster-related losses 

•	 Money you receive to pay to replace 
or repair a lost, damaged or stolen 
resource; 

•	 Reverse annuity mortgage payments 
made to the recipient (counts as a 
resource, but not as income.)

2. Resources or Assets

Your countable resources may not be 
more than $2000 for one person and 
$3000 for a couple, (even if only one 
member of the couple is eligible.) Some 
resources are not counted: 
•	 The home you live in; 
•	 One car if you use it for work or medical 
treatment at least four times a year or if it 
is specially-equipped for a disabled person; 
•	 Payments from agencies for disaster-
related losses; 
•	 Property used for self-support including 
farm land, equipment, storage building, 
inventory, business bank accounts; 
•	 Retirement accounts (IRAs, tax deferred 
annuities) belonging to the spouse or parent 
of an SSI beneficiary or applicant. How-
ever, the “cashed-in” value of retirement 
accounts owned by the SSI beneficiary or 
applicant will count. 


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How Do I Apply?
 
See page 26 Social Security Offices. 
 Come in, or (800) 772-1213 to mak
e an appointment. Even if the process 
from application to first check takes 
months, when you are approved the 
benefits will be paid beginning with the 
date  you started the application. Do not
 accept a verbal denial. Insist on filing at 
least a partial application. If you do not
 have all the necessary information, you
 can give additional or corrected infor
mation later. 
If you have difficulty with English or with
 hearing, the Social Security Office is re-
quired to provide you with an interpreter
 without cost. You may have help from 
  a friend, family member or advocate 
at any appointment.  If your condition 
makes getting to the office difficult, you 
may ask for a telephone interview or a
home visit. 

If you want to sign a form allowing 
someone else to serve as your represen-
tative, ask by phone for form SSA-1696 
to be mailed to you. Parents or guard-
ians can apply for a child under age 18 
who is blind or who has a disability.

It’s helpful to have the following infor-
mation with you when applying: 

•	 Social Security card or record of 
number 
•	 Birth certificate or other proof of age
•	 Information about the home of 
residence, such as mortgage or lease 
andlandlord’s name
•	 Payroll slips, bank books, insurance 
policies, car registration, burial fund 
records and other information about 
income and resources 
•	 Names, addresses and telephone 
numbers of doctors hospitals and clinics 
that have treated you (if applying for SSI 
because of disability or blindness) 
•	 Proof of U.S. citizenship or eligible 
non-citizen status
 
You should apply even if you don’t have 
all the things listed. If you are applying 
for disability, you have to prove you are 
financially eligible for SSI after you have
 a favorable disability determination.

The Social Security Office is required to 
help you get needed documents and 
information. 

•	 Up to $2000 equity value for house-
hold goods and personal belongings 
•	 Up to $1500 per person for  life 
insurance or burial expenses.
•	 There are many other resources not 
counted: you should consult  Legal Aid.

If you have too much money or other re-
sources that  puts you over the  resource 
limit for SSI, you can spend money/
resources down to below the resource  
limit and qualify for SSI. You could buy 
things you need for your personal use(as 
long as whatever you buy does not make 
you go over another limit), or  you can 
pay off  debts. If you give away  re-
sources or sell themfor a price below fair 
market value, you can be ineligible for 
SSI for up to 36 months.

If a child eligible for SSI lives with a 
parent (or parents) not eligible for SSI, 
a portion of the parent's income and 
resources may be used to figure the 
child’s SSI cash aid. If a person eligible 
for SSI lives with a spouse not eligible 
for SSI, a portion of the spouse’s income 
and resources may be used to figure the  
SSI cash aid. This is called deeming.

What Do I Get?

1. Maximum Aid 

Type of Person	        Max.Benefit 	
Single person 65  
	or older		  $866	
Disabled person 18		
	or over		  $866	
Single blind person		
	any age		  $921 
Couple, both  disabled		
	or aged		  $1,462 	
Couple, both blind	 $1,609	
Disabled person 	
	under 18		  $773 
One person living in a 
licensed Board  & Care 
facility($121 for that 
person’s private use)	 $1,122 		

    Effective as of October 2014:   
rates change each year

Food: If you get SSI in California, you 
cannot get CalFresh/Food Stamps.  How-
ever, if you live where meals cannot be 
prepared you can get an additional $90 
to $100 per month (ask for the Restau-
rant Meals Allowance.) 
Health Care: If you get SSI, you auto-
matically qualify for Medi-Cal. You may 
also qualify for In-Home Supportive 
Services (See pg 53.)

Special Telephone Equipment: If your dis-
ability makes it difficult to use the phone 
you may qualify for special equipment 
to help. Call (800) 806-1191 (voice) or 
(800) 806-4474 (TTY line.)

Rent and Household Expenses: You can 
qualify for the maximum SSI grant even if 
you live with someone else or live in some-
one eles’s household  as long as you pay 
for your own food and shelter costs.  If you 
live in someone else’s household  and pay 
none or only part of your food and shelter 
costs,  your SSI grant will be reduced by 
one third of the federal SSI benefit rate. 
Homeless people receive the same SSI 
cash aid as persons with homes, except 
that you can only get SSI 6 months out 
of 9 if you are living in a “public shelter”.

 If you were getting some help in paying for 
your food and shelter when you applied for 
SSI but  later begin paying your share for 
food and shelter, tell your social security 
worker so your benefits will increase to the 
maximum benefit. 

If you are living with someone else, when 
you apply for SSI benefits, who is paying  
all or a part of the expenses for your food 
or shelter, tell your  Social Security worker 
if you have  an agreement to pay your 
share of the food and shelter  expenses 
for each month you receive retroactive 
SSI payments for the  months before you 
receive your first monthly SSI check. You 
need to have a signed  written agreement 
that says you will   pay your share of 
the  food and shelter expenses for each 
month you receive back SSI payments. 
You can contact legal aid for help writing 
this agreement so your back SSI benefits 
are not reduced.If you have this written 
agreement  any retroactive SSI benefits 
should not be reduced for the reason that  
you are living in the home of another and 
are not paying your share of the food and 
shelter expenses.

A single person can get a $1,133.00 (as 
of 2014)  board & care rate called “Non-
medical Out of Home Care,” if you do not 
receive In Home Supportive Services, are 
not staying in your own home, and a rela-
tive who does not get SSI is providing you 
room, food, and personal care. The county 
must certify the private residence.

You may be able to get a $400 immediate 
payment from the Social Security office 
if either your SSI or your Social Security 
check is late and you need money right 
away. If you are denied immediate payment 
contact the office of your congress person 
and ask for a staff person who can help. 
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Where to Apply for Social Security or SSI
For SSI, Medicare and Social Security benefits, it is best to apply in person at 
one of the Social Security offices listed below (L.A. area). For appointments and 
information about Social Security, Medicare or SSI, call toll-free: (800) 772-1213, 
from  7 A.M. to 7 P.M.  during the week. The TTY Number for hearing impaired is  
(800) 325-0778. When you call the 800 number you are talking to someone in a 
national call center, not someone in your local office. 

Alhambra, 900 S. Garfield, Ste. 102 
Boyle Heights, 215 N. Soto St.
Burbank, 1420 W. Olive
Chatsworth, 20439 Nordhoff St 
Compton, 171 E. Compton Blvd. 
Crenshaw, 3840 Crenshaw Blvd. 
El Monte, 9351 Flair Dr. 
Glendale, 225 W Broadway Ste. 600
 Glendora, 1165 E Route 66 
Hollywood, 1122 N Vine St. 
Huntington Park, 6303 Rugby Ave. 
Inglewood, 230 E. Spruce Ave.
Lakewood, 4957 Paramount Blvd.
Lancaster, 44451 N 20th St W
Long Beach, 2005 Long Beach Blvd
LA-Wilshire Center 4000 Wilshire Blvd

Montebello, 2216 W. Beverly Blvd.
Norwalk, 12440 E Imperial Hwy
Panorama City 14500 Roscoe Blvd
Pasadena, 104 N. Mentor
Pomona, 960 W Mission Blvd
San Fernando, 456 San Fernando Mis-
sion Blvd. 
Santa Clarita, 27200 Tourney Rd. Ste 
320
Torrance,22600 Crenshaw Blvd. 
University Village, 1122 W Washington 
Blvd. Suite 201
Watts, 12429 S Avalon Blvd 
West Covina, 501 S. Vincent Ave
Westwood, 11500 W Olympic Blvd
Whittier, 7200 Greenleaf Ave. Ste. 200

If are applying for Social Security or
SSI Disability, your case will be sent to 
a state agency under contract with SSA 
to  collect  your medical records and 
decide whether you meet the medical 
requirements for disability benefits. In 
general, people who are blind or have 
very obvious disabilities which preclude 
them from working are approved more 
quickly than those who must have their 
disabilities more extensively verified. In 
limited circumstances  you may qualify
 for presumptive disability and start to 
receive benefits even before the final 
disability determination is made.

What Are My Rights?

Current and past medical records need to 
be obtained in all cases where disability is 
an issue. In many cases, you will be given 
an appointment for a doctor chosen by the 
state to examine you. These consultative 
exams are brief and will generally not prove 
your disability. It is important that you get 
your  medical records from existing and 
previous doctors which show that you are 
disabled.  Do not rely on the state disability 
evaulaiton agency to get all your records. If 
the state disability evaluation unit  decides 
that you are not disabled enough to get 
SSI, you can appeal. 

Those who appeal a decision that they 
are “not disabled enough” by request-
ing a reconsideration and then a hearing 
before an  administrative law judge often 
win and are able to receive benefits back 
to the date of application. (See page 66 
Hearings and Complaints.)

You can apply for General Relief while 
you wait for SSI approval. If you ask, 
the county will help you get SSI while 
you are on General Relief . If you have 
worked in the last year and a half, you 
should apply for state disability benefits.

After receiving benefits if you get a 
notice that you have been overpaid, and 
you believe it is not your fault, insist on 
immediately submitting a “Request for 
Waiver of Overpayment.” If you do not 
believe you were overpaid, you should 
request a reconsideration. 

 If you believe the amount of your SSI 
check is incorrect or any notice that you 
get is wrong, insist on immediately sub-
mitting a “Request for Reconsideration” 
(See page 66 "Hearings & Complaints").

Also, most  Congressional district of-
fices have case workers who deal with  
Social Security problems. Call your 
Congress person’s office  and ask for  
help or  make a complaint. 

What Is CAPI? 

Cash Assistance Program for  Immigrants 
(“CAPI”) is a cash benefit  program for 
low-income people who are aged 65 and 
older, are blind, or who have a disability 
that meet the general eligibility require-
ments for SSI but are not eligible for SSI 
because of their immigration status (See 
pg. 63 "Which Immigrants can get CAPI?")

CAPI benefit amounts are similar to SSI 
($10 less for one person, $20 less for a  
couple). Like SSI, benefits are lower if 
you share housing or don’t pay your full 
share of the food and shelter expenses.
If you are eligible for CAPI you will be 
eligible for Medi-Cal, and In Home Sup-
portive Services (IHSS) and in most cases 
will be eligible for CalFresh/Food Stamps 
(see pg. 32) but you will have to apply for 
these benefits separately. 

See pg. 65 "What If I Have a Sponsor" for 
important information about "deeming".

1. How to Apply

To apply for CAPI, go to the  Wilshire 
Special DPSS  Office or any office that 
handles GR (see page 70) or call  (877) 
481-1044 to file an application over the 
phone.  You must apply for SSI as a require-
ment of CAPI eligibility. You will have to 
show proof that you have applied for SSI 
and your SSI application is on a pending 
status OR has  been denied due to your 
immigration status.  You may apply for SSI 
on your own or you can ask for help from 
the County worker.

Your benefits will begin the month after you 
apply for, or try to apply for CAPI. So you 
should apply to CAPI as soon as possible. 
Be sure to get a written receipt with a date 
showing that you applied or tried to apply 
for SSI. At the time you apply for CAPI, 
you will choose between two methods of 
receiving your monthly benefits, Electronic 
Benefit Transfer (EBT) or direct deposit.
 

2. Be Careful: Brokers
If you are applying for CAPI you do not 
need to pay anyone to help you fill out the 
application and turn it in to the county 
(these individuals are often called “bro-
kers”). DPSS workers are required to help 
you fill out your application, and provide 
you with a county worker who speaks your 
language to help you fill out the papers. 
You can also get help from a non-profit 
community organization, which will not 
charge you to help you apply. 


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Veterans

Veterans and their family members may be 
eligible for income, health care, housing, 
and other services. Ask at the VA about 
programs for veterans and their families,
 like Education, Vocational Rehabilitation, 
Life Insurance, Burial Assistance, Survivors 
Benefits, and more. 
   

Can Vets Get Cash Aid?

The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) 
has two income benefits for veterans.  

1.	Service-Connected Compensation pro-
vides a monthly income to veterans 
with a physical or mental health con-
dition that is related to their military 
service.  The amount of Compensation 
depends on the severity of the medical 
condition, and ranges from $130 to 
$3,536 per month.  

2.	Non-Service-Connected Pension pro-
vides a monthly income to wartime 
veterans who are low-income and 
either 65 years or older or totally 
disabled.  The amount of Pension is 
$1,038.  Veterans with dependents 
can get more Compensation and 
Pension.  

NOTE: If you served during wartime and 
are receiving less than $1,038 in Social 
Security or SSI benefits, you should ap-
ply for Non-Service-Connected Pension 
benefits.

Veterans

Is There Health Care 

for Vets?
If you served in the military, you may 
qualify for VA health care benefits. Certain 
veterans receive prioritized health care 
from VA Medical Facilities and Vet Centers.  
Low-income veterans may receive free or 
low-cost VA health care.

Call (877) 222-8387 for information on 
a full range of medical benefits available 
to veterans, regardless of your income and 
even if the health problem is not related 
to military service.

Is There Housing for Vets?

Permanent Housing - The VA has limited 
HUD- VASH vouchers for homeless veter-
ans.  If you have a VASH voucher, you can 
move into permanent housing and the VA 
will pay a portion of your rent.

Rental Assistance – If you are facing 
eviction or are homeless and need help-
ing moving into permanent housing, the 
Supportive Services for Veteran Families 
Program (SSVF) may help.  SSVF pro-
vides financial assistance and supportive 
services to low-income veterans and 
their families.  Call “211” for the SSVF 
nearest you.

Temporary Housing – There are many 
Grant Per Diem Programs (GPD) that of-
fer free, temporary housing  for veterans.  
Many programs have social and health 
services.  Call “211” for the GPD Program 
nearest you.

More Information

For more information, visit or contact the VA 
Los Angeles Regional Office Intake Site at:  

Federal Building, 
11000 Wilshire Blvd., LA, CA 90024
Phone: 800-827-1000

Veteran Service Organizations:

Disabled American Veterans- Department 
of California
13733 E. Rosecreans Ave.
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
Phone: 562-404-1266

Jewish War Veterans
2615 S. Grand Ave., Rm. 100
LA, CA 90007
(888) 489-2778

General Relief (“GR”) is a Los Angeles County program that helps 
people who can't get cash aid from any other welfare programs and 
have almost no money. GR is a very limited program with many rules.   
The Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services (“DPSS”) 
runs the GR program.

General Relief

Can I Get GR Cash Aid?

1. Residence 
To get GR, you must live in L.A. County 
for at least 15 days and intend to remain 
here permanently. 

2. If you are stranded

If you are stranded here and want to go 
home, DPSS can help you. Someone must 
confirm that you live in the other county 
or state. DPSS will give you money to go 
home. You can also get housing and meal 
vouchers while you wait for transportation 
home. You can't get this help more than 
once a year. 

3. Cash and Resource Limits 
You cannot have more than $50 total in 
cash or in a bank account when you apply. 
You can own:

•	 One car worth less than $4,500 
•	 Necessary household furnishings
•	 House you live in if the market value is 

less than $34,000.

If you live with your spouse, his or her income 
will be counted against you, A spouse's 
income is not counted if they are on SSI. 
If your spouse abuses you, DPSS may not 
have to count your spouse's income. If a 
worker tells you you must go to court to file 
for a divorce, call legal aid for help (see page 
68.)






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4. Time Limits

If you are able to work, DPSS will classify 
you as “employable.” "Employable" people 
can only get GR for 9 months in any 12 
month period.    

If you cannot work due to health problems, 
DPSS will send you for a medical exam. 
The doctor decides if you are too ill or 
disabled to work. If so, DPSS will call you 
"unemployable". "Unemployable" people 
can get cash aid year round. You may have 
to go for medical exams more than once 
a year to stay "unemployable." DPSS can 
change you back to "employable" and the 
9 month time limit on aid will apply to you, 

What Do I Get in GR?

1. Basic Benefits
The maximum monthly cash aid is $221. 
In addition to the cash aid, you can get:
•	 Automatic enrollment in MediCal, a 

free health insurance program for 
low-income LA County residents. 

•	 Free health care from any county hos-
pital or clinic (800)-427-8700

•	 Bus tokens to all required appointments 
related to keeping benefits including-
medical appointments, vendor lodging 
and meal voucher locations (when the 
one-way distance is one mile or more 
or you are unable to walk a mile), and 
EDD offices 

•	 A personal care kit (DPSS will deduct 
$5 from your GR benefit)

•	 Sanitary napkins 
•	 Housing repairs if there is a lien on your 

house (Homeowner’s Special Needs) 
•	 Supplements for medically required 

diets 
•	 A referral to a county-paid drug or 

alcohol recovery program 
•	 You will also get CalFresh (food stamps)

2. Emergency Benefits
When you apply for GR, you may be eli-
gible to receive the following emergency 
benefits:
•	 Emergency Housing -  If you are home-

less, tell the person who interviews 
you at the DPSS office.  If you can 
get GR and are homeless, DPSS will 
give you hotel vouchers for up to two 
weeks.  However, $4.53 per night will 
be taken out of your first GR check for 
the hotel vouchers. You can refuse to 
take a hotel voucher. If you take the 
vouchers but don't use them, DPSS 
will still take the money out. To stop 
that you must ask in writing to cancel 

the voucher. You can ask that DPSS 
change the location of your voucher. 
You can also call (800) 255-0905 to 
complain about the conditions at the 
voucher hotel. 

•	 Emergency Food  -  You may be entitled 
to CalFresh (formerly known as Food 
Stamps) or food vouchers the day you 
apply (see page 32 CalFresh/Food 
Stamps.).  If you do not get CalFresh/
Food Stamps, and no voucher restau-
rant is open or in your area, you should 
get cash ($2.17 per meal). Ask for as 
many meals (up to 3 a day) as you will 
need.  Remember, any meal vouchers 
or cash issued to you will be deducted 
from your first GR cash aid check.

•	 Aid to Prevent Eviction - You can get 
up to $272 to stop an eviction. You 
need a letter from your landlord that 
says 1. you did not pay your rent this 
month or last month and 2. he or she 
will not evict you if DPSS pays the 
$272. The money will be paid directly 
to your landlord. 

•	 Aid for Utilities- You can get cash aid 
to turn your utilities back on or to 
stop a shut-off. This money will be 
paid directly to the utility company. 
You need to show DPSS proof from 
the utility company that the cash aid 
will stop the shut-off.

3. Earned Income Disregard
Any earnings in the 30 days before your 
application will reduce how much you can 
get in GR the first moth. Once you are on 
GR cash aid, you can earn up to $200 a 
month with no cut in your cash aid. If you 
earn between $201 and $620, your cash 
aid will be cut. Once on GR, you can also 
save up to $1,500. Always report your 
earned income to your worker.

How Do I Apply?

1.  Regular Application 

Go to the closest DPSS (Department of 
Public Social Services) office that takes 
GR applications to apply. (see page 70 for 
a list of Welfare Offices).
Be prepared for a long day. Remember 
that you have the right to apply that day. 
Tell the worker that you need GR. You will 
have to fill out a “screening” sheet and an 
application. Bring with you identification 
and papers like pay stubs, bank accounts, 
and car title that prove your income and 
resources. 

Every GR applicant has a right to request 
“Expedited CalFresh/Food Stamps” .  In 
general, expedited service is available to 

individuals who have less than $150/month 
in gross income and less than $100 in 
available resources.You can get your food 
stamps that same day or no later than 
three days.

You will be fingerprinted and photographed 
when you apply for GR. If your fingerprints 
match those of another welfare recipient in 
the state, you will be denied GR pending 
investigation. You can appeal this decision. 

Your fingerprints cannot be shared with 
any other agency; but if a law-enforcement 
agency requests information about some-
one wanted on an arrest warrant, DPSS 
must give them their name, address, and 
physical description.  Also, DPSS may 
inform law-enforcement officials of your 
presence in the DPSS office if you are 
a fleeing felon. If you are denied GR be-
cause you are a fleeing felon, contact legal 
services (see Good Advice p. 68 ) and the 
Public Defender’s Office: (213)974-2811.

If you don’t have ID when you apply, you 
may get GR for up to 60 days. You must 
get ID during that 60 days.

Make sure that you give your worker a reli-
able address for you. Your home address 
and mailing address do not have to be the 
same.  If you are homeless, you can use 
the DPSS address to pick up your mail. If 
you use the DPSS address you must check 
for your mail at least once a week. Some 
community organizations and shelters 
provide free mail service. Having a good 
address is important so DPSS can get in 
touch with you and you can get Notices 
from them. Soon, you may also be able to 
have them send notices by text message.

You must be helped that same day if you 
are in the office before it closes. If you 
need help immediately, you should get it. 
If anyone does not let you apply or tells 
you to come back the next day, insist on 
speaking to a worker, and then a supervisor, 
and then the deputy director, if necessary.

The county has 30 calendar days to approve 
or deny your case and issue GR cash aid. 
Your cash aid will be given to you on an 
Electronic Benefits Transfer (“EBT”) card.   
When your EBT card is given to you, you 
will also select a personal identification 
number (“PIN”).  Using your EBT card 
and your PIN, you can get your GR Cash 
Aid at any ATM. Your DPSS worker should 
provide you with a list of ATMs in the area.  
Be careful as some ATMs charge a fee. 
Grocery stores usually do not.




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2. If You Think You Are Unable 
to Work
If you are disabled you may want to apply 
for SSI first. (see page 24 SSI). You may 
apply for GR while you wait on SSI. Ask 
for an SSI Advocate at the GR office. Most 
people who apply on their own get denied, 
so you want to ask the county to help you 
apply for SSI. 

If you are disabled, tell the worker when 
you apply for GR.  You will be given an 
appointment for an “employability screen-
ing”. Be sure to tell the medical provider 
everything about your disability. Bring any 
medications, prescriptions, or other proof 
about your disability.  If the medical pro-
vider determines that you are not able to 
work due to a disability, you will be deemed 
“unemployable.”  If the medical provider 
believes that you have a disability, but may 
be able to work with some accommoda-
tions, the medical provider may classify you 
as “unemployable with accommodations” 
or “employable with accommodations.” If 
you are determined “unemployable with 
accommodations,” you may volunteer to 
be in GROW, but are not required to do 
so.  If you are deemed “employable with 
accommodations,” you will be required to 
participate in GROW as long as DPSS can 
provide the accommodations.

If the medical provider decides that you are 
able to work, you can appeal to the medi-
cal provider at the time of the screening 
that you disagree with your employability 
screening. You will then be considered 
“temporarily unemployable” for 15 days 
until you receive the results of your appeal. 

Make sure you go to your employability 
screening because you may be denied 
GR if you don’t.

County or VA doctors can verify your dis-
ability. Ask the doctor to fill out an “ABP 
1676P” form to verify the disability. A 
statement from a private doctor does not 
replace the employability screening.

3. If You Need Special Assistance

DPSS must help you apply if you need it. 
If you cannot read or write, they must help 
you with their forms. If you have a mental 
disability, they must refer you to a mental 
health worker for evaluation. The evalu-
ation can establish you as a Needs Spe-
cial Assistance (“NSA”) recipient.  NSA 
recipients are approved for GR promptly.  
“NSA” participants are protected from 
some sanctions, work and other program 
requirements, and denials of aid.

If you request an evaluation by a mental 
health worker, but do not get one, you 
may demand that you be classified as 
“medically unemployable” for 30 days. 
You will be exempt from GROW and other 
requirements until you get a mental health 
evaluation. 

NOTE:  If you are designated NSA status 
and wish to volunteer without any penal-
ties in the GROW Program contact your 
Eligibility Worker.  

What Are The 

Requirements?

1. If You Are Able to Work
If you are employable, you will be required 
to:
•	 Complete 6 job searches at application
•	 Register with the Employment Devel-

opment Department (“EDD”).  You 
will have to apply for unemployment 
benefits if you appear eligible for 
these benefits. 

•	 Participate in the GROW program
•	 Spend 20 hours per week in activities 

leading to a job 

The County will send you a notice to come 
to a GROW Orientation or give you a notice 
at application. If you do not attend the 
GROW orientation, your application for 
GR will be denied. But, if you have “Good 
Cause” or a good reason for not attending 
the GROW Orientation, your application will 
not be denied and you will be schedule 
for another date and time. Make sure to 
contact your GROW worker. GROW provides 
a range of services including job search 
activity, job-related training, counseling, 
and work experience. 

In GROW, if needed, you may also get 
assistance with transportation, books, sup-
plies, uniforms and tools related to your 
trade. GROW can also provide referrals to 
domestic violence, substance abuse, or 
mental health supportive services.

If you are 60 years old or older, you will 
not have to participate in GROW, and you 
will not have a time limit.

NOTE: If you are terminated from GR for 
not meeting GROW requirements, your 
CalFresh/Food Stamps benefits should 
still continue. There currently are no 
work requirements for the CalFresh/Food 
Stamps program in LA County. (See page 
32 “CalFresh/Food Stamps.”)

2. If You Are “Unemployable”
If the medical provider says you are 
disabled, you are exempt from many GR 
requirements.  You do not have to par-
ticipate in GROW, complete job searches, 
or register with the EDD, and cannot be 
penalized for not working.

You will only be classified as “unemploy-
able” for a certain amount of time.  When 
your disability period expires, you will 
be sent a notice to comply with GROW 
requirements.  If you still cannot work, 
call your worker right away and have them 
schedule an appointment for you with the 
medical provider.

NOTE:  If you are Unemployable and wish 
to volunteer without any penalties in the 
GROW Program contact your Eligibility 
Worker.  

3. Drug and Alcohol Program
When you apply for GR your DPSS worker 
will screen you for drug or alcohol depen-
dency. If you tell your DPSS worker that you 
have a drug or alcohol problem, or if your 
worker believes you have such a problem, 
you must have a professional assessment  
from Department of Health Services.

If you are assessed to be chemically de-
pendent you must enroll in a treatment 
program (Mandatory Substance Abuse 
Recovery Program) in order to receive 
GR. If all the programs are filled you can 
get GR while you wait to enter a program. 

If you fail to comply with the Manda-
tory Substance Abuse Recovery Program 
requirements, your application will be 
denied. You are entitled to a “good cause 
evaluation” when you reapply and the 
penalty will be removed if you had “good 
cause” for missing the appointment. 
If you are in the Mandatory Substance 
Abuse Recovery Program but is consid-
ered “employable” and in a residential 
treatment program,you are not required 
to register for work or complete a job 
search. However, still have to meet GROW 
requirements and you can meet this by 
participating in substance abuse treatment 
20 hours per week. You will still be subject 
to the 9 month time  limit, unless you are 
judged “unable to work” for reasons other 
than substance abuse.



 The People's Guide  201530







4. Quarterly Reports 
You must fill out a QR-7 form every 
three months. This Is Very, Very, Very 
IMPORTANT!   On the QR-7, you will be 
asked to report your income, property 
and household members.  You also must 
report any changes you expect in the next 
three months.  Your GR cash aid for the 
next three months will be based on the 
information you list on your QR-7.  If you 
do not report income on your QR-7, you 
will be charged an overpayment. You will 
have to pay GR. They will take all of your 
cash aid for the month or longer until the 
overypayment is repaid. If this happens, 
call legal services for help (see pg. 68)

If your other income gets really high (over 
what DPSS calls "income reporting thresh-
old") you have to report it right away, even 
if your report is not due yet. 

