

## CALIFORNIA FOSTERING CONNECTIONS TO SUCCESS ACT Assembly Bill 12 – Foster Care Extension (AB 12)

Beginning in 2010, the California Fostering Connections to Success Act, also known as AB12, extends the foster care age in California from 18 to 21 years old.

## Who does AB 12 apply to?

DCFS foster youth may be eligible for extended foster care on their 18<sup>th</sup> birthday, which allows them to continue accessing the services and benefits DCFS and Probation offers, including assistance with housing, assistance with college or vocational education, emergency financial support and career development programs.

### Who is eligible?

At the six-month hearing prior to turning 18 years old, the DCFS social worker/probation officer must have a plan in place to ensure youth meet at least ONE of the following criteria:

- 1. Completing high school or an equivalent program (e.g. GED);
- 2. Enrolling in a college, community college or a vocational education program;
- 3. Employed at least 80 hours a month;
- 4. Participating in a program designed to promote or remove barriers to employment; OR
- 5. Unable to do any of the above requirements because of a medical condition.

# Eligible youth also have to:

- Be in an approved home placement;
- Meet with CSW/DPO at least once a month;
- Sign an agreement to participate in the set case plan; and
- Agree to continued court supervision.



#### What are the Options for Housing?

There are multiple placement options available:

- 1. Youth can remain in the existing home with either a relative or NREFM, licensed foster family home, certified foster family agency home, or the home of a non-related legal guardian who has been approved by the juvenile court.
- 2. Youth may be eligible for a transitional housing program which will provide them with an opportunity to live in an apartment in the community while getting support from a team of individuals who will assist them with their independent living skills goals. They will learn the skills to become self-sufficient by the time they complete this program.
- 3. If youth are living with a relative under KinGap, they will be eligible for extended care under AB12. If the guardianship was established when they were 16 or older, the relative caregiver will receive the same payment until the youth is 21 years of age. Youth with mental or physical disabilities are eligible for extended care under AB12, regardless of when they entered KinGAP.
- 4. You may also be able to stay with a group home placement if you meet the medical condition criteria.

# What if a Youth has already left Foster Care and doesn't have a social worker anymore?

To re-enter foster care under AB 12 please contact DCFS or Probation at one of the following numbers. Additional information can be found at <u>www.dcfs.lacounty.gov</u>.

- DCFS: Call the Child Protection Hotline at 1-800-540-4000 and select the child / youth option.
- Probation: Call 909-347-9128 or send an email to probab12@probation.lacounty.gov