Fatality Determinations

These charts provide information regarding all of the child fatalities that were reported to the Los Angeles County Child Protection Hotline* and determinations made as of June 30, 2023.

These charts include data for fatalities with and without DCFS history.

*This report does not include the fatalities reported to the CPH when the deceased child had an open case or referral in another County at the time of death.

2019 Fatality Determinations


* A fatality is confirmed to be the result of abuse and or neglect when any one of three agencies (DCFS, Law Enforcement, or Coroner) makes that determination. All fatalities that are confirmed to be the result of abuse and or neglect also meet the criteria for reasonable suspicion.
** “Did Not Meet SB 39 Criteria” means that, as of the determination date, there is no reasonable suspicion that the fatality was caused by abuse and/or neglect.

Child Protection Hotline

24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Toll Free within California

(800) 540-4000

Outside of California

(213) 639-4500

TDD - Hearing Imparied

(800) 272-6699