You will get a notice telling you when you 
have to submit your QR 7 report form. 
When you get the form in the mail, you 
must fill it out and return it to the DPSS 
office by the fifth day of your "submit" 
month.  You should get your QR-7 on the 
first of your "submit" month. If you don’t 
get it in the mail, you must go to the DPSS 
office to fill out the form. 

Make sure to get a receipt showing the 
time and date you submitted the form. 
If your QR-7 gets lost, or you do not turn 
it in, your case will be terminated at the 
end of the "submit" month. You have until 
the 3rd Thursday of the following month 
to turn it in without getting a penalty. 



General Relief




What Are My Rights?

1. Good Cause 
Unless you have “Good Cause,” you will 
be penalized for not participating in 
GROW, quitting a job, not accepting a 
job paying at least minimum wage ($8 
an hour), not complying with substance 
abuse requirements, or getting fired for 
misconduct. “Good Cause” can be any 
illness, accident, difficulty understanding 
instructions, conflicting appointments, 
confusion, transportation problems, or any 
physical or mental disability, which affects 
your ability to work. “Good Cause” covers 
anything short of willfully not complying 
with program requirements.   If you are 
not able to comply with the GR program 
requirement, and you have “Good Cause,” 
you should contact your DPSS worker 
immediately and explain your situation. 

2. "Extended Suspend"
If DPSS says you have not complied with 
your GR requirements your benefits will 
be stopped.  If you comply with your 
GR requirements by the third Thursday 
of the following month, your benefits 
should be started again. The DPSS calls 
this “Extended Suspend.”Make sure you 
show them proof that you have complied 
with the rules.

3. Hearings 
If your case is going to be terminated or 
your benefits are reduced, you have a right 
to a GR hearing. The county must mail you 
a “Notice of Action” nine days before a 

hearing. The date and time of the hearing 
will be listed on the notice. If you have 
“Good Cause,” you have a good chance of 
winning the hearing. Your benefits cannot 
be cut off or reduced without a hearing 
unless you do not go to the hearing. 

4.  Penalties or "Sanctions"
If you do not go to your GR hearing, or you 
lose your GR hearing, your case will be 
terminated or your benefits will be reduced. 
If you receive a sanction and you have not 
been sanctioned in the past 365 days, you 
can re-apply at once. If this is the second 
sanction in a year, you can re-apply in 30 
days. After the third penalty in a year, you 
have to wait 60 days to re-apply. 

5. GR Time Limits 
If your General Relief is stopped due to the 
9 month time limits, you can continue to get 
CalFresh/Food Stamps and Medi-Cal. You 
can reapply for GR in three months. Your 
notice will tell you when you can reapply.

If you become sick or hurt and cannot work 
while you are timed off of GR, reapply for 
GR right away. Let your worker know that 
you are “unemployable” . If they find that 
you are unemployable you will be able to 
get GR cash aid without any time limit. 

6. If You Begin to Get SSI
The county considers GR to be a “loan” 
for those applying for SSI . If you start 
getting SSI, the amount of GR cash aid 
you got will be taken out of  your first SSI 
check. If you think GR made a mistake 
and took too much money out you can 
ask for a fair hearing (see Hearings and 
Complaints pg. 66 )



Can I Get Help with Bus 

Fare?

1. If You Are Disabled 

All Los Angeles County transit operators, 
including MTA, DASH, Foothill, Antelope 
Valley, and all the city bus lines, honor a 
“disabled identification card”.

 
Call (213)680-0054.  All applicants must 
pay a non-refundable $2 application fee 
and bring a current 1" by 11/4" full face 
photo (no hats, sunglasses or bandannas. ) 

To qualify you must show any one of the 
following:
•	 Medicare ID card (NOT Medi-Cal)
•	 California DMV disabled or disabled 

veteran placard certificate with a 
current “valid through” date 

•	 Proof of receiving either SSI or SSDI 
from Social Security Administration 

•	 A certification on school letterhead 
signed by a Special Education teacher 
that the applicant is a Special Educa-
tion student in any LA County school 

•	 Part III of the application form, which 
is a one-page certification signed by 
a health care professional. 

Transportation
2. CityRide and paratransit

For seniors 65+ or disabled. CityRide pro-
vides a book of coupons worth $72, every 
three months. The cost is $15 ($6 if you 
are receiving Medi-Cal or SSI). The script 
can be used to buy bus pass, taxi rides, 
or to partly pay for dial-a-ride service for 
medical appointments. 
Los Angeles CityRide: (213) 808-RIDE 
(323) or (818) or (310) (808-7433) 

ACCESS (800) 827-0829 Shared ride ser-
vice offering disabled persons curb-to-curb 
rides within 3/4 mile of most LA County 
bus or rail routes, using buses, mini-vans 
and taxis. Fares are distance-based and 
range from $1.80 to $2.70 for each one-
way trip. Call to apply.




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BICYCLE HELP

These organizations offer guidance and 
usage of their shop tools and parts to 
bike owners with broken bikes that do 
not have the tools or resource to fix 
them.  They are not a sales shop but a 
"Do it Yourself" repair shop.  There's a 
small donation for their help, but no one 
is turned away for lack of funds. 

Bici Libre
1205 W. 6th St, Los Angeles, 90017
213-261-5626
http://la-bike.org/bicilibre

The Bicycle Kitchen 
4429 Fountain Ave, LA CA 90029
(323) NO-CARRO or (323) 662-2776
http://www.bicyclekitchen.com




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Transportation



Dial-a-Ride (800) 439-0439 Shared rides 
for seniors 60+ and disabled in certain 
parts of the county. Costs vary but as low as 
25 or 50 cents in some areas. Call to apply.

Charter Bus Program Assists seniors, 
youth, and disabled groups in the City of 
Los Angeles with free or subsidized charter 
bus services to attend educational, recre-
ational, or cultural events in the region.  
To apply visit: http://www.lacitycb.com

3. Rider Relief Program

You can save up to $10 on your transit 
pass if your income qualifies you for 
Metro’s Rider Relief Program (RRTP).  
Rider Relief coupon booklets include six 
months of coupons.

The following transit agencies accept Rider 
Relief coupons: Antelope Valley Transit 
Agency, Big Blue Bus, Culver City Bus 
Lines, Torrance Transit, LADOT, Santa 
Clarita Transit , Foothill Transit, Long 
Beach Transit, Montebello Bus Lines, and 
Norwalk Transit.

Adult riders, Senior/Disabled/Medicare, 
K-12 grade students and full time College/
Vocational students are eligible if their 
incomes are at or below:
   

# in household	    Annual Income	
	1		         $28,550	
	2		         $32,600	
	3		         $36,700	
	4		         $40,750	
	5		         $44,050	

	 6		         $47,300	     

Children over 5 years old whose parents 
qualify are automatically also eligible to 
receive Rider Relief coupons.

Residents of cities/county areas and stu-
dents of schools that already offer transit 
subsidies will not be eligible to receive 
Rider Relief coupons. Please check with 
your City, County or school to see if they 
offer any discounts. 

 You must have a reduced rate TAP card to 
be able to use a senior, student or college 
coupon. Rider Relief coupons for seniors 
and students provide savings varying from 
$6 to $10 on top of those reduced rates.

Receive coupons by contacting the Rider 
Relief partner organization serving your 
area.
If you live in: Long Beach, Gateway Cities, 
or San Gabriel Valley, contact:
Human Services Association
Rider Relief Transportation Program
562.806.0250
rrtp-info@hsala.org
If you live anywhere eles contact:
FAME Assistance Corporation
323.730.7715
rrtpinfo@famecorporations.org

4. Other Transportation Help

Help for Stranded or Runaways to Get 
Home:
Home Free Program (800) 621-4000
Runaways (800) 786-2929
St. Vincent (323) 224-6280
See General Relief pg 27 for more infor-
mation.

Air Travel Assistance for Patients 
Needing Medical Aid:
Angel's Flight West (888) 426-2643

Can Drivers Get Help?

1. Low Cost Car Insurance
Low income drivers in Los Angeles County 
can purchase special auto insurance for 
$347 a year. Call (800) 622-0954 to find 
the agent nearest you from the California 
Automobile Assigned Risk Plan (CAARP). 
You must verify your income with tax re-
turns and also show a valid driver’s license, 
current vehicle registration, and proof of 
ownership of vehicle. 

To be eligible 
•	 you must live in LA County
•	 you must be at least 19 years old and 

have been driving for at least 3 years 
without losing your license

•	 the car insured must be worth less than 
$20,000; and your household must 
have a yearly income below:

# in household	    Annual Income	
	1		         $27,925	
	2		         $37,825	
	3		         $47,725	
	4		         $57,625	
	5		         $67,525	
	6		         $77,425	
	7		         $87,325	
	8		         $97,225	

Also, in the last 3 years you cannot have:
•	 Been responsible for an accident involv-

ing bodily injury or death 
•	 Had more than one property damage 

accident in which you were at fault 
•	 More than one point for a moving 

violation 
•	 You also cannot be a college student 

claimed as a dependent on someone 
else’s taxes

2. Help With Smog Check

The State’s Consumer Assistance Program 
(CAP) provides financial assistance for low 
income consumers whose vehicles don’t 
pass smog check. If you qualify they can 
help pay for repairs that will allow your 
car to pass. You must pay a copayment. 
The program is limited to available funds. 
Don’t do any repairs until you are notified 
that you’ve been approved.

For information and to apply call 
Dept. of Consumer Affairs (800) 952-5210
Or visit: www.bar.ca.gov
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CalFresh

Many people who qualify for CalFresh/Food 
Stamps don’t think they qualify or do not 
know how to apply. If you or someone in 
your home needs food, you should apply; 
everyone deserves to have enough to eat.

To get CalFresh/Food Stamps, you must 
be a U.S. citizen or a legal immigrant 
non-citizen (see page 62 Guide for Non-
Citizens). You must also meet income 
requirements. You don’t have to have a 
home or a place to cook to get CalFresh/
Food Stamps. 

People receiving SSI do not qualify for 
CalFresh. There are restrictions also for 
students and people on strike from their 
jobs. Beginning April 2015, persons with 
past drug felonies may qualify if they are 
complying with parole and probation. 
(Some may qualify already: call Hunger 
Action LA (213) 388-8228.)

Persons getting CalWORKs or GR usually 
also get CalFresh. Persons leaving Cal-
WORKs may get "Transitional CalFresh." 
Foster youth exiting foster care in California 
can continue getting CalFresh up to age 21 
automatically (after that they can qualify 
using the regular rules.) 

How Do I Get CalFresh?

There are different ways to apply. 
•	 Call 1-(866) 613-3777 to have an ap-

plication mailed to you
•	 You can also apply online by going to 

www.dpssbenefits.lacounty.gov
•	 In person (see map on pg. 71 for the 

nearest county office)
•	 Or apply at many other Community and 

Faith-Based organizations, health 
clinics, WIC centers, and food pantries 
approved by the county.  Contact one 
of the Family Souce Centers (pg. 3)  
to get referred to the nearest location.

You can complete the entire CalFresh 
application process without going into 
a DPSS district office, but if you go 
into a DPSS district office to apply, you 
have two options: emrgency and non-
emergency.

1. Emergency CalFresh/Food 
Stamps
You may be eligible to get CalFresh/Food 
Stamps the same day or at least within 
3 days if one of the following applies:
•	 You are homeless; 
•	 Your gross income is less than $150 

per month and the money you have 
on hand or in the bank is less than 
$100; 

•	 You are a poor migrant or seasonal 
farm worker; 

•	 Your combined monthly gross income 
and available resources are less 
than your monthly rent, mortgage, 
and utilities.

To apply for emergency CalFresh/Food 
Stamps, you only need to sign and 
date the application and statement of 
facts. The worker will ask for your proof 
of identity, residence, income, and 
resources, but you cannot be denied for 
not having these documents with you. 
Although your cash on hand and other 
liquid resources do not count for general 
CalFresh/Food Stamps eligibility, they do 
count if you are asking DPSS to give you 
emergency or same-day CalFresh/Food 
Stamps. 

These are acceptable forms of proof of 
identity:
•	 driver’s license 
•	 work or school identification card
•	 an identification card for health bene-

fits or another assistance program
•	 voter registration card,
•	 wage stub
•	 birth certificate 
•	 sworn statement 
•	 or a letter addressed to you

2. Non Emergency

You have the right to apply in your own 
language and to turn in a written applica-
tion on the day you go in.  DPSS must 
approve or deny your application within 
thirty days after the date you turn in the 
application. If someone tells you to come 
back without submitting the application, 
you may insist on filing an application.  

1.	Mail: To have an application mailed 
to you, call (866) 613-3777.  Com-
plete it out and return it by mail, 
or have someone else turn it in for 
you. Make copies of the application 
and documents you are mailing in 
case the application gets lost or it’s 
not received. 

2.	Online: You can apply online by visit-
ing: www.dpssbenefits.lacounty.gov 
Make sure to fill out your personal 
information (name, address, phone 
number) so the elegibility worker 
can contact you for any questions.  
You will be given a confirmation 
number at the end of the appli-
cation.  Note down this number 
because you will need it to follow 
up on your application.  

3.	In person: If you apply at the DPSS 
office in person, fill out the applica-
tion form as completely as you can, 
circling the numbers of the lines 
where you cannot answer or need 
help. Turn the application in and 
wait to be seen or make an appoint-
ment to see an eligibility worker. If 
you are not seen in a half-hour, go 
to the reception desk and ask for 
the Customer Service Representa-
tive Desk.

Interview: CalFresh applicants can com-
plete the required interview by phone. 
There are a few exceptions, such as if 
you apply for CalFresh benefits and also 
apply for cash aid, such as CalWORKs, 
General Relief, CAPI, or if you requested 
Expedited Services. If so, you will still 
be required to complete a face-to-face 
interview in the District Office.  At the 
interview - in person or over the phone 
-  you will go over the application you 
filled out and will be asked for addition-
al information. You may bring someone 
along to help you. You may be asked to 
sign a form making them your “autho-
rized representative”.

Documents:  You will be given a list of 
documents that you will need to com-
plete the application process. You may 
be given a “return appointment” to turn 
in the documents.   If you do not have 

CalFresh/Food Stamps
CalFresh (also known as Food Stamps or SNAP), is a government program 
that gives you benefits so that you and your family will not go hungry. You 
get an Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card (with a Golden State Advantage 
logo) that you can use at supermarkets, farmers markets, and small stores.







33 The People's Guide  2015

CalFresh
Nutrition Education: The University of 
California Cooperative Extension has 
a free program to help CalFresh/Food 
Stamp participants purchase foods for a 
better diet through nutrition education. 
Visit www.fsnep.ucdavis.edu. 

•	 Almost every food store
•	 Many certified Farmer's Markets.  See 

Famers Markets section on page 36 
for more information

•	 Some Meals-on-Wheels programs
•	 Certain restaurants can accept Cal-

Fresh/food stamps from homeless, 
disabled or elderly participants

•	 Some shelters are authorized to take 
CalFresh/Food Stamps as payment 
from clients

What Can I Buy With My Benefits?

•	 Any food item except hot foods that 
are meant to be eaten immediately 
(except at certain restaurants for 
the homeless, disabled or elderly)

•	 Non-alcoholic beverages
•	 Seeds to grow your own food. 
•	 CalFresh/Food Stamps cannot be 

used for non-food products such as 
soap, tobacco, or diapers. 

How Much Do I Get?

Each month you get help to buy nutri-
tious food. The highest (maximum) 
amount your household can get is 
listed on the chart in the next column. 
The amount you get depends on your 
income and expenses. You may qualify 
to receive up to the following amount of 
CalFresh/Food Stamps benefits:

# in Household	 Maximum Amount
1			   $194
2			   $357
3			   $511
4			   $649
5			   $771
6			   $925
7			   $1022
8			   $1169	

For each additional person, add $146
(Accurate until Sept. 30, 2015) 

Can I Get CalFresh?

1.	Who Cannot Get CalFresh?
People getting even $1 of SSI cannot 
get CalFresh. SSI recipients in California 
who are placed on “pending status” by 
SSI may be eligible to receive CalFresh/
Food Stamps. Persons getting "regular" 
Social Security or Social Security Dis-
ability Insurance may qualify depending 
on their income and expenses.

You can be permanently disqualified 
from the program if you are caught sell-
ing CalFresh/Food Stamps worth over 
$500. 

Strikers and their families are usually 
kept out of the program, unless they 
meet the income limits one day before 
the strike. Employees who honor a 
picket line of another union, who are 
laid off as a result of the strike, or who 
are locked out, are not considered strik-
ers and may be more likely to qualify. 

See page 63 for restrictions applying to 
immigrants. 

2. Special Rules for Students
Most students can’t get CalFresh/Food 
Stamps. But students between the ages 
of 18 and 49 who are enrolled at least 
half-time in a program of higher  educa-
tion can get CalFresh/Food Stamps if 
they are doing any one of the following: 

•	 Enrolled in CalWORKs 
•	 Working and getting paid at least 80 

hours per month
•	 Receiving a work-study grant 
•	 Responsible for the care of a depen-

dent child under age 12 if a full-
time student 

•	 Responsible for the care of a depen-
dent child age 6 to 11 where no 
adequate child care is available 

•	 Going to school through the Job 
Training Participation Act (JTPA)

•	  By October 2015, the State of Cali-
fornia will have a system to identify 
more programs for college students 
that will qualify as employment 
training, and allow the student to 
receive CalFresh (see AB 1930.)

If the student doesn’t meet any one of 
these requirements, the other people 
in the home may still receive CalFresh 
even though the student can’t. 

one of the necessary documents, you or 
someone you know may sign a statement 
explaining why not. 

You may be able to receive benefits while 
you continue to gather the required in-
formation. The eligibility worker should 
help you understand what documents are 
required and what you can bring instead, 
if you don’t have it or can’t find it.

If everyone in your household is disabled 
or 65 years of age or over, you may request 
either that an eligibility worker be sent to 
your home at a time you agree to or that 
you be interviewed by phone. A worker 
may also visit or phone you if no adult in 
your household can go to the office for 
good reasons such as illness or disability. 

Fingerprints: Fingerprints are no longer 
required for applicants for CalFresh/
Food Stamps benefits only, but you still 
need to be fingerprinted if you are also 
applying for cash aid such as General 
Relief or CalWORKs.  

Next steps:  Write down your worker’s 
name, and your case number. If you are 
asked to mail additional papers to the 
DPSS office, ask the worker for a stamped 
envelope addressed to him or her. If you 
take in any documents, make sure to get 
a receipt to prove that you dropped off the 
documents requested.
Keep your own copy of all the paperwork 
you submitted.  If you need help and your 
worker is not available, a supervisor must 
help you.  

Within 30 days of your applying, the DPSS 
office will send you a notice of action ex-
plaining if your case was approved or denied 
with a reason for denial.  If your case is 
approved, you will receive your EBT card 
and PIN number by mail.  Each item is 
sent separately.  Contact your county office 
if you do not receive any of these items.
The notice of approval will tell you how long 
you are eligible (usually a “certification 
period” is 12 months) and the amount of 
benefits that you will receive

If your CalFresh/Food Stamps case is 
denied and you believe you qualify for 
benefits, request a hearing or call a legal 
aid organization for assistance. (See page 
68 “Good Advice.”)

Any time your income, expenses, or other 
circumstances change, report this on the 
form called “SAR 7.” ( see pg. 34, "What 
Are the Requirements").







Where Can I Use CalFresh?
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3. If You Get Free Meals 
If you do not pay for any of your meals, 
you may not be able to get CalFresh/
Food Stamps. Even if you don’t prepare 
your own meals you may be able to get 
CalFresh/Food Stamps if you live in:
•	 a non-profit shelter for domestic 

violence or homeless people
•	 a drug or alcohol treatment facility 
•	 federally-funded housing for the 

elderly 
•	 or a group home for the disabled or 

blind 

Some facilities can collect your Cal-
Fresh/Food Stamps from you if they use 
them to feed you.  

4. “Households” 

The term “household” has special 
definition in this program: it means 
that you purchase and prepare food 
together. It does not mean you have a 
house. A household can be one person 
who lives alone, or it can be a group of 
persons, related or unrelated, who live 
in the same place. There is no limit to 
the number of “households” that can be 
in the same home. If each “household” 
buys and prepares their own food sepa-
rately from the other households, they 
are a “separate household.” 

Some relatives who live together must 
be included in the same household, 
even if they do prepare their meals 
separately.  These are:
•	 Your immediate family—you, your 
spouse, your children age 21 and under
•	 Your parents and you (unless you are 
over 21) 
•	 Those who are acting as parents for 
a child under 18, unless the child is in 
foster care 
•	 An individual living with the house-
hold who is a spouse of a household 
member.

Some relatives can be considered sepa-
rate households, even if they live in the 
same place, including:
•	 Parents living with their adult chil-
dren (over 21) 
•	 Adult brothers and sisters. 

Teen parents who reach the age of 19 
and are taken out of their own parents’ 
CalWORKs case are still eligible for 
CalFresh.The parents’ income must be 
counted, but the CalFresh/Food Stamps 
should not just be cut automatically— 
call Legal Aid if this happens.

5. Income Limits

Income test one:  You can have income 
from a full- or part-time job, unemploy-
ment, General Relief, or CalWORKs and 
also get CalFresh/Food Stamps if the 
household’s “gross” or “total” monthly 
income is below the following limits. 
If you are disabled or over the age of 
60, this limit does not apply to you.  
Medi-Cal recipients may be eligible for 
CalFresh/Food Stamps even if they are 
over this income limit.

There is also a second “net income” 
test, but some of your income may not 
count for the second test. If you ap-
ply for CalFresh/Food Stamps and are 
denied based on income tests, contact 
a legal aid agency for assistance. (Good 
Advice Pg.68) 

	# in	            GROSS	 NET 
Household	 Income 	 Limit

1	          	 $1946	 $973
2		  $2622	 $1311
3		  $3300	 $1650
4		  $3976	 $1988
5		  $4652	 $2326
6		  $5330	 $2665
7		  $6006	 $3033
8		  $6682	 $3341

For each additional person, add 
$ 678 to GROSS Income or 
add $339 to NET Income 

(Accurate until Sept. 30, 2015)

6. Resource and Property Limits

You may qualify for CalFresh/Food 
Stamps even if you have cash on hand, 
money in the bank, own a car, home, or 
have other assets.   If you apply for cash 
benefits (CAPI, GR, CalWORKs), your 
assets must be under certain limits, 
including cars.



 



What Are The 

Requirements?

1.Semi-Annual Reports

You must fill out and return a form called 
SAR-7 every six months. THIS IS EX-
TREMELY IMPORTANT!   On the SAR-7, 
you will be asked to report your income, 
property and household information.  You 
will also be required to report any changes 
in your income, property or household that 
you anticipate in the next six months.  Your 
eligibility and benefits for the next three 
months will be based on the information 
you provide on your SAR-7.  Under certain 
circumstances, you must report changes 
before your required reporting month.

You will be assigned to a Semi-Annual 
Reporting cycle based on the last digit of 
your case number.  Your eligibility worker 
should let you know the months you are 
required to submit a SAR-7. 

If you get the form in the mail, you must 
fill it out and return it to the DPSS office 
by the fifth day of your reporting month.  
You should receive your SAR-7 about one 
month before it is due. If you don’t get 
it in the mail, you must go to the DPSS 
office to complete the form. Make sure to 
get a receipt showing the time and date 
you submitted the form. If your SAR-7 gets 
lost, or you do not turn it in, your case will 
be suspended at the end of that month. 

Contact your worker or a community 
agency if you need assistance with filling 
out the report. 

2. Recertification

Your case must be reviewed for benefits 
each year before the end of your certifica-
tion period or your CalFresh/Food Stamps 
will be terminated. You will receive a packet 
and a letter saying that you need to renew 
your case if you want to continue receiving 
benefits, along with a date by when you 
need to return it.  You will need to send 
it back with copies of income, housing, 
and utility bills if you are paying for living 
expenses.  Also include other receipts of 
services you are paying for such as child 
care.  Be sure to complete this on time 
so you can continue to receive CalFresh/
Food Stamps without a break.   The re-
certification interviews are usually done 
over the phone.




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3. CalFresh/Food Stamp Work 
Registration 

note:  Workfare is suspended in Los 
Angeles County at least through Sept. 
30, 2015.

Here are the usual rules:
All CalFresh/Food Stamp household 
members age 16 through age 59 are re-
quired to be registered for work (excep-
tions described below). That means you 
must agree to: 
•	 Respond to a request of additional 

information regarding employment 
status or availability for employ-
ment 

•	 Report to a suitable employer, if 
referred 

•	 Accept an offer of suitable employ-
ment 

•	 If working more than 30 hours per 
week, not voluntarily reduce work 
hours to less than 30 hours per 
week, without good cause 

•	  Cooperate with the requirements of 
any welfare-to-work program you are 
assigned to. 

You will be exempt from work registra-
tion if you are earning at least 30 hours 
times the federal minimum wage, or 
working at least 30 hours per week, or 
any one of the following:
•	 Under age 16 or age 60 or over 
•	 A student in school or training pro-

gram at least half time.
•	 Caring for a disabled person or child 

under age 6 
•	 Receiving or applied for unemploy-

ment benefits 
•	 Participating in a drug or alcohol 

treatment and rehabilitation pro-
gram 

•	 Determined by DPSS to be unem-
ployable, due to a physical and/or 
mental disability

•	 Participating in GAIN or a CalWORKs 
program.

 
Under CalFresh/Food Stamp law, certain 
kinds of employment are considered 
“unsuitable,” so you do not have to 
accept these jobs to qualify or remain 
eligible for CalFresh/Food Stamps. A 
job is unsuitable if one of the following 
applies:
•	 It does not pay the federal or state 

minimum wage 
•	 It is harmful to your health or unsafe 
•	 It is beyond your mental or physical 

capacity, as documented by medi-
cal evidence or information from 
other sources 

•	 The daily commute is over 2 hours 
•	 It forces you to resign from a union or 

prohibits you from joining a union 
•	 It forces you to break a strike or 

lockout
•	 Adequate transportation is unavail-

able
•	 If within the first 30 days of registra-

tion, the job offer is not within the 
member’s major field of experience

•	 The working hours or nature of the 
employment interferes with the 
member’s religious observances or 
beliefs, for example, working on a 
religious holiday.

 

If you quit a job without good cause, 
you can be cut off from CalFresh/Food 
Stamps until you correct the problem. 
The penalties get worse each time:
1.	The first time DPSS says you have 

not complied, you can be denied 
CalFresh/Food Stamps for at least 
one month. 

2.	The second time, you can be denied 
CalFresh/Food Stamps for at least 
three months. 

3.	The third time and after, you can be 
denied CalFresh/Food Stamps for at 
least six months. 

Only the person breaking the rules will 
be denied, not the whole household. If 
you are penalized for any reason, you 
can get back on the program if you be-
come exempt from having to comply with 
the requirement for any of the reasons 
listed above.

“Good Cause”
“Good cause” for quitting a job or not 
doing a work project includes events 
beyond your control, such as:
•	 Illness of yourself or a household 

member who needs your care 
•	 Injury 
•	 Transportation problems
•	 Inability to speak or write English 
•	 A household emergency 
•	 Lack of adequate childcare for a child 

age 6 to 11. 






What Are My Rights?

