Where to find help in LA County

Below are an array of free services available and ready to support LA County families.

2-1-1 LA County

Prevention and Aftercare Services

Partnerships for Families

Home Visiting Programs

Additional Parent Resources

Family First in LA County

All children should grow up in safe, stable and secure families that support their long-term well-being. Research makes clear that growing up in a family environment is essential for all children, especially those who have experienced abuse or neglect.

In Los Angeles County, DCFS, Probation and the Department of Mental Health are jointly leading the charge to implement federal legislation called the Family First Prevention Services Act (Family First).  We believe that Family First is an important opportunity to continue to strengthen our prevention-focused system. This is a chance to invest more in families to prevent entry into the child welfare system, with specific attention on mental health prevention and treatment, substance use prevention and treatment and in-home skill-based parenting skills.

We will also focus on how to better assist expectant or parenting youth currently in foster care to break the cycle of system involvement.

What is the Family First Prevention Services Act (Family First)?

Signed into law in February 2018, Family First is landmark legislation that has two key components. The first emphasizes the importance of investing in children and families to prevent entry into the child welfare system. The second major component seeks to address issues related to congregate care by placing limits on facilities and establishing new requirements for youth being placed in group home settings and residential treatment programs. In addition to these provisions, Family First aims to provide support for kinship (relative) caregivers and improve services to older and transition-age youth.


Who will be eligible for Family First prevention services?

Children and youth determined to be at imminent risk of entering foster care, including in Tribal settings, as well as their parents, guardians and caregivers are eligible for services covered through Family First. All expectant or parenting youth in foster care will also be eligible for Family First prevention services with no income requirements to help break the cycle of system involvement.

Learn more about Family First

Other Resources

Back to Top

Child Protection Hotline

24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Toll Free within California

(800) 540-4000

Outside of California

(213) 639-4500

TDD - Hearing Imparied

(800) 272-6699