1. Fair Hearing 

You have a right to a “fair hearing” 
if you feel you were unfairly denied 
benefits or to correct any mistakes with 
your benefits (see pg 66). If you appeal 
within 10 days or before the action 
takes effect (whichever period of time is 
longer), in most cases your benefits will 
continue until the matter is resolved. 
You have a right to look at your own case 
file and read a copy of the CalFresh/
Food Stamp program rules if you have a 
dispute with the county.  If you have are 
in need of legal assistance, contact the 
Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles at 
(800) 399-4529, Neighborhood Legal 
Services at (800) 433-6251, or Public 
Counsel at (213) 385-2977.    

2. Lost or Stolen Card 

You must report a lost, stolen or de-
magnetized card immediately to the 
EBT 24 hour Customer Service Center 
(877)328-9677.) Once reported, the 
card will be deactivated so that the 
benefits cannot be used by anyone else 
using your card. A new card should be 
issued right away and may receive it by 
mail within three business days.  You 
can also visit any DPSS district office 
to request a replacement card.  Ask 
to speak to a supervisor if the DPSS 
district office denies you a replacement 
card.  



What Are The Penalties?
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Alhambra Sun. 8:30 am-1 pm 
100 S. Monterey & E. Bay 
*Altadena  Wed. 3-7pm
600 W. Palm 
Atwater Village Sun. 10 am-2pm
3250 Glendale Blvd., Wells Fargo lot
Beverly Hills Sun. 9am-1pm
9300 Block of Civic Center Dr.
Burbank	  Sat. 8 am-12:30 pm 
3rd St./Orange Grove Ave., 
Cerritos	   Sat. 8 am-12 noon 
17870 Park Plaza Dr., N. end of Per-
forming Arts Center Parking lot
*Compton  Thurs. 11 am-4 pm
Compton Blue Line Station
*East LA	   Sat. 9 am-2 pm, 
4801 E. 3rd
El Seren     Fri. 4pm-8pm
Huntington Drive/ Maycrest
*Gardena Sat. 8 am-1 pm.	
13000 South Van Ness.
Wed. 9am-1 pm.	 1670 W. 162nd St. 
Glendale	    Thurs. 9:30am-1:30pm
100 Block North Brand Blvd. 
Hollywood Sun. 8 am-1 pm 
Ivar between Selma & Hollywood 
*Huntington Park 	 
Wed. 9:30am-1:30pm
Salt Lake Park, Bissell/Florence Ave
*Kaiser South Bay Wed. 10 am-3 pm
25825 S. Vermont Ave (corner of PCH)  
La Puente  Thurs. 3-8 pm
Martin Park

Farmer's Markets That Accept CalFresh in LA County

 Long Beach	 Thurs. 3-6:30pm
 46th St and Atlantic Ave
* Long Beach        Fri. 10 am- 4 pm 
3rd and Pacific- on blue line station  
Downtown Long Beach Sun. 9 am-2 pm 
Alamitos Bay Marina
* LA-Adams	 Wed. 2-6 pm 
1432 W. Adams & Vermont (St. Agnes)
*LA- Barnsdall Art Park Wed. 12 -6 pm
Hollywood  (Vermont and Edgemont)
*LA-Central Avenue
Thur. 12pm–5pm	4401 Central Ave.
*LA- Crenshaw    	Sat. 10am-3pm
3650 M.L.K. Jr. Blvd.
*LA- East Hollywood
 Thurs. 3:30-7:30pm
Western & Hollywood Red Line Station
*LA-Echo Park 	 Fri. 3-7:30 pm 
Between Echo Park Avenue and Logan 
Street in City Parking Lot 663, just 
south of Sunset Blvd.
*LA-La Cienega 	 Thurs. 2-7 pm 
1801 La Cienega Blvd.
LA- OLD L.A. CFM    Tue. 12pm-9pm
North Figueroa St. / Avenue 58
LA-Pershing Square Wed. 9 am-1 pm 
LA- Vermont & 79th   Sun. 10am-2pm
LA-Veronon & McKinley 
Sat. 10 am-2 pm
*LA-Watts Sat. 10 am-2 pm 
103rd/Central
LA- Wellington Square   Sun. 9am-1pm
4394 Washington Blvd.

*Mar Vista   Sun. 9am-2pm
Grandview/Venice Blvd
*Monterey Park. Fri. 4 pm-8 pm
381 S Ramona Blvd near City Hall
Norwalk	 Tue. 9am-1pm 
Alondra/Pioneer
Pasadena  Tue. 8:30am-12:30pm 
E. Villa & Garfield:
Sat. 8:30 am-12:30 pm 
Sierra Madre & Paloma
*Pomona     Sat. 7:30-11:30 am 
Garey Ave. & Pearl 
San Dimas  Wed. 4pm-8pm
245 E. Bonita Ave.
*Santa Monica 	  Sat. 8 am-1 pm
Cloverfield & Pico 
Sun. 9:30 am-1 pm 2640 Main Street
Santa Monica-Promenade  Wed. 8:30 
am- 1:30 pm and Sat. 8:30 am-1 pm
South Gate           Mon. 10am-3pm
4855 Tweedy Blvd. (inside parking lot at 
South Gate City Park)
South Pasadena     Thur. 4pm-8pm
Meridian and El Centro
Studio City   Sun. 8am-1pm
Between Laurel Cyn. Blvd./ Ventura Blvd
Topanga   Sun. 10am-2pm
6600 Topanga Blvd (indoors)
*Valinda Thurs. 3-7 pm Rimgrove Park
Whittier	 Fri. 3-8 pm Mayberry Park
Whittier Uptown	    Fri. 8am-1pm
Philadelphia/ Bright (SW Corner)

Food Pantries and Free 

Meal Programs
Food pantries are places that give food 
to people in need. Most food pantries are 
volunteer private organizations that can 
make their own rules about who can be 
served. Most of them are limited to serving 
people in certain areas and for one to four 
times a month. They may require some 
kind of identification and proof that you 
are low income. Generally, food pantries 

never have as much as is needed. Foods 
distributed most often include canned 
foods, rice, beans, bread, cereal, and oc-
casionally produce items.

Free hot meals are offered at many private 
volunteer agencies and churches. The 
frequency of the meals varies from daily 
in some places to once a month.

There are over 500 places in LA County 
that distribute food bags or hot meals for 
free so we cannot list them all. Here are 
some food or referral agencies.  Bring 
someone with you that can help you carry 

boxes or bags of food and produce since 
sometimes they are very heavy.

•	 211 (County phone referral line)
•	 Internet: www.healthycity.org
•	 Catholic Charities (213) 251-3400
•	 Christian Food Center (213) 741-0213
•	 Downtown Svc. Center (213) 749-0212
•	 East LA Svc. Center (323) 260-2801
•	 Eastmont Center (323) 726-7998
•	 The Hope of the Valley Rescue Mission 

818-392-0020
•	 MEND - Meet Each Need with Dignity 

(818) 897-2443
•	 Pomona: Beta Center(909) 622-3806
•	 SOVA (818) 988-7682
•	 Union Rescue Mission (213) 347-6300
•	 Westside (310) 314-0071

Free and Low Cost Food

This is a partial list of markets that accept CalFresh. (Farmers markets are not required to accept CalFresh.) 
* Markets with a * offer the Market Match program. Low income customers can get up to $10 bonus dollars 
for fresh fruits and vegetables, while supplies last.
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Community Gardens
   

You can save money and have nutritious 
food by growing some of your own veg-
etables. You can garden in your yard, in 
containers, in school–yard projects, and 
in community gardens.  
There are over 85 community gardens in 
Los Angeles County. To find out where 
community garden space is available, or 
to get materials, seeds, and advice on 
gardening, call
LACC Green Bank
(213) 362-9000 x 201. 
Common Ground (626) 586-1981

Fresh Fruits and 

Vegetables at Low Cost
The Market Match Program (operated 
in LA County by Hunger Action LA and 
SEE-LA) offers people who receive 
CalFresh/Food Stamps, WIC, Social Se-
curity, or SSI up to $10 in bonus money 
weekly when they spend $5 to $10 of 
their own money or benefits at the par-
ticipating market.The program will con-
tinue as long as funding lasts. Markets 
offering the program are indicated in the 
chart on the previous page. Please call 
for more info: (213) 388-8228.

The Senior Farmers’ Market Nutrition 
Program provides low-income seniors with 
vouchers that can be used to purchase 
fresh fruits, vegetables, honey and herbs 
at Certified Farmers’ Markets (CFM).
Some Senior Centers sites offer and dis-
tribute these vouchers, usually beginning 
in May or June.  Call (213) 738-4004 
for a list of locations.WIC offers similar 
vouchers to families with children age 5 
and under once per year. 

Community Services Unlimited (CSU) Farm 
Fresh Produce Bag Subscription Program
Each week subscribers to the Farm Fresh 
Produce Bag program receive a bag filled 
with seasonal fruits, vegetables & herbs 
sourced from CSU’s urban mini-farms and 
local farmers. Bags are picked up weekly 
at the Thursday Farm Stand at EXPO.
For more information call 213.746.1216 
or visit: www.csuinc.org

Revolutionary Autonomous Communities 
(RAC) distribute fruits and vegetables free 
at MacArthur Park on Sundays from 10 am 
to 5 pm, SW corner of Wilshire Blvd and 
Park View Ave.

Senior Group Meals

Anyone age 60 and over can participate 
in congregate meal programs, regardless 
of income. Spouses of participants can 
also get meals, no matter what their age. 

There are about 200 sites for congregate 
meals throughout L.A. County. Some 
programs are able to provide transporta-
tion to the meal site or can send meals 
home for people who are temporarily ill 
or homebound. 

You can get help to locate a program by 
calling (213) 738-4004 if you live any-
where in the City or County of Los Angeles. 
Participants cannot be required to pay for 
meals. However, a contribution to help 
support the program is often suggested. 
Some group meal programs are authorized 
to accept food stamps. 

 

Meals for Homebound 

Persons
Meals on Wheels groups deliver meals  
regularly to those who are homebound. 
Each group sets its own rules about how 
many meals will be served and about the 
days and times that meals are available. 
Most programs require some evidence that 
participants are unable to cook or shop 
due to illness, frailty, or disability. Some 
programs can provide for special diets. You 
cannot be required to pay for meals if the 
program is federally funded, but sponsor-
ing groups will ask for a small contribu-
tion. Some meals-on-wheels programs are 
authorized to accept food stamps. To find 
out about meals-on-wheels anywhere in 
Los Angeles County, call (213) 738-4004. 

Project Angel Food is a private agency 
that delivers free hot meals to homebound 
people with AIDS and other illnesses. They 
have same day service in Venice, East 
Los Angeles, Pasadena, North Hollywood, 
Silver Lake, and South Central. 
Call (323) 845-1800 for meals.

Project Chicken Soup (PCS) prepares and 
delivers free, nutritious, kosher meals to 
people in the greater Los Angeles area 
living with HIV/AIDS, cancer and other 
serious illnesses, and who are unable to 
prepare or access their own meals due to 
their health status.  Anyone living outside 
the service delivery area may come to the 
kitchen to pick up meals. 

To apply visit: www.projectchickensoup.org 
or call: 310-836-5402.
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Who Can Get WIC?

•	 Women who are pregnant, breastfeeding 
or just had a baby
•	 Women who have lost a pregnancy, or 
suffered the loss of a newborn, or stillbirth
•	 Children under 5 years old (including 
foster children and children raised by oth-
ers)
•	 Low to moderate income – meaning 
that your “gross income” (your income 
before taxes and deductions) is below the 
following:

Household
	Size	        Annually	 Monthly	
  	

1	     21,590	 1,800
2	     29,101	 2,426
3	     36,612	 3,051
4	     44,123          	3,677
5	     51,634	 4,303
6	     59,145          	4,929
7	     66,656          	5,555
8	     74,167          	6,181

For each additional household member, 
add:
		  +7,511	   	 +626	      
	
This chart is accurate until June 30, 2015. 
If you are pregnant, add 1 to the number 
of people in your household.  

You also qualify for WIC if your house-
hold receives CalFresh, CalWORKs or full 
Medi-Cal.

What Are The Benefits?

•	 Special checks to buy healthy foods 
such as low-fat milk, fruits and vegetables, 
whole grain foods, juice, eggs, cheese, 
cereal, dry beans and peanut butter.

•	 Information about nutrition and health 
to help you and your family eat well and 
stay healthy.  WIC participants are regularly 
scheduled to attend meetings and talk with 
WIC counselors about healthy weight, good 
snacks, smart food shopping, physical 
activity and how to feed their families.

•	 Support and information about breast-
feeding.  You can share your concerns with 
WIC counselors and other mothers. In some 
WIC programs, breastfeeding women can 
visit WIC any time they have a question, a 
problem or need support.  Some WIC sites 
also have Breastfeeding Peer Counselors 
and Breastfeeding clinics that can help 
mothers with extra breastfeeding support.

•	 Extra food for women who fully breast-
feed their babies for a whole year.

•	 Help in finding health care and other 
community services.

•	  Checks for iron-fortified infant formula 
and cereals for babies.

•	 Vouchers to buy fruits and vegetables 
at famer markets.  Coupons are lim-
ited.  Ask about the Famers’ Market 
Nutrition Program (FMNP) vouchers.  

WIC (officially called the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program 
for Women, Infants and Children) is a nutrition program that helps 
pregnant women, new mothers, infants and young children under 
5 years of age to eat well and stay healthy. WIC IS FREE - you will 
never have to pay for any WIC services.

Where Can I Find WIC?

WIC has over 100 local offices in Los 
Angeles County located in neighborhood 
shopping areas, health clinics, hospitals 
and community centers. Some doctors or 
clinics may refer you to WIC but even if 
they do not, you should  call WIC.   WIC 
staff will work with you to see if you are 
eligible to be on WIC. 

Call the toll-free number below for more 
information and to find the WIC office 
closest to your home.   

(888) WIC-WORKS
(888) 942-9675

Or visit: www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/
wicworks
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SCHOOL BREAKFAST
AND LUNCH

Can My Child Get Free or 

Low Cost School Meals?
All low-income students are eligible for 
for free or very low-cost school meals, 
regardless of immigration status. Children 
who eat breakfast and lunch at school 
learn better and are usually sick less than 
other children. All public schools and 
some private and parochial schools offer 
subsidized breakfast and lunch programs. 

Some schools offer free meals to all stu-
dents, regardless of family income.

Many schools offer breakfasts in the class-
room, at recess, or on the bus. 

Your child qualifies for free or reduced-
price meals if your gross family income per 
month (income before taxes or deductions) 
is below these levels: 

Family 		  Reduced
Size	      Free Meals  	 Price Meals

1	        $1,265	 $1,800	
2	        $1,705	 $2,426	
3	        $2,144	 $3,051	
4	        $2,584	 $3,677	
5	        $3,024	 $4,303	
6	        $3,464	 $4,929	
7	        $3,904	 $5,555	
8	        $4,344	 $6,181

	
(Accurate until June 30, 2015)

1. How Do I Apply?

If you receive CalWORKs, CalFresh/food 
stamps, or the Food Distribution Program 
on Indian Reservations, the only informa-
tion you need is your County case number, 
and all children in your household auto-
matically qualify for free meals.   Addition-
ally, all children certified as homeless or in 
foster care qualify for free meals.

You should receive an application for the 
meal program in your own language at the 
beginning of the school year or whenever 
your child transfers. You can also ask for 
one at any time from the school office, 
because if your income goes down during 
the year, your child may become eligible.
You will have to list the total income of 
your household, the names of household 

members, and the Social Security number 
of the adult signing the application. If you 
do not have a Social Security Number, just 
write “none”. You are not required to have 
a Social Security Number or apply for a 
number or give a reason for not having one. 

Sometimes the school asks for proof of 
your income. All information gathered is 
confidential and cannot be shared with 
other government agencies. 
If the information you give on the appli-
cation shows that you qualify, your child 
can begin receiving free or reduced-price 
meals immediately. 
Reduced-prices are set by the school 
district, but the law states that breakfast 
cannot cost more than 30 cents and lunch 
not more than 40 cents for reduced price 
meals. The district can charge whatever 
it wants for full price meals.

Recent changes in the law require schools 
to offer free drinking water, to increase the 
amount of vegetables and fruits available 
and to involve students and parents in 
planning the menus.

Parents can improve the cafeteria programs 
in many ways.  Eat at school with your 
child, encourage your child to eat break-
fast and lunch at school, talk with your 
school’s principal about moving breakfast 
in the classroom, and ask the food services 
administrators to participate in developing 
the menus.

2. Extra Food for Pregnant 
Students 
At many schools, pregnant and breast-
feeding students can get extra food at 
breakfast or lunch, or an extra snack. To 
be eligible, the student must provide some 
written verification that she is pregnant 
or breastfeeding from a doctor, nurse, 
midwife, clinic, WIC or Cal-Learn program. 

Free Summer Lunch for 

Kids
 All children and teens ages 18 and under 
can eat free, nutritious meals during the 
summer or any time when school is out 
through the Summer Lunch Program. No 
application or other kind of paperwork is 
required.  Meals and snacks are served 
at schools, parks, and recreation centers. 
Some parks operate year-round and can 

Child Nutrition

Child Nutrition
feed your children when they are “off-track” 
from year-round schools. 
The Summer Lunch Program is located in 
areas where at least half the children qualify 
for free- or reduced price-meals in school. 
However, any child under 19 can eat there 
free regardless of where they live or their 
family’s income. If the child is physically 
handicapped, the age limit is 21. 

Some residential or day camps and home-
less shelters offer the program, but you 
may have to fill out an application.

To find out where your children can eat 
free when they are not in school: 
call 211, Los Angeles County Infoline. 

If you want to learn to start a free site in 
your area, call the California Food Policy 
Advocates at (213) 482-8200. 

Child Care And After 

School Food Programs

Family day care homes, homeless shelters, 
after-school programs and child care cen-
ters should receive USDA funds to help pay 
for meals and snacks for infants, toddlers, 
children and teens. Call (800) 952-5609 
to learn about starting a program or ask 
your child care provider

What Are My Rights?
The law says that children who get free 
or reduced-price meals cannot be treated 
differently than those who get full-price 
meals. No separate lines, different meals 
or meal tickets, required work, or other 
types of discrimination are allowed. 

Ask the school, child-care sponsor, or 
summer recreation program sponsor for 
a “fair hearing” if you apply and are un-
fairly denied. Also request the hearing if 
you receive notice that your benefits will 
be cut. By doing so within 10 days, your 
child’s benefits will continue until the 
hearing takes place. 




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Effective 4/1/14-3/31/15

The Affordable Health Care Act (also called 
Obamacare)  is a law that allows many 
more people to get health insurance that 
they can afford. Some of the features of 
that law that can help you and your fam-
ily are already in place. The Affordable 
Health Care Act:

•	 Prohibits insurers from denying insur-
ance to anyone with serious illnesses, 
including pre-existing conditions such as 
asthma and diabetes

•	 Provides free preventative services, 
including immunizations

•	 Prevents insurance companies from 
imposing lifetime dollar limits. In the 
past, people with cancer or other serious 
illnesses in their childhood could run out 
of coverage later in life.

•	 Allows young adults to be covered 
through their parents’ insurance until the 
age of 26. 

If you feel like you are still being denied 
coverage, call one of the agencies listed 
in Good Advice (pg. 68.)

Your Health Care Rights
There are also new services in the law that 
will help women and children including:

•	 Diabetes screening for pregnant women

•	 Breastfeeding support, supplies, and 
counseling, and

•	 Domestic violence screening and coun-
seling

The law makes changes in the Medi-Cal 
program that allow many more people to 
participate. In the past these people would 
have had very limited health coverage. 

•	 If you are very low income and between 
19 and 65 years old with no children you 
may now qualify for Medi-Cal.

•	 If you are working but do not receive 
health care from your employer, you can 
sign up for a health care program through 
Covered California. That is the name for 
the “exchange” which is a group of insur-
ance companies who can offer you health 
coverage. You can select which company 
to get insurance from and you will have a 
chance to compare their rates. The website 
is www.coveredca.com. You can check it to 
either choose a private insurance program 
or even apply for Medi-Cal.

If you are an immigrant see p.64, "What 
Health Care Programs Are Available for 
Immigrants". 

The new health care law requires that 
everyone purchase some kind of health 
insurance. If you are already getting insur-

ance through your employer you do not 
have to change it unless you want to: you 
can keep the plan that you are getting if 
you like it. If you are not getting insurance 
through an employer or through MediCal 
or Medicare, you will be required to pur-
chase it or you will receive a fine that you 
have to pay. If you buy insurance through 
Covered California you may be able to get 
tax credits that will help lower the cost of 
your health insurance. 

For more information contact:

Center for Health Care Rights	
520 S La Fayette Park Pl, LA90057	
(213) 383-4519

Maternal and Child Health Access	
1111 W. 6th St. #400 L.A. 
(Medi-Cal & CalFresh)
(213) 749-4261
Neighborhood Legal Services-
Health Consumer Center                            
www.nls-la.org			 
(800) 896-3202.  

Legal Aid Foundation of L.A.  (LAFLA)
800-399-4LAW 	 www.lafla.org
310-393 7734 (TTD)

New Health Care

# of Per-
sons

Maintenance 
Need Level

100% FPL

Parents and Children 
to age 18

138 % FPL

HWLA & Single adults

213 % FPL

Pregnant women and 
children age 1

250 % FPL

Working Disabled

266% FPL

Low Income Children

1 $600 $973 $1343 $2072 $2432 $2587

2 $750 $1311 $1809 $2793 $3278 $3487

3 $934 $1650 $2276 $3513 $4123 $4387

4 $1100 $1988 $2743 $4234 $4969 $5287

5 $1259 $2326 $3210 $4955 $5815 $6187

6 $1417 $2665 $3677 $5675 $6661 $7087

Each Add. 
Person

$14 $339 $467 $721 $846 $900

MediCal Income Limits (See next chapter)
FPL (Federal Poverty Level) is the amount of income the Federal Government says a family needs to meet its basic needs.
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Medi-Cal



Medi-Cal

The state and federal government fund 
Medi-Cal. There are many Medi-Cal pro-
grams with different rules. Depending on 
which program you qualify for and how 
much money you make, Medi-Cal may pay 
for all your medical expenses or you might 
have to pay a share of the cost when you 
access health care services in a particular 
month. If you have Medi-Cal with a share 
of cost, you may qualify for lower priced 
insurance through Covered California.

More children are now eligible for free 
Medi-Cal through the "Optional Targeted 
Low Income Children's Program", which re-
placed the old "Healthy Families" program.

Can I Get Medi-Cal?

You can get Medi-Cal if you:
•	 Have low income and.
•	 Are a California resident (which means 

that you intend to stay in California. 
This rule is not about immigration 
status 

To get Medi-Cal you must meet certain 
income limits, described on page 40. All 
adults aged 19 to 64 who are U.S. citizens 
or legal permanent residents and have in-
come below 138% of the Federal Poverty 
Level (see chart on page 40) now qualify for 
a free Medi-Cal program. Pregnant women 
and people with a diagnosis of breast or 
cervical cancer may qualify for Medi-Cal 
at a higher income level (see page 43).

If you get CalWORKs, SSI, foster care, or 
certain refugee benefits, you get Medi-
Cal automatically and don't have to apply 
separately.

Immigration Status 

Most legal immigrants can get Medi-Cal 
to cover all their medical and health care 
needs.   Victims of domestic violence or 
those in the process of adjusting their legal 
status might also be able to get Medi-Cal.
(See page 62 Guide for Non-Citizens).

If you have a Deferred Action for Childhood 
Arrivals (DACA), you can qualify to get full 
Medi-Cal benefits.

If you are undocumented, and a California 
resident, and meet other Medi-Cal require-
ments, you may qualify to get restricted 
Medi-Cal benefits, Restricted Medi-Cal 
means that you can get Medi-Cal to pay 
for emergency services, pregnancy-related 
care, family planning, kidney dialysis, and 
long term care services. 

How Do I Apply?

1. Get an Application Form 
•	 You can get an application form mailed 

to you by calling the DPSS toll-free 
number at (877) 597-4777.

•	 You can get a Medi-Cal application at a 
DPSS Office. (See page 70 “Welfare 
Offices.”) 

•	 You can also get an application at many 
hospitals and clinics, whether they are 
private or county-run.   

•	 A few schools in Los Angeles County can 
have children apply for Medi-Cal at 
the same time they apply for the Free 
and Reduced-Cost Lunch program, 
using the same application.  

•	 Visit First 5-funded agencies that have 
applications and assist people with the 
application process. See page 47 for 
a complete list of agencies.

•	 Visit a Certified Enrollment Counselor 
(CEC). These counselors work for 
community organizations or insurance 
brokers and can help you apply on line 
or by mail. All CECs are certified by 
Covered California to help consum-
ers in person. Visit www.coveredca.
com/enrollment-assistance to find an 
enrollment counselor near you.

2.  Apply Online 
You can apply online using Your Benefits 
Now!, or Covered California.

Your Benefits Now! is a website for Los 
Angeles County residents to apply for and 
view their benefits online.
Visit: www.dpssbenefits.lacounty.gov 
Covered California is a statewide market-
place where you can shop onine or over 
the telephone for insurance coverage. Visit:
www.coveredca.com or call (888) 975-
1142.

Medi-Cal is California’s program to pay for medical care for many low-income people, 
including families, children, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Under the 
new health care law, many adults who could not get Medi-Cal before are now able 
to get Medi-Cal.

3. CHDP “Gateway” 

Children who receive a CHDP visit are 
screened for temporary eligibility for 
Medi-Cal. If a child is eligible, he/she 
is pre-enrolled in temporary, full-scope  
Medi-Cal at no cost for up to 60 days (for 
the month of the visit and the month after) 
See pg. 48,  "CHDP". 

4.	Deemed Eligibility for Infants

Infants who are born to mothers on Medi-
Cal at the time of birth can get Medi-Cal 
benefits up until the age of one, regardless 
of any increase in income for their family.  
At age one,  an annual redetermination 
form must be completed. However, you 
must contact DPSS when your baby is born 
or use a “Newborn Referral Form” to start 
your child's Medi-Cal benefits (see #11 "If 
you are pregnant", page 42). 
 
For questions or problems you may contact 
MCH Access (213) 749-4261 or the Health 
Consumer Center of Neighborhood Legal 
Services at (800) 896-3203. 

5. Complete the Form

Help is availabe if you need it to complete 
your application The Medi-Cal office must  
provide translation services and assistance 
if you have a disability that makes it hard 
for you to complete the application.   If 
the worker needs more information, you 
will be given a list of necessary documents 
and a due date to mail it back. A "return 
appointment" is not necessary. 

If you do not have all the necessary docu-
ments, you or someone you know may sign 
a statement explaining why not. You may 
be able to receive benefits while you con-
tinue to gather the required information. 
The eligibility worker should help you get 
some of your missing papers. Give DPSS 
copies, not originals, of any documents. 

Make a copy of the application for yourself! 
Then hand in or mail in the form. Get a 
receipt if you hand in the form. If you 
mail the form it is a good idea to send it 
by certified mail.





MEDI-CAL INFORMATION: (877)597-4777 






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Medi-Cal
If you do not cooperate with DCSS you are 
denied Medi-Cal, but your children do not 
lose coverage. Cooperation is not required 
if applying only for the children. Pregnant 
women do not have to give information 
to DCSS until after the birth of the baby. 

Under some circumstances you have good 
cause for not cooperating. For example:
•	 You don’t know where the absent parent 

is, or have no other information about 
the other parent

•	 You are afraid of the absent parent, you 
or your children may be in danger, or 
you are a victim of domestic violence 

•	 Rape or incest has occurred
•	 You are planning to place the child for 

adoption

8. Wait for Approval

Normally, the Medi-Cal office will approve 
or deny your application within 45 days of 
receiving it, except for the faster processes 
for infants and children, described above. 
If the state must evaluate a disability, the 
approval or denial can be delayed up to 90 
days. Call (877) 597-4777 or a legal aid of-
fice for help if you are not contacted within 
45 days about your Medi-Cal application.   
If Medi-Cal states that you are not eligible, 
you can appeal the denial of benefits (see 
pg. 66 Hearings and Complaints).

9. The Medi-Cal Card

Once you have been “approved,” your 
permanent white plastic Medi-Cal card 
is mailed to your address. It is called a 
“Benefits Identification Card” or BIC. 
Each person listed on your application 
will get one, even if they aren’t eligible 
for Medi-Cal, because if the family must 
pay a monthly Share of Cost, the medical 
expenses of every person listed on the ap-
plication can be used to meet the Share of 
Cost. If you don’t get your plastic card by 
the end of the month, or if you lose your 
card, contact the Medi-Cal office. 

10. Authorization for Service 
under “Regular” Medi-Cal

When you are not in a health plan, before 
some medical services can be performed 
for you the state has to give an authoriza-
tion for the service. This does NOT apply 
to emergency care, office visits, and 
most drugs. It is the job of the doctor, 
pharmacist, or other service provider, not 
the patient, to get this authorization from 
the state. 
However, if the state denies or changes 

the authorization, the state will notify 
you and your doctor. You can appeal any 
unreasonable delay, denial, reduction, or 
termination of care. (See pg. 66  "Hearings 
and Complaints") for information about 
grievances and complaints.

11. If You Are Pregnant 
Any pregnant woman can be “presumed 
eligible” at certain clinics and given limited 
pregnancy-related Medi-Cal immediately 
called “PE”, without proving pregnancy 
or providing information on property, car, 
or resources.  PE will help you get early 
prenatal care, lab tests and medication. 
You still have to apply for Medi-Cal if you 
want to continue your Medi-Cal benefits. 
Even to get full Medi-Cal you have 60 days 
to provide proof of pregnancy.

When you apply for Medi-Cal during preg-
nancy, you should add your spouse or any 
other eligible children to your case. 
If a woman is not more than 30 weeks 
pregnant and has too much income to be 
eligible for free Medi-Cal, she may be eli-
gible for a program called Medical Acccess 
Program (MAP). MAP used to be called 
Access for Infants and Mothers (AIM). Call 
MAP at (800) 433-2611.

As soon as the baby is born call your worker 
to report the name and birthdate to add 
the new baby to your family case record. 
The baby needs his or her own card by 
the end of the month after birth. But, you 
should not have to fill out a new Medi-Cal 
application for your baby.  If you have 
trouble reaching your worker to tell the 
worker about the birth of your baby, some 
WIC offices and clinics have “Newborn 
Referral Forms” you can fax to DPSS.  Or 
you can get one yourself on the computer 
at http://dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/forms/
Forms/mc330.pdf and download the form 
called, “Newborn Referral”.  It is number 
MC 330.  

You don’t have to provide a birth certificate 
or Social Security number until the baby’s 
first birthday.

If you take your baby to a CHDP provider, 
your baby can also get a card issued through 
the “CHDP Gateway”(see pg. 48 CHDP).

12. If You Are Disabled 
If you are disabled you may apply for 
regular Medi-Cal as an adult with income 
below 138% of the Federal Poverty Level. 
If you want to be evaluated for the Aged 
and Disabled Medi-Cal program you will 
need a disability determination. To find 















6. Provide Documentation
DPSS Medi-Cal offices are now able to 
electronically verify required information 
to determine if you can get Medi-Cal. If 
they are not able to verify some or all of 
the required information, then you will 
have to provide physical documentation 
to them. The following items are requred 
to determine if you are eligible. You may 
not have to show documentation of cars, 
property or bank accounts if you are under 

the age of 64.

•	  Identification with your name and cur-
rent address on it.   If you lack ID, 
you can also fill out a form called “PA 
853” and swear that you are who you 
say you are, or documents to verify 
income or disability status may also 
serve as proof of identity. 

•	 Social Security Number or Card (or proof 
of application for the card) only for 
those requesting "full-scope" benefits. 

•	 Proof of income (like check stubs, a 
copy of your tax return, or monthly 
bank statements if you have direct 
deposit or a self-affidavit (statement 
of income if you are paid in cash or 
do not have any other way to prove 
income)

•	 Proof that you live in Los Angeles County 
(a document that has your name and 
an address on it) for each adult on the 
application.   

•	 Proof of citizenship or acceptable im-
migration status for each person on 
the application who has declared 
acceptable immigration status.   If 
you are a parent applying for children 
only, you do not need to submit proof 
of your immigration status.

•	 Vehicle registration  if ownership of more 
than one vehicle is declared. 

•	 Verification of child or dependent care, 
educational expenses and/or health 
insurance premiums or court ordered 
child support payments can be used 
as deductions, but are not needed to 
determine eligibility. 

 

7. Cooperate with Child Support 
Services 
If one parent is absent, most people 
will have to cooperate with DPSS and a 
county agency called the Department of 
Child Support Services (DCSS.) You must 
provide information you have about the 
other parent such as an address or Social 
Security Number, to establish who your 
child’s absent father or mother is and 
whether that parent can provide the child 
with medical insurance.
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our which program would be best for you 
call: MCH Access (213) 749-4261 or the 
Health Consumer Center of Neighborhood 
Legal Services at (800) 896-3202.

13. If you are Diagnosed With 
Breast or Cervical Cancer 
If you are a man or woman diagnosed with 
breast cancer  or a woman diagnosed with 
cervical cancer, you can get free Medi-Cal 
immediately, and during the entire time 
you are receiving cancer treatment, if your 
monthly income is less than 200% of the 
Federal Poverty Level through the Breast 
and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program 
(BCCTP).  There are no resource limits 
for this program.  To get on Medi-Cal right 
away (called “Accelerated Eligibility”), you 
must go to a provider who participates in 
this program to file an internet applica-
tion.  You should state that you want the 
internet application to serve as a Medi-Cal 
application so you will be eligible for the 
program for a longer period of time.  
To find a health facility near you that 
participates in this program or who will 
screen you for cancer, call the Los Angeles 
County Office of Women’s Health at (800) 
793-8090 or the State Office of Woment's 
Health at (800) 824-0088.   Depending 
on your age or immigration status, you 
may get “full scope” (regular) Medi-Cal 
or you may get time limited Medi-Cal for 
cancer-related services only 18 months for 
breast cancer and 24 months for cervical 
cancer.  Call 1-800-824-0088 for more 
information. 

14. Retroactive Benefits
If you had medical, dental or pharmacy 
services from a Medi-Cal provider in the 
three months before you applied for Medi-
Cal, ask your worker for a form to apply 
for “retroactive benefits.” Both the paper 
and on-line application sites will ask you if 
you had medical expenses in the last three 
months. If you did, check Yes.If you were 
eligible for Medi-Cal during those three 
months, Medi-Cal may pay those bills. If 
you’ve already paid the bills and Medi-Cal 
covers the services, your clinic, doctor, 
dentist, or pharmacist must provide the 
refund to you.  If you have trouble getting 
a refund, call The Health Consumer Center 
at (800) 896-3203.

Income Limits

Your countable income determines whether 
or not you can get Medi-Cal for free or 
whether you have to pay a “Share of Cost.” 
(You only pay a "share of cost" in months 
when you actually use services.) 
The different Medi-Cal programs have 
different rules for how income is counted 
and which deductions to allow. 
In general, adults under age 64 and 
children may qualify for what is called a 
"MAGI" Medi-Cal program. The rules for 
these programs count the income of the 
person filing taxes in the house and some 
dependents. For information call : Legal 
Aid (pg. 68) or the Health Consumer Center 
(800) 896-3202.

Adults aged 65 and older and some dis-
abled people may qualify for a "Non-MAGI" 
Medi-Cal program. In these programs, 
only the income of the family unit being 
given the Medi-Cal counts, not of others 
who may live in the house but aren't part 
of the application.

Elderly (65 and older), blind or disabled 
persons can deduct:
•	 $20 from any income 
•	 $65 from earned income 
•	 Half of any remaining earned income 
•	 Any health insurance premiums paid 

by you. 
Some elderly or disabled people, even 
though not receiving SSI, may get free 
Medi-Cal if the countable monthly income 
is less than $1203(an individual) or 
$1621(a married couple, both disabled 
or elderly). This is called the “Aged and 
Disabled Federal Poverty Level Medi-Cal 
program. You cannot get free Medi-Cal if 
your income is even a dollar over these 
limits. Special income deductions and 
exemptions apply, so even if you think 
your income may be too high, you can 
apply and check with Health Consumer 
Center at 800-896-3203 or Legal Aid 
(800) 399-4LAW

Special low-cost Medi-Cal for working 
disabled persons: 
If you are a disabled person with share 
of cost Medi-Cal you may be able to get 
cheaper Medi-Cal with a low monthly 
premium if you are working. Your job 
can be any job that pays you income, no 
matter how small.This program is called 
the “250% Working Disabled Medi-Cal” 
program. If you qualify, you will have to 
pay a monthly premium that goes up the 
more income that you have. These monthly 
premiums range from $20 to $250 for an 

individual and $30 to $375 for a couple 
(both receiving 250% benefits). Again, 
special income deductions and exemp-
tions apply, so apply even if you think 
your income may be too high and check 
with the Health Consumer Center (800) 
896-3203 or Legal Aid. 

Share of Cost

Some people must pay, or agree to pay, a 
“Share of Cost” for each month that they 
have a medical expense. Medi-Cal will 
then pay the rest of the bill for covered 
services that month. 

You do not have a Share of Cost if: 
•	 You are in one of the groups that receive 

free Medi-Cal (such as those getting 
CalWORKs, SSI, foster care, adoption 
assistance, or the Aged and Disabled 
programs)

•	 Your countable income is below the 
limit in the chart on page 40.

If you have Medi-Cal with a Share of Cost, 
your Share of Cost starts over every month. 
You don’t have to pay anything in months 
that you have no medical expense. You 
can use your past medical bills and the 
medical bills of family members listed on 
your application to meet your Share of Cost, 
including unpaid bills that they are trying 
to collect from you. You cannot count the 
same billed item or service twice, but you 
can carry the balance of an unpaid bill over 
to later months if a bill is for more than 
your Share of Cost. If your income goes 
down, tell your worker so that your “Share 
of Cost” will go down.

1. Share of Cost for Children
Children whose family income is too high 
for free Medi-Cal can get Medi-Cal with a 
Share of Cost.
An increase in income is not counted 
toward a share of cost for children up to 
age 19 who are on no-cost Medi-Cal until 
their next scheduled annual redetermina-
tion.  So, even if the child’s parents start 
making more money and the parents have 
to start immediately paying a Share of 
Cost as a result, the child still receives 
Medi-Cal for free until their next annual 
redetermination. 


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2. Reporting Changes for Adults 
Adults must report to DPSS any significant 
changes that may affect their eligibility 
within 10 days after the change. You 
must quickly report to your worker if you 
move, begin making more money (or less 
money), someone moves in or out of your 
home or you are pregnant. Even if you 
report a change that hurts your eligibility, 
you have important rights before the DPSS 
cuts your Medi-Cal.

3. Losing Welfare Does Not 
Mean That You Lose Medi-Cal 
If you leave CalWorks due to a sanction, 
time limit, or make too much money, you do 
not lose Medi-Cal.  If you lose your Medi-Cal 
after you leave welfare, contact your worker 
to find out how to get back on Medi-Cal. 
If you need further help, call the Health 
Consumer Center at (800) 896-3203 or 
Legal Aid for help and advice. 

4. Transitional Medi-Cal (TMC)
You might be eligible for up to one year of 
free (no Share of Cost) Medi-Cal (called 
Transitional Medi-Cal or TMC) if you lost 
CalWORKs or Section 1931(b) Medi-Cal 
because you started to work and are earn-
ing too much money.  
if you are eligible, during the first six 
months of TMC you and your family 
qualify for free Medi-Cal no matter how 
much income you have. After that, you 
remain eligible for TMC if your income is 
not more than the limits in the chart on 
the next page. 
Adults and children can get TMC for up 
to one year.  You can receive TMC more 
than once in your lifetime. If your income 
goes down you can qualify again for regular 
Medi-Cal.   If it then goes up again you 
can return to TMC with new time limits.   
When children are no longer eligible for 
TMC they should be screened for the Medi-
Cal Targeted Low-Income Health Program.

There are no “resource” or property limits 
for TMC. TMC requires regular reports like a 
SAR-7 for cash aid, but on a different form.

Income Limit for Transitional Medi-Cal

	 # in Family	 Gross Income Limit
	 1			   $1,800	
	 2			   $2,426	
	 3			   $3,051	
	 4			   $3,677
	 5			   $4,303	
	 6			   $4,929	
	 7			   $5,555	

(Accurate as of 2014)

5. Four Month Continuing Medi-
Cal 

If an adult loses CalWORKs because he 
or she starts getting more child or spousal 
support, he or she can get free Continuing 
Medi-Cal, regardless of income, but just for 
four months. It is important that you turn 
in a change reporting form explaining why 
you are leaving CalWORK, to help make 
sure you get Transitional or Continuing 
Medi-Cal. The children’s free Medi-Cal 
continues until their next scheduled annual 
redetermination.

6. Former Foster Children

If you were in Foster Care on your 18th 
birthday, you may be automatically eligible 
for free Medi-Cal until you turn 26, even 
if your income goes up. To enroll, you can 
contact the Former Foster Care District at 
(626) 569-2968. If you lose Medi-Cal, call 
the Alliance for Children’s Rights (213) 
368-6010 or the Health Consumer Center 
at (800) 896-3203 for assistance.

7. Keep Medi-Cal until DPSS 
Proves You Are No Longer 
Eligible

DPSS must send you a written Notice 
of Action at least 10 days before it cuts 
off, denies, delays or reduces your Medi-
Cal benefits.  (See pg. 66 Hearings and 
Complaints).

If a change occurs that hurts your ability 
to get Medi-Cal, DPSS must determine if 
you are eligible for any other type of Medi-
Cal, before sending you a notice of action 
cutting off your benefits. They have to look 
in your record for any missing necessary 
information. DPSS can send you a form 
that only asks for the information it needs; 
it cannot ask for information it already has 
or does not need to determine whether you 
are still eligible for Medi-Cal. 

DPSS must give you at least 20 days to 
complete and return the form. If you don't 
return the completed form, DPSS will send 
you a written notice of action that they 
will reduce or stop your Medi-Cal benefits. 
If your form is incomplete, DPSS must 
first try to contact you by telephone and 
writing to get missing information before 
it stops or reduces your benefits. If you 
send in your form within 30 days of being 
cut from Medi-Cal, and that information 
show you were still eligible, DPSS must 
restore Medi-Cal benefits without making 
you reapply.



2. Share of Cost if you are be-
tween the ages of 19 and 65, 
not blind, not disabled 
To find out your monthly Share of Cost, 
start with your gross monthly income. 
Include spouse or parent income, but not 
other people living in your house. Then 
subtract the need level for your family 
size on the chart on page 40. The balance 
is your monthly Share of Cost. For more 
information contact Legal Aid (Pg. 68)

3. Share of Cost if you are over 
65, blind or disabled
To find out your monthly Share of Cost, 
start by adding your earned and unearned 
income, and subtract $20.  Then subtract 
the need level amount for your family size 
in the chart on page 40.For more informa-
tion contact Legal Aid (Pg. 68)

Resource Limits

The resource limit does not apply to people 
applying for a "MAGI" Medi-Cal program.  
For anyone else, your family’s resources 
must be below the following limits to get 
Medi-Cal: 

# in Family	 Resource Limit	

	1		      $2,000	
	2		      $3,000	
	3		      $3,150	
	4		      $3,300	
	5		      $3,450	
	6		      $3,600	
	7		      $3,750	
	8		      $3,900	
	9		      $4,050	
10 or more	     $4,200	

The home you live in, furnishings, personal 
items, and some non-term life insurance 
policies don’t count.  For "Non-MAGI" 
Medi-Cal, one car does not count. There 
are other exemptions if a vehicle is used 
as part of employment and for transporting 
a family member with a disability.

Staying On Medi-Cal

1. Once a Year Eligibility Form 

People receiving Medi-Cal get a form in 
the mail every 12 months that needs to 
be completed to redetermine eligibility. 




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doctor and your health plan choice for 
each person in the family who is required 
to choose a health plan. Your packet will 
include a directory with some of the doc-
tors, doctor groups, medical groups and 
health plan choices in your area. If you don’t 
see your doctor you can call Health Care 
Options and ask for a county or other area 
directory, or just call your clinic and ask 
which plans they take. Fill out the “choice 
form” and send it back to Health Care Op-
tions within 30 days. Keep the pink copy 
of the form for your records. Mail the form 
in the postage paid envelope provided, or 
send the form by certified mail. If you don’t 
complete the form and return it within 30 
days, the state will choose a health plan 
for you that may not be convenient for you. 
To get a packet or more information, call 
Health Care Options at  (800) 430-4263 
or  (800) 430-9009. The TDD line for 
hearing impaired is  (800) 430-7077. If 
you have questions or problems call the 
Health Consumer Center at (800) 896-
3203 for assistance. 
 
It is very important to consult with any 
health care provider you already have and 
want to keep seeing before choosing a 
plan. You should also ask if you can keep 
going to the clinic, pharmacy and hospital 
that you want. 
You and your other family members may 
choose to join the same health plan and 
chose the same doctor, called a “Primary 
Care Provider” (PCP), or you can choose 
different health plans and PCPs. 

Once you select a health plan, you will 
be mailed a plastic health plan member-
ship card to use when you need medical 
services. Enrollment usually takes 30-45 
days. If you or your family need medical 
care before you receive the health plan 
card, you may use the regular State Medi-
Cal Benefits Identification Card (BIC), or 
if you are already in an health plan and 
are just switching plans, use your current 
health plan until you are told you are in 
the new one.

People in the groups that may, but do not 
have to, enroll in a health plan will  au-
tomatically get a packet in the mail even 
though they do not have to join a plan. You 
should not be asked to make a choice of 
a health plan when you apply or at your 
renewal. People who are already in a health 
plan when they apply for Medi-Cal should 
not get a packet in the mail. 
You may be asked to attend a “Health Care 
Options” talk. You do not have to go. If 
you go, you do not have to choose a plan 
that day unless you want to. 


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8. If You Move

Be sure to report your change of address 
to your eligibility worker. Keep using your 
Medi-Cal card. If you move to a new county, 
report the change if you can to DPSS and 
also to the welfare office in the new county.
The counties should manage the transfer 
of your case. If you move to another county 
you may also have to change your managed 
care plan. To change your plan call Health 
Care Options at 1-800-430-4263.

9. If You Were Billed Twice

The doctor or health service provider cannot 
bill both you and Medi-Cal for the same 
care. If you think your doctor has billed 
you unfairly, you should contact the Health 
Consumer Center at (800) 896-3203 or 
Legal Aid (800) 399-4529. 

10. Lost or Stolen Cards 

Notify your worker and a replacement card 
will be sent to you. If there is a medical 
emergency, you may receive a written 
notice of eligibility at your welfare office. 

How Do I Choose My Care?

There are two ways to receive your medical 
care under Medi-Cal:
•	 ”Fee for service” (regular Medi-Cal),
•	 or Managed Care (Health Plan). 
These are also called HMOs (Health Main-
tenance Organizations). Most Medi-Cal 
participants must enroll in a Health Plan. 

Medi-Cal recipients who may, but do not 
have to, enroll in an Health Plan include:
•	 Children in foster care or the Adoption 

Assistance Program 
•	 People who get health care from an 

Indian Health Service Program.

Medi-Cal recipients who cannot enroll in 
a Medi-Cal Managed Care Health Plan 
•	 People who get Medi-Cal only for emer-

gency and pregnancy related services 
(restricted Medi-Cal) 

•	 Recipients with a Share of Cost, re-
stricted Medi-Cal or who also have one 
of the following; private insurance, or 
CHAMPUS PRIME HMO.

1.	 Fee-for-Service (Regular 
Medi-Cal)

In regular Medi-Cal you can use any doctor, 
clinic, hospital, pharmacy or other provider 
willing to accept Medi-Cal. You must tell 
the doctor or clinic that you have Medi-

Cal before you get care. If you don’t, the 
provider can legally bill you for all services 
that you get. A provider cannot accept 
your Medi-Cal for some part of your care 
and then charge you money and refuse to 
bill Medi-Cal for other parts of your care, 
unless that provider does not provide that 
service under Medi-Cal. For example, a 
doctor cannot accept your Medi-Cal for 
your prenatal care but then refuse to bill 
Medi-Cal for your blood tests and try to 
charge you. 

2. Managed Care (“Health 
Plan”)

When you join a health plan, you must see 
the doctors, pharmacists and hospitals that 
are part of your plan. You must select a 
health plan and a primary care provider 
that is in the health plan.  Unless you have 
an emergency, you must get approval for 
most of your care from your primary care 
provider.  The health plan will receive 
money each month for your health care 
even if you don’t get services. The health 
plan is responsible for providing or making 
arrangements for you to get all Medi-Cal 
covered services. You should first see your 
doctor within four months of joining the 
health plan. You can contact Health Care 
Options (HCO) at (800) 430-4263 to enroll 
or change plans.

After you are in a health plan, you may still 
use your Benefits Identification Card (BIC) 
to get family planning, dental, and mental 
health services outside of the health plan. 
If you have any questions contact Legal 
Aid (pg. 68).

3.	Dental Care

Dental care is fee-for-service in Los An-
geles unless you choose to join a dental 
plan.  In fee-for-service, you must get all 
your dental services from a dental provider 
willing to accept Medi-Cal. If you are in  
fee-for-service you can find a dentist by 
calling (800) 322-6384 Monday through 
Friday 8 am to 5 pm, or online at www.
denti-cal.ca.gov.   If you enroll in a dental 
plan, you will recieve primary care from the 
dentist you selected. If you are In a dental 
plan and want to switch to fee for service 
dental care call Health Care Options at 
(800)430-4263 for help.

4. How to Choose a Health Plan

When you first enroll in Medi-Cal you will 
get a packet in the mail from the state. 
The packet will contain a “Medi-Cal Choice 
Form” that must be filled out with the 




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7. Hearings, Grievances, and 
Leaving a Managed Care Health 
Plan 
If your health plan denies services or you 
are not satisfied with the services, you have 
many options. You can file a grievance 
with your health plan. Your health plan 
must tell you how to file a grievance. The 
health plan must resolve your grievance 
within 30 days, or less if you have an 
emergency. If you are still not satisfied 
complain in writing to the Department of 
Managed Health Care HMO Help Center, 
IMR Unit, 980 Ninth Street, Suite 500, 
Sacramento, CA 95814-2725. Their 
phone number is (888) 460-2219, TDD 
(877) 688-9891. Or you can go to their 
website at www.hmohelp.ca.gov.
Mandatory participants in health plans can 
change to a different plan for any reason. 
Voluntary participants can change plans 
or can go back to regular Medi-Cal for 
any reason. To change or leave a health 
plan, call Health Care Options at (800) 
430-4263 and request a “choice form.” 

If you want help with complaints and 
grievances call an advocacy group for 
assistance or call:
Health Care Consumer Center 
	 (800) 896-3203 
Managed Care Ombudsman 
	 (888) 452-8609
Department of Managed Care 
(888) HMO-2219 
Medi-Cal Managed Care Ombudsman 	
	 (888) 452-8609
You can also find information online at 
http://www.dmhc.ca.gov/

You can call  (800) 400-0815 if your 
health plan gives you problems. If your 
health plan is denying you care because 
it does not think it is medically necessary, 
but you disagree, you can ask for an inde-
pendent medical review which is done by 
a group of doctors and professionals who 
do not work for your health plan. 

You have the right to ask for a fair hearing. 
(see page 66, "Hearings and Complaints.") 
While waiting for a state hearing, the 
health plan must continue to provide 
medical services to you, if you request 
the hearing before the effective date of 
the intended action.

8. Mental Health Managed Care

Mental Health services for Medi-Cal recipi-
ents are also provided through a managed 
care system. See page 52.  


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You will also receive a packet in the mail 
about dental managed care. Enrolling in 
a dental plan is optional; you don't have 
to enroll. If you choose not to enroll, you 
can still use your Medi-Cal card with any 
dentist who accepts Denti-Cal to get dental 
services.

5. Medical Exemptions and 
Continuity of Care

Most participants must enroll in a health 
plan; unless you apply for and receive a 
“Medical Exemption” in order to keep 
regular fee for service Medi-Cal. You may 
be able to get an exemption if you have 
a “complex medical condition” such as 
pregnancy, kidney disease, diabetes, HIV/
AIDS, cancer, asthma, or multiple scle-
rosis, or  receive skilled nursing services 
at your home, AND if the doctor or clinic 
that treats you is not part of any available 
offered health plan and you would lose 
them if you joined a plan .  The state is 
now making it very difficult to get medical 
exemptions and you may need an advocate 
to assist you and your doctor.  See “Good 
Advice (pg. 68) for advocate listing.

You and your doctor must fill out a form 
called "Request for Medical Exemption 
From Plan Enrollment" (which is in the 
packet that you get in the mail) and send 
it to the state.   Do this before the date 
you would have choose a health plan.  If 
the state denies your exemption, file an 
appeal.  You should be able to stay in 
regular Medi-Cal while a decision is made 
on your appeal.

The exemption is good for up to 12 months. 
After the 12 months, you will get another 
packet in the mail to complete, or you 
must request another Medical Exemption. 
You may call Heath Care Options if you 
have questions, or you can call the Health 
Consumer Center at (800) 896-3203 for 
assistance.

6. Fees

In both health plans and regular Medi-Cal, 
you may have to pay $1.00 for prescrip-
tions and many services unless you are 
pregnant, over age 64, or under age 19. 
Also, there may be a charge of $5.00 for 
non-emergency care given in the emer-
gency room. The state is currently not 
collecting these fees.

Medi-Cal for Teens
If you are between 12 and 21 years old, 
you can apply for “Minor Consent Services” 
to get free and confidential medical treat-
ment without parental consent related to:
•	 Drug or alcohol abuse (except metha-

done treatment) 
•	 Sexually transmitted infections 
•	 Pregnancy and abortion 
•	 Family planning 
•	 Outpatient mental health (not overnight 

in a hospital) 
•	 Sexual abuse
If you are under 21 and living with your 
parents, or temporarily away such as in 
school, you may apply for Minor Consent 
Medi-Cal to cover these specific services 
without your parents’ consent or knowl-
edge. If you are a minor who is living on 
your own you may complete a regular 
Medi-Cal application.

Your parents won’t be required to give in-
formation about their income or resources 
or pay toward the medical services, unless 
you want Medi-Cal for services other than 
those listed above. 

DPSS won’t tell your parents or send let-
ters to your home without your permission. 
‘’Minor Consent Services” are available 
regardless of your immigration status 
and cover more services than restricted 
Medi-Cal.

To apply, fill out the regular Medi-Cal 
application and another short form for 
Minor Consent Services at DPSS or with 
a DPSS Worker at the site where you are 
receiving care. You will have to fill out a 
new short form each month you need treat-
ment, except for mental health services. 
For that, you need a letter from a mental 
health professional explaining that you 
meet certain conditions for getting mental 
health services and how long you will need 
treatment. You will still have to complete 
the short form each month to update your 
eligibility.

If you already get Medi-Cal through your 
parents’ case, you may already have a 
plastic Medi-Cal card, but do not use it 
for Minor Consent services.
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How Do I Get Help on My 
Case? 

If you have trouble calling your worker, 
it may be because some district offices 
now use the Customer Service Line -866-
613-3777. 

You will need your case number or your 
client ID number for them to look up your 
case.  The Client ID# is located on any 
Medi-Cal notice of action in the upper right 
hand corner of the notice (the last line of 
information after your name, case number, 
etc.  In some cases, the customer service 
representative may be able to look up your 
case info with your name and date of birth. 

To look up your case online you will need 
the Client ID # and a PIN number.  You 
should have received a PIN number on 
a separate notice.  Online, you will have 
updated information on the status of 
your case. 

You can also call 211 and they can give 
you the DPSS Customer Service Line or 
Help Line numbers.

Central Help Line / 		
Customer Service Line

Health and Nutrition Hotline/Customer 
Service Line
1-877-597-4777 for all of LA County

They will help you with things like:
•	 General information on Medi-Cal
•	 Direct number of worker
•	 Case number (if caller is on the case)
•	 Card number (if caller is on the case)
•	 If caller has moved and needs to get 

Medi-Cal in another state, city or 
county – they can tell you if you have 
an active case in LA

Medi-Cal

CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE –
(866)613-3777 for specific district offices
Look at page 70- DPSS offices using the 
Customer Service Line.  

A representative from Customer service 
can access your case instead of calling the 
workers directly.  They will help you with 
small changes and issues like:
•	 Report change of address
•	 Telephone number changed
•	 Send replacement benefits cards
•	 Change in income (making more or less)
•	 Need to contact or schedule an appoint-

ment with worker
You will need your client ID #, case no. 
or they might look you up with your name 
and birthdate if you don't know other 
information.

 information.
Where Can I Apply?

You can apply at county offices on page 
66 and/or at any of the following First 
5-funded agencies.  

Lancaster, Northern LA, Palmdale:

Tarzana Treatment Center 661-726-2630 

Burbank, Glendale, San Fernando Valley, 
Santa Clarita, Northridge:

Asian Pacific Health Care Venture 		
323-644-3880 (Also East LA/Metro LA)

Tarzana Treatment Center  818-342-5897

Child and Family Guidance Center    	
818-882-3147

Northeast Valley Health Corp. 		
800-696 -3842

Valley Community Clinic 818-763-8836 

El Monte, Monrovia, San Gabriel Valley, 
Pomona:

Citrus Valley Health Partners		
626-851-2748

East LA, Metro LA:

California Hospital Medical Center 		
213-742-5537

Chinatown Service Center 213-808-1700

KHEIR  213-637-1080

West Side: Venice Family Clinic                	
310-664-7509

South LA: 

California Hospital Medical Center   		
213-742-5537

Community Health Councils (Also East LA/
Metro LA)  323-295-5500

Southeast LA County:

AltaMed Health Services Corporation                       
877-462-2582

South Asian Network 562-403-0488

Human Services Association 		
562-806-5400

St. Francis Medical Center 800-603-9355

Carson, Hawthorne, Inglewood, Lawndale, 
Lomita:

Crystal Stairs 323-299-9295

Long Beach:

Dept. of Health	 562-570-7979

Pasadena, Altadena, Sierra Madre:

Pasadena Public Health Department 626-
744-6086

Health Consumer Center of Los Angeles 

800-896-3202

LAUSD – CHAMP Helpline

866-742-2273

Countywide Assistance:

Health Consumer Center 800-896-3202

MCH Access (Training and 

Troubleshooting, enrollment for 

East LA, South LA) 213-749-4261

Go Online to Find Help Near You: 

www.chigla.org
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Child Health

Health Care for Children

What Health Care Is There 

for Kids Under 19?
Medi-Cal For Children 

Children birth to 19 who are not eligible 
for the family based Medi-Cal programs 
will be enrolled in Medi-Cal’s Targeted Low 
Income Program For Children. The value of 
things you own (“resources”) don’t count 
against you.

To be eligible for Medi-Cal’s Targeted Low 
Income Program For Children, the monthly 
income must be less than 266% of the 
Federal Poverty Level. See chart on page 
40 for what that means. Families with 
income above 160% of the Federal Poverty 
Level will have to pay a monthly premium 
of $13 per child   with a maximum pay-
ment of $39 per family.
See page 43- Share of Cost for children 
for income limits.  
For information on immigration status and 
how to apply please see page 41  in the 
Medi-Cal section. 

What Other Programs Are 

There? 
1. Healthy Kids and Kaiser 
Permanente 

Healthy Kids is provided through the LA 
Care Health Plan for children from birth 
through age 5 who do not qualify for full 
scope (regular) no-cost Medi-Cal or for 
insurance through Covered California. 
Healthy Kids is only enrolling children 
ages 0-5 ½.

Family income must be below the limits 
in the chart below. There are low-cost 
monthly premiums of $4 or $6 and small 
payments at visits.  You only pay for two 
children monthly no matter how many are 
enrolled. Call (888) 452-5437 for more 
information.

Healthy Kids Eligibility 

  Family Size	 Monthly Income limit 	
				            	
   1			   $3,890	
   2			   $5,244	
   3			   $6,597	
   4			   $7,950	
   5			   $9,304	
   6			   $10,657	

Children who grow out of Healthy Kids 
at age 6 can enroll in My Health LA at 
a community partner (visit www.ccalac.
org), or enroll in Kaiser Permanente Child 
Health Program.

Kaiser Permanente Child Health Program:
Children under age 19 who are not eligible 
for full-scope (regular) no-cost Medi-Cal or 
insurance through Covered California may 
be eligible for Kaiser Permanente Child 
Health Program. There are no immigration 
requirements. The monthly cost is $10 or 
$20 and there are no copayment costs for 
visits.  Dental, mental health and vision 
care are included.  Enrollment is limited 
to the open enrollment period (Nov 15, 
2014 through Feb. 15, 2015.) Outside of 
Open Enrollment, a child may qualify for a 
Special Enrollment Period. For more infor-
mation visit http://info.kaiserpermanente.
org/html/child_health_plan/index.html or 
call Maternal & Child Health Access at 
(213) 749-4261.



2. Child Health and Disability 
Program (CHDP) 

CHDP provides free early and regular health 
exams for many low-income children up to 
19 years of age; Medi-Cal eligible children 
up to 21 years of age; and Head Start and 
State preschool children. There are no im-
migration requirements, however, visits are 
allowed based on a “periodicity schedule”, 
with some exceptions for physical exams 
needed for school, for children in foster 
care and for problems that might occur 
between screenings.  Children in Medi-Cal 
Managed Care can get more screenings 
than the state’s schedule allows. CHDP of-
fers physical exams, immunizations, vision 
and hearing testing, lead poisoning testing, 
nutritional check, teeth and gum check, 
and some lab tests including sickle cell. 
For more information call (800) 993-2437.

3. California Children’s Services 

Children’s Medical Services (or California 
Children’s Services) case manages and 
provides health services for children up 
to age 21 with eligible major medical 
conditions caused by accidents, diseases, 
and congenital disabilities, whether or not 
the children also have Medi-Cal. Undocu-
mented children may qualify if their parents 
live in Los Angeles County. For eligibility 
information, call (800-288-4584). Service 
providers are all over the county.

Family income must be less than 250% 
of the Federal Poverty Level(see pg. 40) 
per year, or may be greater if their CCS 
related medical expenses are expected to 
be more than 20% of the family’s income.  

There is no family income limit for children 
who need services to confirm a CCS-eligible 
medical condition; or were adopted with a 
known CCS-eligible medical condition; or 
are applying only for services through the 
Medical Therapy Program; or if they are 
"full scope" Medi-Cal beneficiaries with 
no share of cost.






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Free and Low Cost Health Care
In an emergency, it is a legal and ethical 
duty for every clinic or hospital emergency 
room to provide emergency care, regardless 
of immigration status or ability to pay. Know 
your rights and ask for the help you need 
(Veterans see pg 27).

Free and Low Cost 

Hospitals and Clinics
1. County Hospitals and Clinics
County Health Dept. 
(Services, Referrals to Clinics, 
or Complaints)  
(800) 427-8700 
On-line: www.ladhs.org, click on “clinics” 
and then click on “Patient Information.”  

County Hospitals: 
Harbor-UCLA 
1000 W. Carson St., Torrance 90509
(310) 222-2345
High Desert  Health System (Out patient 
visits only)
44900 N. 60th St. W., Lancaster 93536
(661) 948-8581
Martin Luther King Hospital/Drew (Urgent 
care and out patient visits only)
12021 S. Wilmington Ave., LA 90059
(310) 668-2622
Los Angeles County/USC 
1200 N. State St., LA 90033
(323) 226-2622
Olive View 
14445 Olive View Dr., Sylmar 91342
(818) 364-1555
Rancho Los Amigos National 
Rehabilitation Center
7601 E. Imperial Highway, Downey 90242 
(877) 726-2461

Comprehensive Health Centers: 
Mid Valley
7515 Van Nuys Blvd. Van Nuys 91405        
(818) 947-0230
El Monte  
10953 Ramona Blvd., El Monte 91731
(626)579-8463
H. Claude Hudson 
2829 S. Grand Ave., LA 90007
(213) 744-4716
Hubert Humphrey 
5850 S. Main Street, LA 90003
(323) 846-4104
Long Beach 
1333 Chestnut, Long Beach 90813
(562) 599-2153
Edward R. Roybal 
245 S. Fetterly Ave., LA 90022
(323) 780-2373

 2. Free/Low Cost Health Clinics 
in Los Angeles County 
  
See also http://www.ccalac.org. Click on 
"Find a Clinic"
Antelope Valley
Tarzana Treatment Center
907 West Lancaster Blvd.,93534
(661) 726-2630

San Fernando Valley
All for Health, Health for All
519 E Broadway, Glendale CA 91205
(818) 409-3020
Northeast Valley Health Corp.
12756 Van Nuys Blvd., Pacoima,91331
(818) 896-0531
Mission City Community Network 
15206 Parthenia St, North Hills, 91343 
 (818) 895-3100 
Northeast Valley Health Corp.- 
1600 San Fernando Rd, 91340
(818) 365-8086
El Proyecto del Barrio 
8902 Woodman Av., Arleta, 91331
(818) 830-7133
20800 Sherman Way, 91306 
(818) 883-2273
North Hollywood Health Center 
5300 Tujunga Ave.,  91601 
(818) 766-3982 
Northeast Valley Health Corp./ Valencia 
Health Center
23763 Valencia Blvd., 91355
(661) 287-1551
Canoga Park Health Center
7107 Remmet Ave., 91303 
 (818) 365-8086 
Pacoima Health Center
13300 Van Nuys Blvd.,  91331
(818) 896-1903
Glendale Health Center
501 North Glendale Ave., 91206
(818) 500-5785
San Fernando Health Center
1212 Pico Street, San Fernando CA 91340
 (818) 837-6969
Tarzana Treatment Center-West Valley
18646 Oxnard Street, Tarzana CA 91356
(818) 996-7019
Valley Community Clinic
6801 Coldwater Canyon Ave, 91605
(818) 763-8836

San Gabriel Valley
AltaMed Health Services
10454 East Valley Blvd., El Monte, 91731
(626) 453-8466

El Monte La Puente Health Center
15930 Central Ave., La Puente CA 91744
 (626) 855-5300
Community Health Alliance of Pasadena 
330 West Maple Ave., Pasadena CA 91103 
(626) 256-1600
Monrovia Health Center
1855 N. Fair Oaks Ave., Monrovia, 91016
 (626) 398-6300
Durfee Family Care Medical Group
2006 Durfee Ave., El Monte, 91733
(626) 442-5015
Pomona Clinic Coalition
1770 N. Orange Grove Ave., 91767
(909) 622-6516
El Monte Comprehensive Health Center
10953 Ramona Blvd., El Monte, 91731
(800) 383-4600
El Proyecto del Barrio
150 North Azusa Avenue, Azusa, 91702
(626) 969-7885
Pomona Health Center
750 S. Park Ave., Pomona, 91766
(909) 868-0235
Ramona Health Plan Medical Group
14051 E. Ramona Pkwy., Baldwin Park, 
91706
(626) 338-7338
Whittier Health Center
7643 South Painter Ave, Whittier, 90602
(562) 464-5350
Yu Care Medical Group, Inc.
210 N. Garfield Ave. #203, Monterey Park, 
91754 (626) 307-7397

Metro LA
Altamed Health Services Corporation - 
Buena Care
1701 Zonal Avenue, LA  90033
(323) 223-6146
Estrada Courts
1305 South Concord Street, Suite 18, LA  
90023  	(323) 981-9816
Ramona Gardens
1424 Crusado Lane, Suite 168, LA  90023
(323) 226-0623
William Mead
268 E. Bloom St, Suite 322, LA 90012	
(323) 276-0267
Arroyo Vista Family Health Foundation - 
El Sereno
4815 East Valley Boulevard, Suite C, LA 
90032	 (323) 222-1134
Highland Park
6000 North Figueroa Street, LA 90042
(323) 254-5221
Lincoln Heights
2411 North Broadway, LA  90031
(323) 987-2000




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Loma Drive
303 South Loma Drive, Suite 202, LA  
90017	 (213) 201-5800
Asian Pacific Health Care Venture
1530 Hillhurst Avenue, LA  90027
(323) 644-3888
Chinatown Service Center
767 North Hill St, Suite 200, LA  90012
(213) 808-1792
Clinica Msr. Oscar A. Romero
123 South Alvarado Street, LA  90057
(213) 989-7700
Northeast Health Center
2032 Marengo Street, LA 90033
(323) 987-1030
Eisner Pediatric & Family Medical Center
1530 South Olive St., LA 90015
(213) 747-5542
JWCH Institute, Inc. - PATH
340 North Madison Avenue, LA  90004
(323) 644-2252
JWCH Institute, Inc. - Center for 
Community Health
522 San Pedro Street, LA 90013
(213) 622-2639
Korean Health Education, Information & 
Research (KHEIR) 3727 W. 6th Street, 
Ste. 220, LA  90020 (213) 637-1070
Koryo Health Foundation
1058 S. Vermont Ave, Ste 200 LA 90006
(213) 380-8833
Saban Free Clinic Beverly
8405 Beverly Boulevard, LA90048
(323) 653-1990
Hollywood
6043 Hollywood Boulevard, LA  90028 
(323) 653-1990
Wilshire Health Center
5205 Melrose Avenue, LA 90038 (323) 
653-8622
Martin Luther King, Jr
12021 S. Wilmington Ave., LA  90059 
(310) 668-5011
Queenscare Family Clinic
3242 W. 8th St, 90005 - 213-368-9779
Hollywood: 323-953-7170
4618 Fountain Ave, 90029
Eagle Rock: 323-344-5233
4448 York Blvd. 90041
Central Health Center: 213-240-8203
241 N. Figueroa St, 90012
East Los Angeles Health Task Force
2120 E. 6th St, 90023
323-881-1112
BAART-Beverly 213-353-1140
1926 W Beverly Blvd, 90057

West Los Angeles
Venice Family Clinics 
Culver City 
604 Rose Ave., (310) 392-8636
Rose Avenue Clinic
4401 Elenda St. Venice, CA 90291
(310) 392-8636

Mar Vista Gardens Clinic
1711 Ocean Park Blvd., 90405
(310) 450-2191
Santa Monica School Teen Clinic
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, 90405
(310) 392-8636
Simms/Mann Health and Wellness Center
2509 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica, 90405
(310) 392-8636
Frederick R.Weisman Family Center
622 Rose Avenue, Venice, 90291
(310) 392-8636
Levine Family Health Center
905 Venice Boulevard, Venice, 90291
(310) 392-8636
Westside Family Health Center
4909 Marionwood Dr. Culver City, 90230 
(310) 392-8636

South Los Angeles
Central City Community Health Center, Inc. 
5970 S. Central Ave., Los Angeles, 90001
(323) 234- 3280
University Muslim Medical Association
711 W. Florence Ave, Los Angeles, 90044
 (323) 789-5610
Compton Central Health Clinic, Inc. 
201 N. Central Avenue, Compton, 90220
(310) 635-7123
Watts Healthcare Corporation
-Crenshaw Community Health Center
10300 S. Compton Avenue, LA, 90002
(323) 564-4331
Northeast Community Clinic
1414 S. Grand Avenue, Ste 200, 90015
(213) 743- 9000
Family Medicine Inc.
8540 Alondra Blvd, Ste. B2, Paramount, 
90723		  (562) 602-2508
South Central Family Health Center
4425 South Central Avenue, LA 90011
(323) 908-4200

Bell and Bell Gardens

JWCH Institute
6912 S. Ajax Ave, Bell Gardens, 90201
(323) 562-5815
Northeast Community Clinic
4129 East Gate Ave, Bell, 90201
(323) 771-8400

San Pedro and SouthBay 
Harbor Free Clinics Children's Center
731 S. Beacon St., San Pedro, 90731
(310) 732-5887
Harbor Free Clinics Adult Center
593 West 6th Street, San Pedro, 90731
(310) 547-0202
Curtis R. Tucker Health Center 
123 W. Manchester Blvd, Inglewood,90301
(310) 419 5325
South Bay Family Healthcare Center
746 West Gardena Blvd, Gardena, 90247
(310) 802-6170

Dr. Claudia Hampton Clinic 
1091 La Brea Ave., Inglewood, 90301 
Westside Neighborhood Clinic
1436 W. 23rd St., Long Beach, 90810
(562) 595-5507
El Dorado Community Service Center 
4450 W. Century Blvd., Inglewood, 90304
(310) 671-0555
Wilmington Community Clinic
1009 North Avalon, Wilmington, 90744
(310) 549-5760
Redondo Beach Clinics
2114 Artesia Blvd.Redondo Beach, 90278
(310) 318-2521

3. Dental, Eye Care, and Hearing 
Dental:
Eisner Pediatric and Family Medical Center  
(213) 747-5542
Harbor-UCLA Dental (310) 222-3493
LA Free Dental Clinic (323) 653-1990
USC School of Dentistry 1-888-USC-DENT 
(1-888-872-3368)
QueensCare Echo Park (213) 380-7298 
Vision:
California Vision Foundation
1-800-877-5738
www.californiavision.org
Hearing
Agency on Deafness (323) 478-8000
Hearing Aid HotLine (800) 521-5247
Hear NOW (800) 648-4327
Community Health Alliance of Pasadena 
330 W. Maple Ave., Pasadena, 91103 
(626) 256-1600

   

How Do I Get Care if I 

Don't Qualify for Medi-Cal?

The County provides free or low-cost health 
services to people who can show proof 
that they live in L.A. County including 
low-income people who are not eligible for 
Medi-Cal or who have medical expenses 
that Medi-Cal, Medicare, and private insur-
ance will not fully cover.

Many people qualify for free care under 
the ” Ability To Pay” (ATP) plan or My 
Health LA (MHLA). 
County hospitals and clinics also offer a 
payment program called “Pre-Payment”.
The county contracts with over 100 
community clinics called “Community 
Partners” who provide free clinic   care 
for you if your income is  low (see charts 
in next column.)   
If you qualify for free care, you should not 
be asked to pay any fee by a community 
clinic,  county clinic or hospital. You should 
receive the same quality of care as those 
who pay. 


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1. Do I Qualify for Free Care 
under ATP or My Health LA?

You can get free hospital and clinic care if 
you get General Relief, or through MHLA 
or ATP, if your gross monthly  income 
(after special deductions) is below the 
following chart:

      # in Family	           Income	
	 1		  $1343	
	 2		  $1809	
	 3		  $2276	
	 4		  $2743	
	 5		  $3210	
	 6		  $3677	
		

(As of 2014)

If your income is higher than these amounts 
and you receive care at a County facility 
you may have to pay a reduced rate for 
services, depending upon your income.

2. How Do I Apply for MHLA 
or ATP? 

My Health LA (MHLA) is a no cost health 
program that provides health care coverage 
to low-income uninsured adults who don't 
qualify for "full scope" Medi-Cal.

You may be eligible for MHLA if:
•	 You are a Los Angeles County resident.
•	 You are 6 years of age or older
•	 You are not pregnant.
•	 You have no health care coverage
•	 You meet monthly income limits. (see 

above for income limits)

Health benefits at no cost to you include:
•	 Excellent quality primary care
•	 Many clinics and health centers to 

choose from as your medical home
•	 ID Card to let people know you are a 

member of MHLA
•	 Toll free member information line 

24 hours a day, 7 days a week, even 
on holidays

•	 Preventive and primary care services 
within 30 working days, as well as 
specialty care, hospital care, and 
emergency room visits at a LA County 
hospital or clinic

For more information, please call My Health 
LA Member Services.

ATP 
If you get your care, at a county clinic, it’s 
best to use ATP. ATP pays for all clinic and 
hospital care, including medicines, tests 
and lab work.  You must apply annually. 
If you don’t qualify for free ATP you might 
qualify for low-cost ATP.  The screener will 
figure out what you must pay, if anything, 
for each visit.

The application process is only one page 
asking about family size and income. 
However, you don’t need to bring docu-
ments to show proof of the information;  
you just sign a form stating that what you 
say is true.

 Later, random patients will be asked to 
provide documents to prove income.  Be 
sure to save your income  documents for 
at least one year after you apply.  ATP is 
good for one year, and at the end of one 
year you will have to apply again. 

To apply for ATP, you must make an ap-
pointment for a financial screening at a 
county hospital or clinic that has an ATP 
worker. Sometimes you will be able to 
be seen the same day, but you may have 
to wait. You do not have to wait for your 
financial screening to get care. If you ap-
pear to qualify for Medi-Cal, you will be 
asked to apply and either get a decision 
that you are not eligible or are only eligible 
for restricted benefits before an  ATP ap-
plication will be taken. 

Be very firm about your right to apply for 
free care and be sure to ask for ATP at the 
county clinics. If it is your first visit to a 
county hospital or clinic, they should give 
you a written notice regarding available 
plans, including ATP, to reduce the cost 
of your medical care. If you do not receive 
this notice at your first visit, ask for one. 
If the worker or the clinic screener you see 
tells you that you do not qualify for ATP 
or free care and you do not agree, ask to 
meet with the worker’s supervisor within 10 
working days. If you were found ineligible 
before, you may reapply. If you are unable 
to keep your screening appointment, call 
the worker immediately or you may be 
billed for the full cost of any treatment 
you have already received. 

Even if you do not qualify for ATP, you still 
have a chance to pay a low-cost fee for 
the outpatient services within seven days.  

3. Pre-Payment Plan 

The Pre-Payment Plan is only available 
at County clinics and hospitals. It cov-
ers cost of care but often does not cover 
your prescriptions (however, you can get 
emergency prescriptions, public health 
medicines, and medicines provided in the 
clinic at no cost). 

You do not have to prove your income, 
family size, or resources if you pay the fol-
lowing standard fees within seven days of 
treatment. But you do need to show proof 

that you live in L.A. County.
If you do not pay these fees, you will be 
billed for the much higher full amount 
cost of care:
•	 $80 at all County Comprehensive Care 

Centers, County Hospital Outpatient 
Clinics, and Public Health Centers; for 
prenatal visits, the first seven cost $60 
and remaining visits are free 

•	 $80 at County Comprehensive Health 
Center Urgent Care Centers

•	 $140 at County Hospital Emergency 
Rooms 

•	 $500 at Hospital Outpatient Surgery 
Clinics 

Most Community Partner clinics  also of-
fer  a sliding scale for  patients who don’t 
qualify for free care. 

4. What Else Should I Know? 

If you have any questions about your care, 
need referrals, or have a complaint, call 
the County Health line: (800) 427-8700.
You can also call the Health Consumer 
Hotline:(800) 896-3203. 
•	 If you receive free or low cost medical 

care, your medicines are free. 
•	 Non-citizens with restricted Medi-Cal 

coverage who live in L.A. County can 
apply for ATP or MHLA to cover non-
emergency care. 

•	 Before using ATP, you must use any 
other medical benefits you have such 
as private insurance, or outpatient 
Medicare. ATP will cover your deduct-
ible for private insurance, but will not 
cover inpatient Medicare deductibles 
and Medi-Cal “Share of Cost”. 

•	 Foreign visitors with a valid visa can 
receive emergency services at County 
hospitals and clinics, but are not 
entitled to ATP, Pre-Pay or MHLA  for 
medical services. They may apply for 
the County’s Out of County Discount 
Payment Plan. 

5.Cancer Detection Program:  
Every Woman Counts  (EWC) 
EWC provides free mammograms  for 
women age 40 and over and free pap 
smears for women over age 21. Your family 
income must be below 200% of poverty. 
The services are provided at doctors’ of-
fices, clinics and hospitals all over Los 
Angeles County. Call the Cancer Detection 
Program at (800) 511-2300. 






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Mental Health
     

If you believe you need mental health 
services, you should call the Local Mental 
Health Plan’s 24-hour “Access Center,” at 
(800) 854-7771, which can screen and 
evaluate your request for mental health 
services and can refer you to a mental 
health provider.  
County Mental Health authorizes and can 
provide treatment including  Medi-Cal 
“specialty mental health services” for all 
Medi-Cal recipients.

County Mental Health also authorizes and 
provides Medi-Cal recipients with other 
services to help them live and function 
in the community, including “EPSDT” 
supplemental services for children on 
Medi-Cal. 

If you do not have Medi-Cal or other health 
insurance, you can receive mental health 
services from County Mental Health. You 
are charged a fee based on a sliding scale, 
depending on your ability to pay. Therapists 
can request that the fee be waived if the 
fee will cause stress and hardship. 

Developmental Services

Children and adults who are developmen-
tally disabled due to Down’s Syndrome 
cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, have other 
qualifying conditions, or who are high-risk 
children up to age 3, may qualify for  ser-
vices through Regional Centers. 

California residents who are undocumented 
may be eligible. To apply call one of the 
listed Regional Centers and ask for “In-
take.” If you are found not eligible for these 
services, they must explain why.
East L.A.                   (626) 299-4700 
Harbor (Torrance)       (310) 540-1711 
Mid-Wilshire area       (213) 383-1300 
Sepulveda                 (818) 778-1900 
San Gabriel/Pomona   (800) 822-7504 
South Central L.A.      (213) 734-1884 
Culver City                 (310) 258-4000

Substance Abuse 

Treatment
There are several hundred alcohol and drug 
treatment programs all over LA County, 
offering both outpatient and residential 
treatment. To find a program close to you, 
call 1-800-564-6600. You will reach a 

local Community Assessment Service 
Center (CASC) for an appointment to find 
the right treatment program. If this is an 
emergency, please call 911. Many alcohol 
and drug treatment programs are full, so 
you may be put on a waiting list. Program 
costs vary. 
Homeless Health Care (213) 744-0724 
provides treatment services for homeless 
persons.

In Home Care and Long 

Term Care

1. In-Home Supportive Services 
(IHSS)

The In-Home Supportive Services Program 
(IHSS) helps pay for services to eligible 
persons to enable them to stay in their 
own homes. To be eligible you must qualify 
for Medi-Cal or SSi, be blind, disabled, or 
over 65, and need these services so you 
can remain safely in your home. IHSS is 
an alternative to out-of-home care such as 
nursing homes or board and care facilities.

Services which can be authorized include 
personal care, meal preparation, laundry, 
grocery shopping, housecleaning, trans-
portation to medical appointments and 
protective supervision for the mentally 
impaired. Services may sometimes be 
provided by a spouse or by the parent of a 
minor, with significant restrictions. 
You may qualify for IHSS if you live at home 
and need the services to remain there, and 
one of the following applies:
•	 You receive SSI or CAPI, even if 
you are working 
•	 You do not receive SSI but meet 
the SSI medical requirements, except for 
income or immigration status. 
•	 You do not receive SSI but meet 
the disability or age requirements of the 
SSI program. 

Someone now in an institution may also 
qualify if he or she could safely live at home 
if IHSS services were provided. 

You must also have limited income and 
resources ($2000 for one person and 
$3000 for a couple, not counting your 
home or an automobile used for work or 
medical appointments). 
If your income is too high to meet the 
SSI requirements, you may still qualify 
for IHSS but will have to pay a “Share of 
Cost”. Some IHSS recipients in certain 
Medi-Cal programs will have no Share 
of Cost based on income and allowable 
deductions.

If you do not currently receive SSI or 
Medi-Cal, your application for IHSS will 
be forwarded to Medi-Cal to evaluate for 
Medi-Cal eligibility.

IHSS applications are taken by telephone. 
You, or someone calling for you, may ap-
ply be calling toll free from anywhere in 
L.A. County at (888) 944-4477. A social 
worker will make an appointment to come 
to your home to see if you are eligible 
and determine what services IHSS can 
provide you. Within 30 days, you should 
receive a notice telling you if you qualify 
and stating the tasks and the number of 
hours approved. It will take longer if you 
have to get Medi-Cal approved first. Be 
sure to tell the worker about any special 
problems or personal needs you may have 
so that you get enough help.
If you are approved for IHSS, you hire 
someone to perform the services. You 
are considered that person’s employer. 
You have to hire, train, supervise and 
if necessary, fire this person (called the 
IHSS provider). 

IHSS providers must receive at least $9 
per hour . The state issues the checks for 
provider payments. You and your provider 
must complete, sign, date, and mail in the 
time sheets that they send you, to verify 
that the work was done.

Severely impaired persons may be eligible 
for an advance payment to pay a provider. 
Ask the worker doing the assessment.

For help with problems or questions, or 
for information on how to start an appeal 
about the number of hours 
approved for the IHSS worker, call the 
IHSS Ombudsman at (888) 678-4477. 

2. Long Term Care 
If you are caring for someone that a doc-
tor has recommended for 24-hour care by 
skilled nurses for a long period of time, 
call the Long Term Care District at (626) 
854-4987. 
The State Central Registry at (800) 700-
7575 will give you three referrals to long 
term care facilities. 
www.californiaregistry.com

There is a difference between board and 
care facilities and nursing facilities. Medi-
Cal will pay for long term care in a nursing 
facility but not in a board and care home.
Before you send someone to any kind of 
long term care facility,  you should visit 
the places and inspect them thoroughly. 
If you are not happy with the referrals you 
can call again for more


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Can I Get Medicare?

1. Part A : Hospital Insurance 
You are automatically eligible for Medicare 
Part A free of charge if you are one of the 
following: 
•	 You are 65 or older and are eligible 

for Social Security retiree benefits 
based on your own or your spouse’s 
employment 

•	 You are a federal employee who retired 
after 1982 and have enough quarters 
of coverage 

•	 You have been receiving Social Security 
Disability Income payments for 24 
consecutive months 

•	 You are age 50 or older and are a 
disabled widow or widower who has 
received Social Security through your 
spouse for at least 2 years 

•	 You have end-stage kidney disease, 
regardless of your age (you still must 
have worked enough quarters, how-
ever, even though you don’t need to 
be 65.) 

•	 You have Lou Gerhig’s disease. (You still 
must have worked enough quarters, 
even though you don't need to be 65.) 

People who are not automatically eligible 
for Medicare Part A may enroll voluntarily 
if you meet all of the following three re-
quirements: 
•	 You are 65 or older  
•	 You are a U.S. citizen, or a legal alien 

who has resided in the U.S. continu-
ously for at least five years  

•	 You purchase both Parts A and B of 
Medicare, or you purchase Part B only. 
You may not purchase Part A only. 

If you meet these three requirements for 
voluntary Part A, the amount of monthly 
premiums you will pay will depend upon 
how many work quarters you have on record 
with Social Security. If you have between 
30 and 39 quarters, your monthly Part A 
premium is $234.  If you have less than 
30 quarters, your monthly Part A premium 
is $426. 

2. Part B : Medical Insurance 
If you meet the eligibility guidelines for 
Part A, you will be eligible for Part B. 
The Part B monthly premium is $104.90. 
The premium is higher if your income is 
$85,000 or more for an individual and 
$170,000 or more for a married couple. 
If you have a low income and low 
re¬sources, the state may pay for your 
Medicare premiums under Medi-Cal or 
the Medicare Savings Program. 

What is Covered?

Medicare does not cover all types of health 
care needs, nor is it free of cost. It does 
NOT cover custodial care in a nursing home 
or at home, dental care, eyeglasses, and 
hearing aids. For services that are covered 
by Medicare, you have to pay copayments. 

1. Part A Coverage 
Medicare will pay for hospital care if a doc-
tor has decided that you need inpa¬tient 
care and the hospital participates in 
Medicare 
You will pay a first day hospital deductible 
of $1,216 if you use days 1 through 60 
in a benefit period. 
If you remain in the hospital for days 61 to 
90, you pay $304 per day and Medicare 
pays the balance. 
If you need hospital care after the 90th 
day, you draw on 60 extra “reserve” days 
which are not renewable and can be used 
only once. During that period you pay $608 
each day and Medicare pays the balance. 

2. Skilled Nursing and Hospice 
Services 
After a three day prior hospitalization, 
Medicare pays for daily (five to seven days 
per week) skilled nursing and therapy ser-
vices in a Medicare certified skilled nursing 
facility. Medicare pays for the first 20 days 
in full and days 21-100 on a copayment 
basis of $152 per day. 

Medicare pays for skilled nursing and 
therapy services in the home if you are 
homebound and meet other requirements. 
There are no copayments for home health 
services. 
Medicare hospice services are for persons 
who are terminally ill (patients must be 
recertified as “terminal” after 210 days 
of hospice care). 

3. Part B Coverage 
Part B pays 80% of “allowable” charges 
for a variety of outpatient care,.You pay 
the remaining 20%, an annual deduct-
ible of $147 and a 15% excess charge 
if the provider does not take "Medicare 
assignment." 
Doctors and other Part B providers who 
accept Medicare assignment agree to 
charge no more than the Medicare ap-
proved charge. This means that you can 
be charged only for the 20% co-payment 
and any unpaid portion of the annual Part 
B deductible. Ask your provider if he or 
she will accept assignment. 

4. Part D Coverage 
Part D pays for outpatient drug coverage. 
To obtain Part D coverage, you must enroll 
into a Medicare Part D drug plan. There 
are two types of Part D plans: PDPs that 
only provide Medicare drug coverage and 
MAPDs that provide Medicare Part A, B 
and D benefits. There is a standard Part 
D benefit package, however, not all Part D 
plans are the same. Each plan has its own 
drug formulary, cost sharing requirements 
and restrictions on coverage. 

5. Medicare Advantage HMOs 
A Medicare Advantage HMO is a health 
insurance plan that enrolls Medicare ben-
eficiaries who have both Medi-care Parts 
A and B. Medicare HMOs must provide 
the same benefits as original Medicare. 
Persons who have Med-icare end stage 
renal disease (kidney failure) cannot enroll 
into a Medicare HMO. 
When you join a Medicare HMO, you must 
use the HMO for all of your medical care, 
except for emergencies or urgent care when 
you are out of the HMO’s service area. 
Medicare pays the HMO a fixed monthly 
amount for each enrollee. 

6. Other Information 
Many people receive both Medicare and 
Medi-Cal. (see page 41 “Medi-Cal”)  People 
who have both programs do not have to 
pay Medicare’s monthly premiums, de-
ductibles, or co-payments when they see 
a provider that accepts Medi-Cal. 
If you have both Medicare and Medi- Cal, 
you should see health care providers that 
take both Medicare and Medi-Cal to avoid 
being charged any cost sharing amounts.  
If possible, show your insurance cards 
before you receive services. 

Medicare is a federal health insurance 
program . There are three parts to the 
program: “Part A” (hospital insurance), 
“Part B” (medical insurance), and "Part 
D " (prescription drug insurance). For 
general information call (800) 633 
4227. 

Medicare


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There are two ways to qualify.
If you or another person in yhour household 
receives benefits from any of these pro-
grams; Medi-Cal, WIC, CalWORKs, Tribal 
TANF, Head Start Income Eligible-Tribal 
Only: Bureau of Indian Affairs General 
Assistance; CalFresh: School Lunch : Low 
Income Home Energy Assistance Program 
(LIHEAP): or SSI:
OR
Total income for all persons in your house-
hold meets the following income guidelines 

Members		  Annual
in Household		  Income

1-2 			  $ 31,460
3 			   $ 39.580
4 			   $ 47,700
5 			   $ 55,820
6 			   $ 63,940
7			   $72,060
8			   $80,180
Each add’l	        add $ 8,120
* Includes current household income 
from all sources before deductions

Income guidelines effective until May 
31, 2015.

2. Help for Your Home
No-Cost, Energy Saving Home 
Improvements
Whether you own or rent your home, there 
are no-cost energy saving home improve-
ments to improve the energy efficiency 
of your home. For qualified customers 
who meet certain income requirements, 
SoCalGas provides no-cost, energy-saving 
home improvements like attic insulation, 
door weatherstripping and minor home 
repairs. Other terms and conditions may 
apply. For more information, visit socalgas.
com (search "Energy Savings Assistance 
Program") or call (800) 3331-7593.

3. Seasonal Bill Assistance
If you have difficulty paying your winter 
gas bills, you may qualify for a one time 
annual allowance through SoCal Gas Gas 
Assistance Fund (GAF). Assistance is 
available during the winter months on a 
first-come, first-served basis for qualify-
ing customers who meet certain income 
requirements. For more information visit 
socalgas.com (search "GAS FUND").
For a referral to a United Way agency 
serving your area, calll (800) 427-2200.

4. Help with Electric Bill

If you are unable to pay your bill by its 
due date, contact LADWP before the bill 
becomes overdue. They will work with you 
in setting up a payment plan. If you visit 
one of their customer service centers and 
pay half of your bill, you will receive a 
two-week extension.

You can also arrange to pay in installments. 
Call the LADWP Special Collections Unit 
at 1-800-244-4458 before the bill is due 
to make payment arrangements.

If you have a notice of termination from 
the Department of Water and Power (DWP), 
call1-800-DIAL DWP (342-5397) and 
ask about Project Angel Fund. Priority is 
given to those not eligible for other aid 
or assistance. If you do not receive your 
water service from DWP, call your own 
water district and ask them if they provide 
any assistance for low-income customers.

The Los Angeles Department of Water and 
Power (LADWP) offers a residential Low 
Income Discount Program (LIDP) rate for 
customers within qualifying income levels. 
This rate reduces the cost of electricity, 
water, and sewer services for the partici-
pants’ permanent, primary residence.

Utility Bill Assistance
If you are applying for CalWORKs, you may 
be able to get “immediate need” money to 
pay for your delinquent utility bills. (See 
CalWORKs" What Else is Available" pg. 5)

If you are low-income and have overdue 
gas or electric bills, call:
Low-Income Home Energy Assistance 
Program (HEAP) (866) 675-6623
http://www.csd.ca.gov/Services/FindSer-
vicesinYourArea.aspx

Catholic Charities (213) 251-3400
Energy Crisis Line (213) 353-1226 or 
(213) 353-1228
Energy HotLine (800) 342-5397
Labor Community Services 
(213) 427-9044
Legal Aid (utility cutoffs) (213) 640-3881
Maravilla Foundation (323) 869-4500
PACE Environmental Services: 
(213) 989-3250
SoCal Gas General Questoins and Assis-
tance: (800) 427-2200
So Cal Edison Low Income (800) 736-4777
Utility Tax Unit (senior discount) 
(213) 978-3050
West Angeles Center (323) 733-8300

1. Need Help With Your Gas Bill?

You may be eligible for the California Al-
ternate Rates for Energy (CARE) program.
Eligible customers of SoCalGas may receive 
a 20 percent discount on their monthly 
gas bill at their primary residence through 
our California Alternate Rates for Energy 
(CARE) program. New customers who are 
approved within 90 days of starting new 
gas service may also receive a $15 discount 
on their Service Establishment Charge. You 
will receive your discount once your com-
pleted application is approved by Southern 
California Gas Company (SoCal Gas.)

Utilities and Phone

A new law requires people who have both 
Medicare and Medi-Cal to assign their 
Medi-Cal to a managed care plan. You will 
also be given the choice to assign both 
your Medicare and your Medi-Cal to a Cal 
Mediconnect plan. If you do, your Medicare 
and Medi-Cal will both be assigned to the 
same plan. If you don't want your Medicare 
assigned to a plan, you must NOT choose 

a Cal Mediconnect plan, but you still must 
choose a managed care plan for your Medi-
Cal. If you do this you do not have to go to 
the Medi-Cal managed care plan doctors.

You should also know the following: 
•	 Always carry your Medicare card with you 
•	 Contact the Social Security office im-

mediately if you lose your card or 
don’t get one 

•	 Appeal any incorrect or unfair decision 
about your Medi-Cal benefits (see 
page 66 “Hearings and Complaints”) 

For help with Medicare call 
Center for Health Care Rights 
(800) 824-0780 
Outside Los Angeles County call: 
(800) 434-0222. 
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The rates are generally available for families 
and individuals with annual incomes below 
the following levels:

Members		  Annual
in Household		  Income

1-2 			  $ 31,800
3 			   $ 37,400
4 			   $ 45,100
5 			   $ 52,800
6 			   $ 60,500
Each add’l	        add $ 7,700 

Lifeline Discount Program applies a 
discount to the energy bills of income-
qualified customers who are 62 years of 
age or older, or permanently disabled and 
can provide proof of disability. For ques-
tions call (213) 481-5411

Life Support Device Discount: Discounts 
on water and electric service are offered 
to customers who provide satisfactory 
proof that a member of the household 
regularly requires the use of an essential 
life-support device.

Physician Certified Allowance Discount: 
Discounts on water and electric bills are 
available to customers who provide verifi-
cation by a state-licensed physician that 
a fulltime member of the household is 
being treated for certain life threatening 
illnesses. or has a compromised immune 
system and needs an additional heating 
and/or cooling allowance Call 1-800-DIAL 
DWP (342-5397).

Customers with a Teletype device hookup 
(TTY) may call LADWP at 1-800-HEAR-
DWP (or 1-800-432-7397) to receive as-
sistance regarding water or electric service.

For a listing of other agencies that provide 
information and referral services to cus-
tomers in need, contact 211 LA County 
(previously Info Line) at 1-800-339-6993.

5. Refrigerator Exchange 
Program

The LA Department of Water and Power 
offers certain customers the opportunity to 
replace their old, inefficient refrigerators 
with a new energy saving model.

• The customer must be a current partici-
pant in the LADWP residential Low Income 
Discount Rate
• The customer’s refrigerator must be at 
least 10 years old and be at least 14.0 
cubic feet in volume.
• The outlet to which the refrigerator is 
connected must be grounded (3-prong)
• The customer must be willing to give 
up (exchange) their old refrigerator to be 
environmentally recycled
Call the Appliance Recycling Centers of 
America (ARCA) at (800) 722-9340 to 
set up an inspection appointment. A rep-
resentative will contact you to schedule an 
appointment to verify that your refrigerator 
outlet is properly grounded. If it is not 
properly grounded, you will be given time 
to correct the situation in order to qualify 
for the  energy efficient refrigerator.

Can I Get Phone Help if I'm 

Disabled?

The California Telephone Access Program 
provides special equipment you can get if 
you are hard of hearing or have another 
disability that makes it difficult for you to 
use a telephone. 
Call English TTY line (800) 806-4474 or
Voice: (800) 806-1191

Utilities

Can I Get Low Cost Phone 

Service?
California LifeLine is a state program that 
provides basic home phone service at a 
discount to eligible households.

To apply for California LifeLine you must 
call your home phone company and state 
you qualify for the program via Method 
1 Program-Based OR Method 2 Income-
Based.

1. Program-Based: 
You can qualify for California LifeLine if 
you or another person in your household is 
enrolled in any one of the following public-
assistance programs:Medi-Cal, Low Income 
Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
SSI, Federal Public Housing Assistance or 
Section 8, CalFresh, WIC, National School 
Lunch Program (NSL), CalWORKs
Tribal TANF, Bureau of Indian Affairs, 
General Relief or Head Start Income Eli-
gible (Tribal Only) .

2. Income-Based
You can qualify for California LifeLine if 
your total household income is at or less 
than these income maximums: 

Household Size	         Annual I ncome
1-2 members 		  $24,000
3 			   $28,200
4 			   $34,000
Each additional 		 Add $5,800

Effective from 06/01/09 to 05/31/12

California LifeLine Call Center
Contact the LifeLine Call Center for general 
information about the California LifeLine 
program.   Call Center's hours of operation 
are from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Pacific Time) 
Monday through Friday.
English 1-866-272-0349 
Spanish 1-866-272-0350
TTY 1-866-272-0358

You can get much more information includ-
ing how to get a low cost cell phone at:
www.californialifeline.com






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Where Can I Get Help if

 I'm Homeless?

Unfortunately, if you are homeless in Los 
Angeles, there is no guarantee of housing 
or shelter, and the existing shelters are 
often full. 

The LA County Housing Resource Center 
can assist residents in locating housing 
resources for affordable, special needs, and 
emergency housing. To access their rental 
listings and assistance visit www.housing.
lacounty.gov or call (877) 428-8844.

We list the resources below as a guide to 
trying to get help. 

1. Finding an Agency to Help You
If you become homeless in LA County, 
there are agencies that can help you find 
assistance:

Valley Area- LA Family Housing 818-982-
4092 ext 151cmccray@lafh.org

Pasadena and San Gabriel Valley- Union 
Station Homeless Services
626-791-6601  rizell@unionstationhs.org

Hollywood – The Center at Blessed Sacra-
ment 740-504-6499
nathan@thecenterinhollywood.org

Downtown  –  Lamp Commun i t y 
213.488.9559 x 114
Hazell@lampcommunity.org

Westside – Westside Shelter & Hunger 
Coalition 602-904-2000 or 310-314-0071
darci@westsideshelter.org

South LA – Special Services for Groups 
–HOPICS 323-948-0444 ext 140
vlewis@hopics.org

Southeast Cities (Bell, Downey) – Our Place 
Housing Solutions 562-416-3273
kbarnette@ourplacehousingsolutions.org

Long Beach and South Bay - South Bay 
Coalition for the Homeless (St. Peter's 
Presby/RPV)
310-480-2866  wilcox_nancy@sbcglobal.
net

Housing
Families seeking assistance can contact 
Family Solutions System by calling: 211 
LA County (2-1-1). FSS can help 
families find financial assistance for rapid 
rehousing, including a security deposit for 
an apartment; partial rent for three months 
or a motel voucher and utilities, etc.

2.	 Shelters  
In the Hospital: It is illegal for the hospital to 
drop you off in the street after your treatment 
if you are homeless. The hospital discharge 
staff must work with you to find a safe place 
to go. Ask to speak to a social worker prior 
to your discharge.
Families: If you are homeless or at risk of 
becoming homeless and receive or qualify 
for CalWORKs, you may be able to receive 
Homeless Assistance Money, money to help 
prevent eviction, or help with your rent. 
CalWORKs also offers a 12 month Rental 
Subsidy for CalWORKs and non-CalWORKs 
families. See CalWORKs section of the Guide 
for more information (pg.12-13).

Singles: If you are applying for General Re-
lief, you can get emergency shelter vouchers 
or eviction prevention money. See General 
Relief section of the Guide for more infor-
mation (pg. 27).

Emergency Shelter: There are over 300 pri-
vately run agencies in Los Angeles offering 
shelter, so we cannot list them all here. The 
following numbers and website are helpful:
•	 Year Round and Winter Shelters : 	

(800) 548-6047 for shelter locations 
and pick-up points. These shelters are 
usually operated by the City and county 
of Los Angeles from the beginning of 
November until the end of March. Some 
of the shelters now operate all year long.

•	 InfoLine: Call (211) or (800) 339-6993 
•	 Internet: www.healthycity.org lists shel-

ters and other resources by zip code 
for all L.A. County.

•	 Some agencies and shelters are able to 
offer hotel or motel vouchers if there is 
no other shelter option available, or if 
the shelter is full for the night. 

•	 The conditions at shelters vary widely. 
They can generally make their own 
rules about who can stay and how long 
they can stay. At the shelters which 

are funded by the government, such 
as the Winter Shelters, there has to be 
a written grievance procedure you can 
go through if you feel you have been 
treated unfairly, or that conditions are 
not safe or healthy there. You can file 
these grievances with: Los Angeles 
Homeless Services Authority (LAHSA) 
811 Wilshire Blvd, 6th Floor, LA 90017.

3.	Access Centers 
 Acess Centers are also called Drop-in Cen-
ters. These agencies can refer you to shelters. 
They may also help you find transitional or 
permanent housing. Some of these agencies 
operate shelters or other housing programs.
Antelope Valley
Lancaster Access Center (661) 942-2758
Downtown L.A. 
Weingart Center's Hope Row Resource Center 
501 E 6th St LA 90021(213) 689-2114
Downtown Women's Day Center 
325 S. Los Angeles (213) 680-0600
VOA Drop-In Center 628 S. San Julian (213) 
624-4663
El Monte 
ACHIEVE (626)444-79000
Hollywood and Mid City 
PATH 340 N.Madison Ave (323) 644-2216 
Pomona 
Pomona Access to Social Services  
502 W. Holt 	 (909)622-3806
San Pedro 
FISH 670 W. 9th St. (310) 831-0603
Long Beach 
New Image (562) 983-7289
Pasadena 
Union Station Foundation (626) 240-4550
San Fernando Valley- N. Hollywood 
LA Family Housing  
7843 Lankershim 	(818) 982-4091 
Santa Monica and West Side 
OPCC 1616 7th St. (310) 264-6646
St. Joseph's Service Center 
204 Hampton Dr. (310) 396-6468
South Central L.A. 
WLCAC 958 E. 108th St. (323) 563-5654
HOP South Central Drop In 
5715 S. Broadway (213) 553-1823
West Covina 
VOA West Covina Access Center
415 S. Glendora Ave (626)918-2005
by referral only


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The Section 8 Voucher waiting lists are 
currently closed for the city of Los Angeles, 
county of Los Angeles, and city of Long 
Beach. To find out if the waiting list is open 
in other cities, contact their local Housing 
Authority directly. You can also ask a case-
worker at one of the Access Centers about 
any special program that can provide you 
a Section 8 Voucher when you complete 
the program.

The following agencies receive a limited 
number of Section 8 vouchers from HACLA 
through the "homeless set aside" program.  
If you are homeless, please try to get con-
nected to one of the following agencies: 

Alexandria House 
(Women and Children) (213) 381-2649 
Beyond Shelter (Under PATH)
(323) 644-2200 
Coalition for Responsible Community De-
velopment (Serving youth) 
(323) 521-1910
Department of Mental Health 
(Mental health) (213) 251-6560 
Good Shepherd Center for Homeless Women 
& Children 
(women and children)(213) 235-1460 
 Harbor Interfaith Services 
(Families)     (310)-831-0603 
LA Family Housing 
 (818)982-4091 
Los Angeles House of Ruth 
(Domestic violence victims) 
(323) 266-4139
New Economics for Women 
(Affordable housing, women and       children) 
(213) 483-2060 
New Image Emergency Shelter 
(Emergency shelter, individuals and families) 
(562) 983-7478
Palms Residential Care Facility 
(Substance abuse treatment) 
(323) 293-2319
Para Los Ninos 
(Children and families) (213) 250-4800 
PATH (323) 644-2216 
Penny Lane Centers 
(Shelter for Emancipated Foster Youth)
(818) 892-3423 
Rainbow Services (Domestic violence, 
women and children)
 (310) 547-9343 
San Fernando Valley Mental Health Center 
(Adults and children with mental illness) 
(818) 901-4830 







4.  Housing for Health
If you or your whole family is homeless and 
you get medical care at one of these loca-
tions, ask for a staff person at the Social Work 
department. Tell them you are homeless and 
ask about the Housing for Health program:

•	 LAC USC Medical Center
•	 Harbor UCLA Medical Center
•	 Olive View Medical Center
•	 DHS Multi-Ambulatory Care Center
•	 MLK MACC High Desert Health System

Can I Get Low Cost 

Housing?

The federal government has a few subsidized 
housing programs. Each of these programs 
has various income and resource require-
ments and require you to provide information 
regarding your family income and makeup. It 
is important to document all your attempts 
to comply with the program requirements 
because you can be terminated from the 
program if you do not comply.
In general, there are two types of programs: 
project-based and voucher-based. Project-
based programs are ones where the hous-
ing benefit is connected to a specific unit. 
Voucher-based programs are ones where the 
housing benefit is connected to a specific 
household. 

1.	Project-Based Programs
There are many types of project-based 
subsidized housing. Many of these projects 
advertise their availability and you can ap-
ply directly at the building or at a leasing 
office. Most of the time, the best way to get 
into this kind of housing is to go through 
special  programs offered by community 
agencies that will help you get into housing 
when you finish the program. There is not 
enough project based housing for everyone 
who needs it, so many of the complexes 
have wait lists.
We have listed three of the most common 
programs below. For more information about 
what type(s) of programs you may qualify 
for, you can ask a caseworker at one of the 
Access Centers.

Conventional Public Housing
Conventional public housing is one of the 

most well-known federal housing programs. 
The buildings that are part of this program are 
owned and operated by local Public Housing 
Authorities. These are often very large build-
ings or complexes and the people who work 
at them are government employees. Rent is 
usually between 30-40% of the household’s 
income. To apply for conventional public 
housing, you should contact the housing 
complex directly.

Project-Based Section 8
For project-based Section 8, private land-
lords have agreed to reserve certain units for 
Section 8. Project-based Section 8 means 
that you must live in one of these assigned 
units to get the benefit. Unlike conventional 
public housing, your landlord is a private 
owner, not a Housing Authority.

Shelter Plus Care
Shelter Plus Care provides affordable hous-
ing and supportive services. You are required 
to participate in the supportive services to 
be part of this program. You may be eligible 
for this program if you are:
-	 Homeless,
-	 Have a mental illness and/or AIDS, and
-	 Have a substance abuse problem.

2.	Voucher-Based Programs

Section 8 Vouchers
Section 8 vouchers are offered by the local 
government (the Housing Authority). They 
allow you to stay in any apartment or house 
where the landlord will accept them. You 
pay a limited portion of the rent (usually 
between 30-40% of your income). The 
Housing Authority pays the rest directly to 
your landlord.

You have the same rights as other tenants 
renting from private landlords, including 
any local rent control laws. 
  
You also have additional special protections. 
Your landlord cannot evict you without a 
reason. Your landlord also has to give at 
least 90 days written notice if they want to 
stop accepting Section 8 Vouchers.  
When you receive a Section 8 Voucher you 
will have a limited time to find a landlord who 
will accept it, or you will have to return the 
voucher. Once you find a place, the Housing 
Authority must inspect the unit to make sure 
that it is up to their standards. The entire 
process may take up to several months.

Housing
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Housing
South Central Health & Rehabilitation Pro-
grams (Mental illness)
 (310) 631-8004 
St. Joseph Center (Individuals and Families) 
(310) 396-6468 
Testimonial Community Love Center 
(Shelter for Single Women w/ children under 
age 12)(323) 291-6753 
The Serra Project 
(Assisted living for HIV/AIDS Patients)
(323) 344-488

Shelter Plus Care
Shelter Plus Care also has some vouchers. 
The requirements for Shelter Plus Care 
Vouchers are the same as the requirements 
for the Shelter Plus Care project-based 
program (see pg 58).

Housing Authorities
Housing Authority of the County of Los 
Angeles (HACoLA) 
(626) 262-4510
 Housing Authority of the City of Los Angeles 
(HACLA)  (213) 252-2500. 
Long Beach Housing Authority: 
(562) 570-6985
Other cities: Check in the City Government 
pages in the phone book or online

3.	Low-Income Housing Tax Credit
Some private owners participate in the Low-
Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC). In this 
program, private landlords reserve some 
of their units to offer at affordable rates. 
Eligibility for the units is based on income, 
and each unit has a set rent amount. For 
more information about this program, you 
should contact the individual owners or 
management offices directly.

4.	Housing Resource Agencies
The following groups can help or refer you to 
help of many kinds, such as vouchers to stay 
in a motel if you are homeless, or programs 
that can lead to permanent housing.
PATH:
(213) 644-2216
Downtown & Mid Wilshire (213) 252-0772
South Central (323) 565-2703
AIDS Project Los Angeles
(213) 201-1600
Catholic Charities
(213) 251-3400
Hope Again
(323) 661-4004
Little Tokyo Service Center
(213) 473-1602

Midnight Mission
(213) 624-9258
St. Vincent DePaul
(323) 224-6280
West Angeles Counseling Center
(323) 733-8300

Foreclosures

1.	Help for Homeowners in Danger 
of Foreclosure
Many people who are in danger of losing 
their homes due to foreclosure have turned 
to loan modification or foreclosure “rescue” 
companies for help – only to realize they’ve 
been scammed. Anyone can become a victim 
of a loan modification scam. Be careful 
about signing any papers from groups you 
are not sure about.

If you are facing foreclosure and want assis-
tance, you can contact a housing counselor  
for advice at:
888-995-HOPE [4673] or 
www.makinghomeaffordable.gov 

There are also local groups that are available 
to provide advice. Below is a list of some of 
the groups in Los Angeles the government has 
approved. For information for another city, 
visit the Department of Housing and Urban 
Development’s website at www.hud.gov.
East LA Community Corporation (ELACC)
(323) 269-4214
www.elacc.org
Korean Churches for Community 
Development
(213) 985-1500	  www.kccd.org
Korean Resource Center
(323) 937-3718
www.krcla.org
Los Angeles Neighborhood Housing Ser-
vices, Inc.
(888) 895-2647
www.nhslacounty.org
New Economics for Women
(213) 483-2060
www.neweconomicsforwomen.org
NID-HCA Reeves
(323) 299-4067
www.nidonline.org
Operation Hope, Inc.
(213) 891-2900 or (213) 891-2900
www.operationhope.org

Shalom Center for T.R.E.E. of Life
(213) 380-3700
www.shalomcenter.net
Thai Community Development Corporation
(323) 468-2555
www.thaicdc.org
Watts Century Latino Organization
(323) 564-9140
www.wattcenturylatino.org
West Angeles Community Development 
Corporation
(323) 751-3440
www.westangelescdc.org

2.	Renters Living in Buildings 
that were Foreclosed

If you are living in a building that was fore-
closed, you still have rights. The new  owner 
must give you a 90-day notice to move in 
most situations. If you have a lease, you may 
be able to stay until the term of your lease 
ends. Some cities may have local rules that 
provide additional protection. In the City of 
Los Angeles, for example, you cannot be 
evicted from a building solely because it was 
foreclosed upon and there is a new owner.
You should contact a local renter’s rights 
group for more information. (See "What 
Are My Rights As A Renter " on page 60).

Foster Youth

 Your Housing Options
 If you are in the foster care system now, or 
were in the system between your 16th and 
19th birthdays , there are several housing 
options available to you Even if you •	were 
in the juvenile probation system, but were 
living in a suitable placement (meaning 
you were placed by the court somewhere 
other than with your parents) between the 
ages of 16 or 19 – you might be able to get 
housing at least for a while.   The system is 
complicated but you can call these numbers 
for help and advice:
Youth Development Services 
(877) 694-5741
(877) MY ILP 411 
ilponline.org
The Alliance for Children’s Rights
(213) 368-6010 
 kids-alliance.org
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•	 If you’re 16 or 17 and still in care  - you 
may qualify for the Transitional Housing 
Placement Program (THPP).. You must be 
either going to high school,working towards 
your GED, or attending vocational/technical 
training.
To apply, contact your Children's Social 
Worker  (CSW) or Youth Development Ser-
vices (YDS) Transition Resource Coordinator 
(TRC) who will assist you completing the 
application. For information call:
Transitional Housing Placement Program 
(213) 351-0120. 

•	 If you are in the foster care system and 
turn 18, you have the option to continue in 
care until you turn 21 years old.  You can 
get this help if you have been placed by the 
court somewhere outside your parents’ home 
and you are there on your 18th birthday. If 
you chose this option, you may stay in your 
current home, live in a supportive transitional 
housing program, or move out on your own 
if your social worker or probation officer 
believe you are ready. 

•	 If you are a former foster youth between 
the ages of 18 and 21 and your case closed 
after your 18th birthday, you may be eligible 
to exit and re-enter foster care as many times 
as you need to before you turn 21 years 
old- call the Alliance for Children's Rights 
at (213) 368-6010 for more information.  

•	 If you are no longer in foster care or 
probation, but you lived in a foster home, 
group home or with a relative sometime 
between your 16th and 19th birthday), you 
may be able to get help from the Transitional 
Housing Program (THP).   They can put you 
in housing for up to three years.  For more 
information please go to: http://ilponline.org/
housing/THP.html, or call 213-351-0123 or 
213-351-0100.

•	 If you aged out of foster care or probation 
systems after your 18th birthday, you might 
be able to get help from the Transitional 
Housing Program Plus (THP+).   You have 
to be between the ages of 18 and 24 and 
either going to school or working. You can 
get this help for up to two years.  For more 
information go to http://ilponline.org/hous-
ing/THPPlus.html or call 213-351-0239.

Other resources for information if you are 
18 and leaving foster care:

•	 The Alliance for Children’s Rights and 
Children’s Law Center “Know Before You 
Go” mobile app that shows housing provid-
ers, food, legal services, education, and 
employment. Search the app store on your 
phone for “Know Before You Go”.
•	 Public Counsel "My Life My Rights"' 
website: http://www.mylifemyrights.org
	

What are My Rights as a 

Renter?

1.	Groups That Can Help
There are many groups in Los Angeles that 
deal with landlord/tenant issues. Here are 
a few that may be able to provide free help 
or advice:
Bet Tzedek (323) 939-0506
Coalition for Economic Survival 
(213) 252-4411
Inner City Law Center (213) 891-2880
Inquilinos Unidos (213) 483-7497
Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles 
(800) 399-4529
L.A. Community Action Network 
(213) 228-0024
Neighborhood Legal Services of L.A. County 
(818) 896-5211
Public Counsel (213) 385-2977
Union de Vecinos (323) 908-3454

The California Department of Consumer 
Affairs also provides booklets and informa-
tion regarding landlord/tenant law. For more 
information contact:
(800) 952-5210 or visit 
www.dca.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook/
index.shtml.

2.	Bad Conditions

You have the right to live in a place without 
bad conditions. 
•	 No holes in the wall
•	 Working toilets, and sinks
•	 Electricity should work
•	 Heat should work
•	 No rats, roaches, or other pests

If your unit has problems, you should tell 
your landlord about them and request that 
they be fixed. You should make your request 
in writing and keep a copy of your written 
request for yourself. If your landlord does 
not fix the problems, there are a few things 
you can do.

Government Agencies
County Health Department (323) 881-4015
For problems like vermin, rats, roaches, 
bedbugs; peeling paint or lack of screens.

Housing Department (866) 557-RENT
Department of Building and Safety 
(888) LA4-BUILD
For complaints regarding plumbing and 
electrical; lack of water or heat; illegal utility 
shutoff, in Los Angeles. 
For other cities, check the phone book. If 
you think the conditions pose an imminent 
threat to your health or safety, you can ask 
the housing inspector to refer your case to 
the Urgent Repair Program.

Los Angeles County Department of Consumer 
Affairs (888) 700-9995.  For questions re-
garding withholding rent, repair and deduct, 
and abandonment remedies, call.

Getting Your Landlord to Fix the Problem
If your landlord will not fix problems, you 
should give written notice of the problem, 
wait 30 days, and have proof of the problem. 
Then you have the right to repair the problem 
yourself and deduct the cost from your rent. 
It must be a problem affecting your health 
or safety, not just something you want to 
change in the apartment. If you withhold 
your rent, your landlord may try to evict you. 
It is very important that you keep copies 
of everything relating to the problem.  You 
should get legal advice or support before 
withholding any rent. If you do not want 
to withhold rent, you can also go to Small 
Claims Court to try to get the money back.  
If your landlord has been cited by the De-
partment of Building and Safety, Housing 
Department, or Health Department, and 
repairs have not been made within 60 days, 
you can go to Small Claims Court on your 
own without an attorney. The small claims 
judge can order the landlord to make the 
repairs. Ask the judge about Civil Code Sec-
tion 942.4 in cases like this.

Housing
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If you are looking to recover money for 
damaged person property, repairs that you 
made, or bad conditions, you can file a case 
in Small Claims Court for up to $10,000. 

3.	Rent Stabilization (Rent Control)

If you live in the city of Los Angeles in a 
rental unit that has two or more units on the 
lot, and was built on or before October 1, 
1978, your unit might be under rent con-
trol. This gives you even more protections 
than state law. Your landlord can only evict 
you for a very limited number of reasons, 
which are in the rent control law. Your rent 
can only be increased by a set percentage, 
which the city decides. 

For more information contact 
Los Angeles Housing and Community Invest-
ment Department 
(866) 557-RENT
www.lacity.org/lahd

You can also call the Housing and Community 
Investment Department to make a complaint 
if you think your landlord violated the rent 
control rules.
If you are not in a rent control unit, your 
rent may be increased by any amount with 
a written notice. If it is increased by 10% or 
less, then you should get a 30-day notice. 
If it is more than 10%, then you should get 
at least a 60-day notice. 

Other Rent Control Information:
Santa Monica (310) 458-8751
West Hollywood (323) 848-6450
Other Cities: Call your city hall or the city 
website on the Internet, or city government 
sectoin of the phone book (at the front of 
the white pages).

4.	Evictions

If you are not in a rent controlled unit, you 
can be evicted for no reason, but you must 
be given a 30-day notice if you have lived 
in the unit for less than a year or a 60-day 
notice if you have lived in your unit for a year 
or more. You can also be evicted from either 
a rent controlled or non-rent controlled unit 
for a good reason. There are special rules if 
you have a Section 8 voucher.  
Subsidized units (like Section 8 or project-
based units) may have different notice 
periods. To best assure that you do not lose 
your housing, it is important to seek legal 
advice about your notice before the notice 
period has run out (expired).  

When you have received a 30/60 day notice 
to vacate, you are still responsible for pay-
ing the rent on time. If you do not pay the 
rent, the landlord may proceed with a much 
shorter notice against you, usually a 3-day 
notice. Additionally, security deposits may 
not be used in place of last month’s rent, 
unless the landlord agrees to do so, in writing. 
For questions about these issues contact: 
Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles
800-399-4529. 

Eviction Process
1.Written Notice: in most cases, you must 
receive a notice in writing. The most com-
mon notices are a 3-day notice to pay rent 
or quit, or a 30- or 60-day notice to vacate.

2.Summons & Complaint: This is the lawsuit, 
or Unlawful Detainer (UD). You have five 
days to answer it.

3.Sheriff’s 5-Day Notice to Vacate: If you 
don’t answer your summons and complaint 
or you lose in court, you will get a 5-day 
notice to vacate. If you do not move out, you 
will be locked out by the sheriff sometime 
after the five days.

If your case is filed in another courthouse, 
there may be a Self-Help Center where you 
can get help preparing your answer.

If you are being evicted and your case was 
filed at the downtown Stanley Mosk Court-
house, visit:
Eviction Assistance Center (EAC)
111 North Hill St., Room 115, LA, 90011. 
EAC staff can assist you with filing an 
answer, and provide full representation in 
some cases, free of charge. Service is also 
available in Spanish.

You may also contact the following organiza-
tions for assistance with an eviction: 
Legal Aid Foundation - 800-399-4529
Eviction Defense Network - 213-385-8112
Bet Tzedek - 323-939-0506
Neighborhood Legal Services 
(818) 896-5211  

There are also organizations that offer low-
cost assistance. The cost is based in part on 
your income and you may be able to work 
out a payment plan.
BASTA (213) 736-5050
Eviction Defense Network (213) 385-8112   

5. Illegal Lockout

Landlords cannot lock you out without first 
going to court, even if you are late on paying 
rent. If your landlord locks you out without 
using the eviction process, you should 
immediately call LAPD. When the police 
respond to your call, you should show them 
some proof that you are a tenant (receipts, 
ID, etc.). Ask them to tell your landlord to 
let you back in. If the police officer does 
not respond, you should call LAPD and ask 
to speak to the watch commander.

6. 28 Day Shuffle

If you have lived in a residential hotel for 
over 30 days, you are a tenant and can 
only be evicted through a legal eviction. 
You should not be asked to move rooms or 
leave for a few days every 28 (or 21) days. 
If this happens, you should file a complaint 
with the Los Angeles Housing Department 
(866) 557-RENT. If you are locked out, 
you should call the police and show them 
your receipts. If you leave voluntarily, it is 
not a shuffle.

7. Housing Discrimination
If you are discriminated against in trying to 
buy or rent property, or use services provided 
to other tenants, because of your race, 
color, religion, sex, nationality, disability, 
or because you are married or unmarried, 
or have children, call:
Southern California Housing Rights Center 
(213) 387-8400 
California Department of Fair Employment 
and Housing 
(800) 884-1684 
(800) 700-2320 (TDD Line)

Service or Assistance Animals: 
The Fair Housing Act requires landlords 
to provide reasonable accomodations to 
persons with disabilities who have assis-
tance animals. There is an exception if the 
specific animal in question poses a threat 
to others' health or safety, or would cause 
substantial physical damage. If you are 
being discriminated against due to having 
a service or assistance animal,contact: 
Disability Rights Legal Center
www.disabilityrightslegalcenter.org
800 S. Figueroa St., #1120, 
L.A.90017  	 (213) 736-1334
213-736-8310  TTD
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If you have questions about immigration or 
benefits for immigrants, or  the government 
has treated you differently just because 
you don’t speak English, or of the way you 
look or because you are from a particular 
country, please call one of the agencies 
listed on page 65 ("Help with Immigration"). 

	 Deferred Action

1. Child Arrivals

Effective June 15, 2012, certain young 
people who were brought to the United 
States as young children, do not present a 
risk to national security or public safety, and 
meet several key criteria will be considered 
for relief from removal from the country or 
from entering into removal proceedings. 
Those who demonstrate that they meet the 
criteria will be eligible to receive deferred 
action for a period of two years, subject to 
renewal, and will be eligible to apply for 
work authorization.

You are possibly eligible for deferred ac-
tion if you:
1.	Came to the United States under the 

age of sixteen;
2.	Have continuously resided in the United 

States since January 1, 2010, and 
were present in the United States on 
June 15, 2012;

3.	Are currently in school, have graduated 
from high school, have obtained a 
GED certificate, or are an  honorably 
discharged veteran of the Coast Guard 
or Armed Forces of the United States;

4.	Have not been convicted of a felony 
offense, a significant misdemeanor of-
fense, multiple misdemeanor offenses, 
or otherwise pose a threat to national 
security or public safety;

5.	In November 2014, the upper age limit 
for this  deferred action was removed 
by the President's executive order.

Only those individuals who can prove 
through verifiable documentation that 
they meet these criteria will be eligible for 
deferred action. 
For more information visit:
USCIS’ hotline
1-800-375-5283
http://www.uscis.gov/immigrationaction
ICE’s hotline
1-888-351-4024

2.Undocumented Parents

Undocumented parents of U.S. citizens 
or legal permanent residents who have 
been in the U.S. for more than 5 years 
can request temporary relief from removal 
of the country, and work authorization for 
three years at a time. They must register 
with authorities, pass a background check, 
submit fingerprints, pay fees, and show that 
their child was born before November 20, 
2014. This measure was announced by 
the President on that date. Please consult 
immigration groups listed on page 65 for 
more information. 

Certain government programs are not avail-
able to all low income immigrants who are 
lawfully present in the U.S.   However, even 
if you are undocumented,  you can apply 
for CalFresh ( Food Stamps) or CalWORKs 
for other family members who may be 
eligible (like for your children born in the 
U.S.-they are U.S. citizens).
If you are an immigrant who has become 
a U.S. citizen through naturalization, you 
must be treated the same as other U.S. 
citizens when you apply for benefits.

Anyone, Even if Undocumented, Can 
Apply for These Programs:

•	 Prenatal Care
•	 Emergency Medi-Cal
•	 Minor Consent Medi-Cal
•	 Regional Centers
•	 California Children’s Services
•	 CHDP and CHDP Gateway
•	 Immunizations for kids
•	 WIC
•	 School Breakfast & Lunch
•	 Summer Food 
•	 Health Care in some Counties  
•	 Public Education
•	 Help from Food Pantries 
•	 Help from Shelters
•	 Services from Many Non-Profit   
	 Agencies

These programs don’t have immigration re-
quirements and if you are undocumented, 
you may still qualify.  If anyone asks you 
about your immigration status, be careful.  
You do not need to tell anyone that you or 
anyone else who lives with you is undocu-
mented.  Your workers do not need to ask 
about your immigration status if you are 

not getting benefits for yourself.  If they 
do ask you, simply tell them that you are a 
“not qualified” immigrant (“not qualified” 
is not the same as undocumented).  That 
is all they need to know. 

If a school or child care center requests 
your social security number on a form, you 
can write “none” on the form or leave it 
blank. They may not give the information 
on that form to a government agency.

Benefits for Victims of Trafficking, Domes-
tic Violence, and Other Serious Crimes

California law provides eligible non-citizens 
who are victims of trafficking, domestic 
violence and other serious crimes access 
to benefits equal to those available for 
refugees.
 
•	 Victims of trafficking may qualify for up 

to one year before they are certified 
by the federal government as victims 
or obtain T status. 

•	 Victims of domestic violence and other 
serious crimes may qualify once they 
have applied for U status.

•	 You do not need a social security num-
ber to apply.

Interpreter Help

If you speak limited English and you need 
to apply for benefits such as CalWORKs, 
Medi-Cal, GR, CAPI or CalFresh, you have 
the right to ask for an interpreter free of 
charge.  The Department of Public Social 
Services (DPSS), the Department of Health 
Services (DHS), and the Social Security 
Administration must provide you with a 
worker who speaks your language or con-
nect you to a telephone interpreter service, 
at no cost to you.  You may also have the 
right to have written materials translated 
for you, or if the materials are in English, 
you have the right to have the information 
explained to you in your language.

DPSS now assigns a supervisor in every 
office to serve as the District Immigrant 
Liaison. You should call the District Im-
migrant Liaison if:
•	 you are denied assistance because you 
are not a citizen, even though you are 
eligible
•	 you do not receive a free interpreter or 
bilingual caseworker
•	 there is a delay or any other problem 
because you speak limited English
•	 Ask for the District Immigrant Liaison 
at the nearest welfare office, in person or 
by telephone (see pg. 70).

Guide for Non-Citizens

	 Can Immigrants Get         

Benefits?

Non-Citizens
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If you speak limited English and you need 
to apply for SSI, SSDI, or a Social Security 
number, the Social Security Administration 
is required to give you an interpreter, no 
matter what language you speak, whether 
it is at the Social Security Office or at an 
appointment to determine a disability.

Who Can Get Benefits?

1. Who are "Qualified" and "Non 
Qualified" Immigrants?
The government divides immigrants into 
"qualified" and "not qualified" immigrants " 
You have to check the guidelines for each 
program to see which immigrants are eli-
gible. The names are misleading, because 
"Qualified" immigrants are not necessarily 
elegible for programs, and "Not qualified" 
immigrants may still be able to apply in 

different programs.

"Qualified" immigrants include: 

•	 Lawful permanent residents ("green 
card')
•	 Refugees
•	 Asylees
•	 Persons granted withholding of deporta-
tion or removal
•	 Cuban and Haitan entrants
•	 Persons paroled into the US for at least 
one year
•	 Conditional entrants
•	 Certain spouses and children who are 
victims of domestic violence.

"Not Qualified" immigrants include:

•	 Undocumented immigrants
•	 Temporary Protected Status (TPS)
•	 Persons who are Permanently Resid-
ing Under Color of Law (PRUCOL), which 
means the authorities know you are here 
but do not plan to deport you 
•	 Persons in the US on a non-immigrant 
visa
•	 Survivors of trafficking

•	 U Visa applicants and holders

2. Which Immigrants Can Get 
SSI?

If you are a low-income non-citizen in the 
U.S. who has a disability, is blind, or over 
65 years old, you can get SSI if you meet 
all the usual requirements of the program, 
AND you meet these conditions for your 
immigration status: 

•	 You are a refugee, Amerasian immi-
grant, Cuban or Haitian entrant, federally 
certified victim of trafficking or a T visa 
holder,   asylee, or were granted withholding 
of deportation/removal, (but only during 
the seven years after getting this status. 
If it has been more than 7 years and you 
do not qualify for SSI based on any other 
grounds, you should apply for CAPI); 
 
•	 You are a "qualified immigrant" who is a 
current or veteran U.S. military personnel 
(or Filipino veteran who served under U.S. 
command during WWII), or the spouse or 
dependent child (under 18 if unmarried 
or under 22 if a student) of one, or the 
un-remarried widow or widower of one;
 
•	 You are a lawful permanent resident with 
credit for 40 quarters (about 10 years) of 
work in the U.S.  You can add your work 
quarters with any work quarters earned 
by your spouse during the marriage, or 
that your parents earned before you were 
18.  However, if you entered the US on 
or after August 22, 1996 you cannot use 
your work quarters until 5 years after the 
date you became a "qualified" immigrant

•	 You are a "qualified" immigrant who was 
lawfully residing in the US on August 22, 
1996 and are blind or disabled. However, 
unlike those in the above categories you 
cannot qualify solely on the basis of being 
over 65 years old.

•	  If you have a sponsor, see pg 65 "What 
If I Have a Sponsor" about "deeming" rules.
 

3. Which Immigrants Can Get 
CAPI?
If you are an immigrant who has a dis-
ability, is blind or 65 years old or older 
and you are not eligible for SSI because of 
your immigration status, you may be able 
to get CAPI (Cash Assistance Program for 
Immigrants.)

 To get CAPI you must be either 
•	 a "Qualified Immigrant" (see left column 
of this page)
•	 a survivor  of trafficking 

•	 a "U" visa applicant or holder, or  
•	 PRUCOL (Permanently Residing Under 
Color of Law), meaning that the immigra-
tion authorities know you are here and do 
not plan to deport or remove you from the 
country.

•	  If you have a sponsor, see pg 65 "What 
If I Have a Sponsor" about "deeming" rules.

See "Can I Get CAPI" pg. 26 for full details 
on eligibility and where to apply for this 
program.

4. Which Immigrants Can Get 
CalFresh (Food Stamps)? 

To get CalFresh (Food Stamps) you must be:

•	 A Qualified Immigrant (see left column 
on this page) OR
•	 You, your spouse or parent are a mem-
ber of a Hmong or Lao tribe that provided 
assistance to the US during the Vietnam 
War era and you are lawfully present in 
the US.
•	 A survivor   of trafficking or a U visa 
applicant or holder 
•	 Lawful temporary resident (you have a 
green card but have not yet been here 5 
years)
•	  If you have a sponsor, see pg 65 "What 
If I Have a Sponsor" about "deeming" rules.

5. Which Immigrants Can Get 
CalWORKs and GR? 

Qualified immigrants, noncitizen victims of 
trafficking,  U visa applicants and holders, 
and immigrants who are PRUCOL may be 
eligible for CalWORKs pg. 4) and General 
Relief (pg. 27). You must also meet the 
income limit and other requirements.If 
you have a sponsor, see pg 65 "What If I 
Have a Sponsor" about "deeming" rules.

6. What is Refugee Cash             
Assistance?

Refugees who have been in the country 
less than 8 months and persons who 
were granted asylum less than 8 months 
before,  may be eligible for Refugee Cash 
Assistance (generally this is for able bod-
ied adults without children.) Survivors  of 
trafficking , noncitizen victims of domestic 
violence and other serious crimes,  and 
U visa applicants and holders also may 
qualify for Refugee Cash Assistance.  Call 
the local DPSS office listed on page 70.

Non-Citizens
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7. What Health Care Programs 
Are Available for Immigrants?

All LA county residents, including docu-
mented and undocumented immigrants, 
may be able to get health care through 
county programs.  They may also be able 
to receive services through Emergency 
Medi-Cal, Pregnancy related Medi-Cal, 
Minor Consent Services Medi-Cal, county 
mental health services, CHDP and services 
provided by many free and community 
clinics.

To be eligible for all Medi-Cal services (also 
known as full-scope Medi-Cal)  you must 
be PRUCOL or a "Qualified" immigrant.  
See "Health Care for Children" pg. 48 for 
programs with no immigration restrictions. 

"Qualified” immigrants, survivors  of traf-
ficking, U visa applicants and holders, 
and PRUCOL immigrants may be eligible 
for In-Home Supportive Services. CAPI 
(Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants) 
recipients may also be eligible for In-Home 
Supportive Services. Sponsor "deeming" 
may apply (see "What If I Have a Spon-
sor", pg. 65)

8. Public Housing

Most "qualified” immigrants and victims 
of trafficking are eligible for housing as-
sistance from the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 
if they meet the program's other rules. 
HUD is a federal program; different rules 
apply to state and local housing programs

You can apply for and receive HUD as-
sistance even if one or more household 
members are not a citizen or “qualified” 
immigrant. Assistance may be calculated 
based on the number of citizens or eligible 
immigrants in the household.  

Social Security

1. Social Security Benefits

If you have paid into the Social Security 
system as a worker or had money taken 
out of your paycheck for this program, you 
may qualify for Social Security disability, 
retirement or survivor benefits.  [See pg. 23] 

 To receive the benefits, you must be either 
lawfully present in the country now, or have 
been receiving benefits based on a claim 
filed before December 1, 1996. 

You are not eligible for Social Security 
benefits if you have been deported, except 
if you have been readmitted as a lawful 
permanent resident.  Your benefits may 
be suspended if you leave the U.S. for 6 
months or more while still a non-citizen.

2. Social Security Numbers

To get a Social Security card that allows 
you to work, you must have papers showing 
that you are a: 
•	 Lawful Permanent Resident (“green 
card holder”)
•	 refugee, asylee, citizen of a “freely 
associated state” (Micronesia, Marshall 
Islands or Palau) or 
•	  have an employment authorization 
document issued by the U.S. Citizenship 
and Immigration Services.  
If you are lawfully in the U.S. but do not 
have work authorization, and need an SSN 
in order to get a benefit for which you are 
otherwise eligible, you can apply for  a 
“non-work” SSN from a Social Security 
office that can be used for benefits pur-
poses only. It is illegal to use this card for 
work-related purposes.

Worker's Rights

Regardless of your immigration status, you 
have the right to receive minimum wage, 
overtime and safe working conditions.  You 
also have the right to be free from harass-
ment and discrimination.  If your rights 
as a worker are being violated, contact 
the state Labor Commissioner’s Office at 
(213) 897-4037 to complain. If you have 
legal work papers, it is illegal for employ-
ers to commit on-the-job discrimination, 
or deny a job because a worker is from 
another country.  

The following groups can help if you are an 
immigrant worker and your employer owes 
you wages and has not paid you:
Asian Americans Advancing Justice
1145 Wilshire Blvd. (213) 977-7500
Bet Tzedek Legal Services
(818) 769-0136
CHIRLA 
(day  laborers and domestic workers)
2533 W. 3rd St. #101 LA (888) 624-4752
Garment Workers Center (213) 748-5866
Koreatown Immigrant Workers Alliance 
(KIWA) (restaurant  workers)
3465 W. 8th St. LA (213) 738-9050
Legal Aid Foundation Employment Law 
Unit (213) 640-3954 (800) 399-4529
Maintenance Cooperation Trust Fund 
(janitorial workers)1247 W. 7th St. Room 
103 LA (213) 284-7758 

Neighborhood Legal Services
(800) 433-6251
Pilipino Workers Center
153 Glendale Blvd. LA (213) 250-4353

Can Using Benefits Affect 

My Immigration Status

1. What is Public Charge?

If you are applying to become a lawful per-
manent resident (green card holder), using 
health care programs (such as Medi-Cal , 
In Home Supportive Services, or Healthy 
Families) or CalFresh/Food Stamps, will 
not hurt your chances of getting your green 
card by making you a "public charge".   You 
might have a problem getting your green 
card if you have used cash welfare or long-
term care (like a nursing home) paid for 
by Medi-Cal or other government funds.
The government can deny a green card to 
people who are likely to become a "public 
charge"(meaning someone likely to rely on 
cash welfare or long-term care.) Officials 
will look at many factors, including your 
age, your health, your entire family’s 
income and resources (and if you have a 
sponsor, their income and resources) to 
determine whether in the future you will 
be likely to need to rely on cash welfare 
to live.  They will look at “the totality of 
your circumstances” and no single factor 
will make you a public charge.  

Depending on your situation, past use of 
cash benefits may not count against you, 
for example if it was several years ago that 
you received the benefits or if it was only 
for a short period of time.

You do not have to worry about public 
charge if you:
•	 Already have a green card (unless you 
leave the US for more than 6 months at a 
time and try to re-enter)
•	 Are applying for citizenship
•	 Are applying for  asylum
•	 Are applying for a T visa
•	 Are applying for a green card based  on:
•	 asylee or refugee status
•	 T or U visa status
•	  having lived in the US since before 
1972

Victims of domestic violence who file a 
self-petition under the Violence Against 
Women Act (VAWA) are subject to the 
"public charge" test. However, they can 
use all benefits, including cash welfare, 
without affecting this decision. 


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U visa applicants can get a public charge “ 
waiver,” and there is no public charge test 
when U visa holders apply for a green card.
  
The government should not demand that 
you repay any welfare you correctly received 
as a condition of giving you legal status.  
If this happens, call one of the immigrant 
advocate agencies. 

2. What If I Have A Sponsor?

Most new immigrants entering into the 
US through family members are required 
to have a sponsor sign an “affidavit of 
support” form.  This form is a promise 
to the government that the sponsor will 
help to provide economic support for any 
sponsored immigrants.  Not all immigrants 
are required to have a sponsor, for example 
refugees and asylees.

If you are a sponsored immigrant and you 
want to apply for certain government ben-
efits, your sponsor’s income and resources 
may be added to yours in determining 
your eligibility for benefits (this is called 
“deeming”).  This deeming rule makes the 
income of many immigrants too high to 
qualify for benefits.  There is no deeming if 
you are applying for health care programs, 
only for CalFresh/Food Stamps and cash 
assistance programs. 
 
Deeming does not apply to some migrants, 
including: refugees, asylees, parolees, 
battered spouses who have filed a “self-
petition” for an immigrant visa, or certain 
other immigrants who are not required to 
have a sponsor such as T and U visa hold-
ers.  In addition, there are exceptions to the 
deeming rule, depending on which program 
you are applying for and when you entered 
the US.  For example, if you are a victim 
of domestic violence or would go hungry 
or homeless without assistance, you may 
be exempt from deeming.  However, you 
will still have to meet the other eligibility 
requirements.

If you have a question or problem with 
“sponsor deeming” contact one of the 
agencies listed at the end of this page.

Help for Refugees

Each “official” or documented refugee who 
enters the United States is assigned to a 
Resettlement Agency (RA), usually before 
arrival.  In addition to initial resettlement 
and sponsorship, these offices can provide 
some employment assistance and social 
service counseling.  RAs can also give 
referrals to other services and often help 
refugees arrange for the entry of close 
family members.  These organizations 
include the following:

Jewish Family Services  (Hebrew Immigrant 
Aid Society)  (323)935-3503
International Institute of Los Angeles 
(American Council for Nationalities Ser-
vice)(323) 224-3800
International Rescue Committee 
(818) 937-2861 
Catholic Charities Immigration & Refugee 
Dept. (U.S. Council of Catholic Bishops) 
(213) 251-3486
World Relief (Garden Grove, CA)
(714) 210-4730

If You Are Detained by 

Immigration and Customs 

Enforcement (ICE)

 If you are arrested by the Immigration and 
Customs Enforcement (ICE), you should
•	 Remain silent, or tell the ICE agent that 
you want to remain silent.
•	 Ask to speak with a lawyer
•	 Not carry false documents
•	 Find out the name and phone number 
of a reliable immigration attorney and keep 
this information with you at all times.
•	 Know your "A" number (alien registra-
tion number) if you have one, and write 
it down someplace at home where your 
family members know where to find it.
•	 Prepare a form or document that autho-
rizes another adult to care for your minor 
children.
•	 Advise family members who do not want 
to be questioned by ICE to stay away from 
the place where you are being detained
•	 Not sign any documents without first 
speaking with a lawyer.    

Help with Immigration 

Questions

Asian Americans Advancing Justice
(213) 977-7500
Center for Human Rights & Constitutional 
Law (213) 388-8693 
Carecen (Central American Refugee Cen-
ter) 	 2845 W. 7th St.  90005
(213) 385-7800
Center for Human Rights and Constitu-
tional Law  256 S. Occidental Blvd., L.A. 
90057  (213) 388-8693
CHIRLA (Coalition for Humane Immigrant 
Rights of Los Angeles)(213) 353-1333
El Rescate  
1501 W 8th St., Suite 100 LA 90017
(213) 387-3284
Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles
(213) 640-3883
Neighborhood Legal Services of Los An-
geles County (818) 896 5211
13327 Van Nuys Blvd., Pacoima 91331
Los Angeles County Bar Immigration 
Project (213) 485-1872 www.lacba.org
LA Gay and Lesbian Center Legal Ser-
vices Department (323)993-7670www.
lagaycenter.org
Immigration Center for Women 
and Children (213) 614-1165	      
www.icwclaw.org/

The National Immigration Law Center has 
resources on benefits for immigrants at:
www.nilc.org/benefitsca.html

Non-Citizens





 The People's Guide  201566

Hearings and Complaints
Hearings

In a fair hearing, you will have a chance 
to explain your case, and after hearing 
your side and the county office’s side, 
an impartial judge will decide who wins.  
Sometimes, just requesting a hearing will 
resolve your problem. If a county employee 
tells you that you don’t have a case, insist 
on a hearing and seek out legal advice.  
[See Good Advice, p. 68] 

If you are disabled, the Department of 
Public Social Services [DPSS] office, where 
you get your cash aid and food stamps, 
must help you to request a hearing and to 
understand your rights, so ask for help if 
you need it. For example, you may need 
help writing because you have arthritis. 
If you are disabled and cannot come to 
a hearing downtown you have a right to 
have a hearing in your home. However, 
you must request an in-home hearing and 
tell why you need it. Keep a copy of your 
hearing request.   If you are treated unfairly 
because of a disability or health problem, 
send a complaint letter to the Civil Rights 
Division, U.S. Dept. of Justice, P.O. Box 
66118, Washington DC 20035-6118.

Seek advice and assistance. Talk to a legal 
worker or community worker about your 
situation (See Good Advice, p. 68).

Keep good records and save all papers that 
an agency gives or mails to you.  Keep a 
copy of any documents that you send to a 
county office.  Get a receipt for any papers 
you mail or hand in to a county office.  Write 
down the name of anyone you speak with 
in person or over the phone and the date 
and time that you talked.

You have a right to see your case file and to 
copy anything you need in it, such as the 
documents you provided to the DPSS office, 
notices of action, requests for documents, 
and anything the DPSS office mailed or 
hand delivered to you.

You have a right to see any regulations or  
instructions that apply to your situation.
The county must follow a legally-guaranteed 
set of rights which apply to any of these 
programs.  

For CalFresh, Medi-Cal, 

CalWORKs, and IHSS

1. Fixing Your Problem Without 
A Hearing
The most reliable way to fix a problem 
with your benefits is to ask for a hearing 
(see below).

Below are some tips that may allow you to 
fix your benefits problem without going to 
hearing.  However, please remember the 
following two things: (1) You only have 
ninety days to ask for a hearing once you 
receive notice of a county action and (2) 
None of the steps below are the same as 
actually requesting a hearing, so keep an 
eye on your deadline and remember to 
request a hearing if the steps below don’t 
fix your problem.

If you are not satisfied with any decision 
made about your case, complain to your 
worker’s supervisor.  

Besides filing for a hearing, call the district 
HELPLine for your DPSS office (see the list 
of HELPLines on page 68), or walk up to 
the HELPLine Information Worker in the 
lobby of the DPSS office and ask for help. 
You can also call the Central HELPline at 
1-877-481-1044.

If this fails, ask to speak to the deputy 
director and, after that, the director of the 
DPSS office. However, you may file for a 
fair hearing to challenge an action (see 
below) at any time.  If you need help, call 
an advocate, legal aid organization, your 
county supervisor, or a local legislator.  If 
you act fast, and keep at it, you may win. 

2. Asking For A Hearing
You must be sent a special notice 10 days 
before any action is taken that will reduce or 
stop your benefits. The notice must explain 
clearly the reasons for the action and list 
the regulations that support this action. 
If you disagree with this action and you 
formally request a fair hearing before the 

date the action takes effect, then under 
most circumstances your aid will not be 
cut until the hearing (unless it ends for 
another reason, like your certification 
period ended.) If you did not appeal on 
time  because  the notice was not clear 
and you did not understand what action 
was being taken until after the action be-
came effective, you can ask the judge at 
the hearing for your benefits to continue 
at the unreduced rate. You should seek 
help if you want to make such a claim 
under Welfare and Institutions Code sec-
tion 10967 and want to get your benefits 
reinstated.

If you do not ask for a fair hearing before 
the date the action takes place, your aid 
may be reduced or cut, but you still may 
fight the action if you ask for the hearing 
within 90 days of the date the notice was 
mailed. Save the envelope your notice 
came in and a copy of your fair hearing 
request so you will have proof that you 
met the required deadline.

To request the fair hearing, you may fill 
out and return the form on the back of the 
notice or write a letter doing so in your own 
words.  Send your request to:
Appeals and State Hearing Section 
P.O. Box 18890 
Los Angeles, CA 90018.  

Please keep a copy of your hearing request 
and, if possible, mail the request with a 
postal tracking number so you can prove 
that your hearing request was received 
on time.

You can also request a hearing online at: 
www.dhs.cahwnet.gov or by calling the 
toll-free number set up for this purpose, 
(800) 952-5253. You should call early: 
they open at 7:30 AM. The line is often 
busy, so keep trying. Remember to take 
the name of the person you spoke with.

You cannot make a hearing request with 
your worker or any other County staff. You 
must either call the 800 number or send 
the written request to the Appeals and 
State Hearing Section P.O. Box. But if 
you do mistakenly request a hearing from 
your worker or local county staff, they are 
bound to forward your hearing request to 
the right place. Even if you made your 
hearing request to the wrong place like the 
county offices, if you did it on time, you 
are still entitled for your aid to continue 
at the old rate until the hearing.
The state will send you a notice with the 
date, time, and place of your hearing.  
Usually, this happens within 3 or 4 weeks. 

If your benefits have been denied or cut unfairly, you should fight it!  Don’t be 
intimidated. Request a fair hearing immediately whenever your rights are threat-
ened.  Don’t forget deadlines. Remember you only have ninety days to appeal a 
denial or cut of a county program such as CalWORKS and CalFRESH.  However, 
if the county fails to send out a notice, or the notice is inadequate the ninety 
days to appeal do not begin to run out.







67 The People's Guide  2015

Currently, in the CalFresh program, any 
time before the hearing, you can request 
a delay (“postponement”) of the hearing 
in order to have more time to prepare or 
to get an attorney or advocate. In other aid 
programs, or to get a second postpone-
ment, you must have a very good reason 
(“good cause”).  
You will also receive the name, telephone 
number and address of the Appeals Hear-
ing Specialist (AHS) assigned to your case. 
The AHS will present the county’s side 
at the hearing. Again, if you asked for a 
hearing early enough, your benefits are not 
supposed to be cut before your hearing.  
This is called “Aid Paid Pending.”  If you 
were supposed to get Aid Paid Pending, 
and you did not, tell your AHS.  He or she 
is supposed to help you.

The AHS will also write up the county’s 
side before the hearing in a position state-
ment. You have the right to get a copy of 
the county’s position statement. If you 
ask the AHS for the position statement, 
you may get it up to two days before the 
hearing.  Even if you don’t ask for the 
position statement, the AHS must have it 
ready on the day of the hearing for you to 
read.  If the AHS does not have it ready 
for you to see before your hearing, you may 
ask the judge to postpone the hearing to 
give you more time to read the statement. 
This postponement does not count against 
you.  You may have the statement of posi-
tion faxed to you or go to the Appeals and 
State Hearings Office  and pick it up. It 
will tell you what the county’s position and 
evidence are before the hearing so you can 
prepare your case. 

If you are disabled, or homebound, hear-
ings can be held by phone, at the county 
office or in your home, but you must ask 
for this in your hearing request. If you 
forget to request it on the hearing request, 
send a letter to the same P.O. Box address 
where you sent your hearing request as 
soon as possible. 

You must also be provided with an inter-
preter for the hearing, at no cost, if English 
is not your first language or if you have a 
disability, such as a hearing impairment, 
that limits your ability to communicate 
with others. 
After your hearing, call the toll-free number 
and complain if the state takes longer than 
60 days to give you a decision about Cal-
Fresh, or 90 days if the hearing was about 
CalWORKs or Medi-Cal. These are usually 
the maximum amounts of time that are 
permitted to decide such cases (starting 
on the date of your request for hearing). If 

your hearing decision takes longer than 90 
days and you have never continued it, you 
must get extra money for the delay, if the 
decision is granted in your favor.

If you do not win the hearing, you can 
request a rehearing.  You may also appeal 
the ALJ’s decision to the Superior Court.   
You should contact a lawyer experienced in 
this area to file such an appeal. You have 
one year from the date of the decision to 
file a case in court. 

For Social Security, Medi-

care, and In Home Services

The Social Security Administration must 
mail you a notice before they make any 
changes to your benefits.  If you disagree 
with the proposed action, request a “Re-
consideration” immediately by going to 
the Social Security office and filling out 
a “Request for Reconsideration” form.  
Make sure that you get a copy of the form 
stamped by Social Security with the date 
it was filed.   You may also download the 
form from Social Security’s website ssa.
gov and mailing in the form to your local 
Social Security office with a postal tracking 
number to prove when you mailed it.  Make 
sure you check the box for an informal 
conference. If you do not check this box, 
you will just get a review of the paper work 
and the decision is not likely to change. 
The county DPSS will help with recon-
siderations and appeals if you are a GR 
recipient attempting to get on to SSI or 
Social Security.

If you request a Reconsideration within the 
time period given on the notice (usually 
10 days but sometimes 30 days for an 
overpayment), your benefits can continue 
unchanged until you receive a reconsidera-
tion decision.   If Social Security paid you 
too much, and they want to take money out 
of your benefits check, you can request a 
waiver if it wasn’t your fault and  it would 
be hard for you to pay the money back. 
You can get the waiver form from your local 
Social Security office or online from ssa.
gov. If you owe the money, you can also 
request that the money be collected back 
at a lower rate per month. 

In SSDI cases, you must fill out a separate 
form asking for your aid to continue. If you 
miss the deadline given in the notice, the 
aid will be cut or reduced, but you still 
have 60 days from the date you received 
the notice to request a Reconsideration.  
After 60 days, if you have “Good Cause” for 

missing the deadline, you may be allowed 
to file a Reconsideration.  If you win the 
Reconsideration, your lost benefits will be 
paid back to you.  

There are three types of Reconsideration: 
case review, informal, or formal conference.  
It is best to ask for an informal conference.  
However, if your application for SSDI or 
SSI is denied for medical reasons, you can 
usually only get a case review.  Some SSA 
offices require that you file for a hearing 
with a judge to appeal any decision related 
to disability.  Check with your local SSA 
office before appealing.

If your reconsideration or waiver is denied, 
you may request a hearing before an Ad-
ministrative Law Judge (ALJ) with the Of-
fice of Disability Adjudication and Review 
(ODAR). You have to request a hearing 
within 60 days of receiving an unfavorable 
reconsideration decision. You can request 
a hearing after 60 days if you have good 
cause.   At the hearing you may appear in 
person, submit new evidence, examine the 
evidence used in making the determina-
tion or decision under review, and present 
and question witnesses. You should always 
review your hearing office file well before 
your hearing date because you may need 
time to obtain additional evidence. This 
is particularly true if it is a hearing where 
your disability is at issue.   The ALJ who 
holds the hearing may ask you questions.  
He or she will write a decision based on 
the hearing record.  If you waive your right 
to appear at the hearing, the ALJ will make 
a decision based on the evidence that is 
already in the file. It is never a good idea 
to let the judge make a decision without 
hearing from you particularly if the issue 
is whether you are disabled. 

When you are receiving SSI or SSDI and 
then start working, your benefits could 
be cut if you are working and earning too 
much. (This is known as “Substantial 
Gainful Activity” or “SGA”).  Ten days after 
you get the tentative notice, a notice that 
your payments will stop will be sent to you.  
Request a reconsideration immediately.  To 
protect yourself, it is best to make a new 
application at the same time you request 
a Reconsideration. In 2015 SGA is $1090 
a month ($1820 if you are blind) . 

If you are considering going back to work, 
Call Disability Rights California at (800) 
776-5746 and ask for their booklet, 
“Disability and Work.”  You can get this 
online on the Social Security website, 
www.ssa.gov. 

Hearings
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Good Advice
Legal Aid

You can get free legal help with prob-
lems involving all the programs in this 
guide or with such issues as divorce, 
separation, child support, custody, and 
consumer rights. To qualify for free legal 
services that are federally-funded, your 
income must be low (around the level of 
people who qualify for CalWORKs). 

The following are some of the leading 
legal and casework services programs in 
our county: 

Legal Aid Foundation of L.A. 
800-399-4LAW (4529) www.lafla.org
TDD for deaf callers 310-393 7734
Central L.A.(213) 640-3881 
1550 W. 8th St. at Union
East L.A.(213) 640-3883 
5228 Whittier Blvd. 
South  L.A.(213) 640-3884 
8601S. Broadway
West  L.A.(323) 801-7989
1102 S. Crenshaw 
Santa Monica (310) 899-6200
1640 5th St #124. 
Long Beach (562) 435-3501 
110 Pine Ave., Ste. 420.

Neighborhood Legal Services of Los 
Angeles County www.nls-la.org
(800) 433-6251.  
Health Consumer Center,
 800-896-3203
13327 Van Nuys Blvd. Pacoima  (Multi-
lingual. Covers all of San Fernando 
Valley, San Gabriel Valley, Pomona, 
Antelope Valley, Glendale and Burbank. 

American Civil Liberties Union—South-
ern California
(213) 977-9500 www.aclu-sc.org. 
Voice mail for intake (213)977-5253 

AIDS Project Los Angeles  
(213) 201-1600. www.apla.org. 611 
S. Kingsley Dr. ; 639 N. Fairfax Ave. 
(Benefits, insurance, counseling, case 
management, food distribution, home 
health care, dental clinic, housing, jobs)

Alliance for Children’s Rights 
(213) 368-6010. www.kids-alliance.org 
3333 Wilshire Blvd #550 LA (legal and 
social services, foster care, adoption, 
guardianships, health access) 

Disability Rights California
www.disabilityrightsca.org  
350 S Bixel St, Suite 290, L.A.  
(800) 776-5746 	(800) 781-4546  TTY
(Human rights for  people with disabili-
ties, institutions and hospitals; abuse 
and neglect, government benefits)

Public Counsel www.publiccounsel.org
(213) 385-2977. 610 S. Ardmore Ave.  
(Child care provider support, children’s 
rights, adoption of foster children, con-
sumer scams, juvenile justice, home-
lessness, immigration asylum)

Disability Rights Legal Center
www.disabilityrightslegalcenter.org
800 S. Figueroa St., #1120, L.A.90017  	
(213) 736-1334
213-736-8310  TTD

Women Helping Women Services 
(323) 655-3807 (Counseling, informa-
tion and referral for many problems) 

Financial Help

These groups provide services only if 
they have funds available.

Beyond Shelter (Rent/Eviction funds)
Downtown: (213) 624-3370
Mid-Wilshire and South LA 
(323) 644-2200

Catholic Charities (213) 251-3400

Jewish Free Loan (interest free loans 
and flexible payback: serves all people)
(323) 761-8830

Labor Community Services (one-time 
bill payment and financial aid if money 
available) 
213-985-1987

Pregnancy and Adoption

Adoption HotLine (800) 697- 4444
Beverly Hills Birthing (323) 462-6423
Birth Control Helpline (800) 942-1054
El Nido Family Center (323) 971-7360
Pregnancy HotLine (800) 848-5683
St. Anne's Maternity (213) 381-2931

Asian Americans Advancing Justice
(213) 977-7500 www.apalc.org
1145 Wilshire Blvd., L.A. (multi-lingual 
services: family law, domestic violence, 
government benefits, elder law, housing 
rights, consumer and debtor relief, gar-
ment worker rights, anti-discrimination 
county-wide)

Bet Tzedek Legal Service L.A.
(323) 939-0506 www..bettzedek.org
145 S. Fairfax, #200 L.A. or
(818) 769-0136 12821 Victory Blvd, 
North Hollywood (multilingual service: 
seniors, nursing home advocacy, housing 
conditions, Outreach through senior 
centers county-wide)

Center for Health Care Rights 
www.healthcarerights.org 
(213) 383-4519. 
520 S. Lafayette Park Place #214, L.A. 
(Medicare issues)

Coalition for Economic Survival    (213) 
252-4411.   5114 Shatto Pl. Ste. 270  
(tenants organizing and rights)www.nkla.
sppsr.ucla.edu/ces

Community Legal Services www.legal-
aid.com (800) 834-5001.  725 W. 
Rosecrans Ave., Compton and 11834 
E. Firestone, Norwalk (Orange County & 
Southeast L.A. County)

HALSA—HIV & Aids Legal Services Al-
liance (213) 201-1640. 3550 Wilshire 
#750. (APLA, Public Counsel, County 
Bar, AIDS Service Center & LA Gay & 
Lesbian Service Center.  Public benefits, 
discrimination, employment, housing, 
immigration, wills, guardianship, adop-
tion)

Harriett Buhai Center for Family Law
www.hbcfl.org (213) 388-7515. 4262 
Wilshire Blvd #201 L.A.  

Inner City Law Center (213) 891-2880 
1325 E. 7th St. L.A. (homeless issues, 
veterans, housing conditions, GR)

Maternal and Child Health Access
(213) 749-4261.1111 W. 6th St.  #400 
L.A. (Medi-Cal & CalFresh) 

Mental Health Advocacy Services 
3255 Wilshire Blvd, LA, Ste. 902    90010
(213) 389-2077
((SSI, discrimination, access)

Good Advice
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Good Advice

Substance Abuse

Treatment Programs 1(800)564-6600
Hotline: (800) RELAPSE 

AA Headquarters. (800) 923-8722 / 
(323) 936-4343 Self help and meeting 
info.

Sober Living Network (800) 799-2084.
Finding or starting a group recovery 
home

Phoenix House (800) DRUG-HELP/ 
(800) 378-4435

Helpful Numbers

211 LA County (referrals for emergency 
food, shelter, clothing, etc)

All Youth Related Hotline: 
(800)843-5200. 
Covenant House
(800) 999-9999 National line for youth 
& parents. Message relay, homelessness, 
drugs, abuse.
HIV/AIDS Testing (Free and Anonymous) 
(800) 922AIDS 
Alliance For the Mentally Ill. 
(213) 413-1622 www.ca.nami.org 
Positive support groups, referrals. 
Suicide Prevention 
(877) 727-4747 	    (310) 391-1253 
(24 hour nonprofit free center)
CAST—Coalition to Abolish Slavery and 
Trafficking. (213) 385-5584 
www.castla.org 
Client-centered case management for 
trafficked people.

Abuse

1. Child and Elder Abuse

Child Abuse: (800) 540-4000 (Report 
abuse or exploitation of a child to the 
County)

Elder Abuse: (800) 992-1660 (Report 
abuse or exploitation of a disabled adult 
or elder to the County)

2. Domestic Violence and 
Rape 
If you are a victim or a friend of yours is 
a victim of domestic violence (abuse) or 
rape you should call to get help. Protect 
yourself and your children, seek help 
and deal with violence.  Most of the 
following hotlines are 24 hour and have 
multi-lingual capability. 
(800) 585-6231.  
TDD  for deaf callers  (800) 787-3224
(213) 626-3393    (310) 547-9343.  
 (310) 392-8381   (323) 655-3807 
(562) 402-4888    (626) 793-3385     
(818) 886-0453    (909) 626-4357   

Center for the Pacific-Asian Family  
(323) 653-4042 or (800) 399-3940 
“A Safe Way Out”  (800) 978-3600

What is Abuse? 
Abuse can be anything that hurts you:
• Physical abuse (hitting, punching, 
shoving, using weapons or threats of 
physical harm)  
• Any kind of forced sexual activity with 
any adult or child 
• Threats of assault or sexual assault 
• Yelling at you 
• Threatening to kidnap the children 
• Keeping you from  friends or relatives 
• Making you account for all your time 
• Denying or neglecting food or medical 
care 
• Controlling the money 
• Harassing you at your job 
• Following you around wherever you go. 

Restraining Orders
Legal aid agencies listed on the previ-
ous page can help you get a restraining 
order against the abuser. A restraining 
order can be obtained at the Superior 
Courthouse at 111 N. Hill St. in down-
town LA or at your local court. If you file 
at the downtown courthouse, call the 
Domestic Violence Counseling Project 
(213) 624-3665. Local police or  sher-
iff officers can issue 3-day emergency 
restraining orders if called to the scene 
of a battering incident. 

Almost all of the courts in Los Angeles 
have domestic violence clinics where 
they will help anyone, regardless of 
income, to get a temporary restraining 
order against an abuser. 

Immigrants 
Low income immigrants who are victims 
of domestic violence may be able to 
legalize their immigration status without 
relying on their abuser, and may be able 

to get government benefits to help them 
escape abusive situations. 
For free help, contact:
Asian Americans Advancing Justice
(213) 977-7500 
Legal Aid (800) 399-4LAW (4529). 

Hate Crimes

In California, a hate crime is any criminal 
act or attempted criminal act against a 
person or place based on the victim’s 
actual or perceived race, nationality, 
religion, sexual orientation, disability,  
gender, or status as homeless.  Hate 
crimes include threats of violence that 
look like they can be carried out and any 
act which results in injury. 
If you or someone you know becomes a 
victim of a hate crime: 
• Seek medical attention for any injuries, 
even if you consider them minor. Keep 
copies of all medical records.
• Contact the police as soon as possible. 
Tell them you have been a victim of a 
hate crime. 
• Keep copies of all documents signed or 
received and write down the name of the 
police or sheriff’s officer who took your 
report.
• Document the hate crime providing as 
much detail as possible. 
• Take photos of any injuries sustained 
or damage to property. Contact a legal 
service agency (see previous page) or 

Center for Human Rights & Constitution-
al Law (213) 388-8693
Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights 
of Los Angeles (888) 624-4752 
Los Angeles Gay & Lesbian Center (800) 
373-2227 or (323) 993-7677 
Muslim Public Affairs Council              
(323) 258-6722 
Southern Christian Leadership Confer-
ence (323) 903-5860
So. CA Indian Center  (213)387-5772

If You Just Left Prison

Friends Outside (626) 795-7607  
Variety of services to families of jail and 
prison inmates.
Community Coalition: 
Ex-Offender Task Force (323) 750-9087
Chrysalis (for jobs)
•	 Los Angeles (213) 895-7777 
•	 Santa Monica (310) 392-4117




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